Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Flight Path
Flight Path: A Search for Roots Beneath the World's Busiest Airport | Hannah Palmer
5 posts | 4 read | 8 to read
In the months leading up to the birth of her first child, Hannah Palmer discovers that all three of her childhood houses have been wiped out by the expansion of Atlanta's Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. Having uprooted herself from a promising career in publishing in her adopted Brooklyn), Palmer embarks on a quest to determine the fate of her lost homesand of a community that has been erased by unchecked Southern progress. Lyrically chronicling the overlooked devastation and beauty along the airport's fringe communities in the tradition of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Leslie Jamison, Palmer unearths the startling narratives about race, power, and place that continue to shape American cities. Part memoir, part urban history, Flight Path: A Search for Roots beneath the World's Busiest Airport is a riveting account of one young mother's attempt at making a home where there's little home left.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
booklover76
post image

🍀Staying off my fractured ankle and probably diving into Season 4 of GoT (gotta get ready for 4/14)
🍀 I outran a tornado once on I-80 on my morning commute
🍀 Tagged in post
🍀I can't pick one figure. I have a degree in history. That's like having to pick one favorite book.
🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀
#friyaintro

quote
booklover76
post image

Reminds me of when my family moved from Norcross, GA to Suwanee, GA. There was 1 grocery store and 4 way stops instead of red lights.
Heck I even remember when Gwinnett Place, Discover Mills, and Mall of Georgia were just woods (or pasture with cows like Gwinnett Place).
But then the county elected a new commissioner who bragged in the paper, Y'all gonna love it when we pave it all over. And he did just that.

quote
booklover76
post image

Lord yes! Everytime I go home to Atlanta I have to eat at Waffle House and Chick-fil-a. I was super excited this past October when I flew back to Illinois that Chick-fil-a had a restaurant right by my gate.❤❤❤

review
ReadingSusan
post image
Pickpick

This book was FASCINATING! It‘s all about family roots and disappearing communities because of the Atlanta airport. I couldn‘t put this one down.

booklover76 Adding to my stack! I grew up in Atlanta so i am sure this will be an interesting read. 10mo
TNbookworm This sounds really interesting! Stacked! 10mo
ReadingSusan @booklover76 yes I think that‘s why I enjoyed it so much. There aren‘t that many books about the southside of Atlanta where I grew up. 10mo
booklover76 @ReadingSusan I grew up in Gwinnett county. One of these days I will probably move back home. 10mo
105 likes7 stack adds4 comments
blurb
BookNAround
post image

I fell in love with Hub City Press this past spring. Then I visited their book store and I adored them even more. Receiving this fascinating looking urban planning/ecology/memoir means I'm in a full-on love affair with them.

10 likes1 stack add