Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Foyles Bookshop Girls
The Foyles Bookshop Girls | Elaine Roberts
4 posts | 2 read | 8 to read
'A delightful story of friendship, love and hope' Elaine Everest London, 1914: one ordinary day, three girls arrive for work at Londons renowned Foyles bookshop. But when war with Germany is declared their lives will never be the same again... Alice has always been the 'sensible' one in her family especially in comparison with her suffrage-supporting sister! But decidedly against her father's wishes, she accepts a job at Foyles Bookshop; and for bookworm Alice it's a dream come true. But with the country at war, Alice's happy world is shattered in an instant. Determined to do what she can, Alice works in the bookshop by day, and risks her own life driving an ambulance around bomb-ravaged London by night. But however busy she keeps herself, she can't help but think of the constant danger those she loves are facing on the frontline... Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn't be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Elaine Everest, Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry. Look out for the next book in the series, The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Lifeisasnap
The Foyles Bookshop Girls | Elaine Roberts
post image
Pickpick

The Foyles Bookshop Girls by Elaine Roberts is a tough read for anyone who has lost someone to the trauma of war. This book is from the perspective of the women who were left at home to deal with the effects of war outside the battlefront.

Ms. Robert's writing style is easy & written in a way that you can see Alice & her friends, her family & those who she works for & feel as if you are there participating in all the story. #WWII #HF

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks I love HF!!! 💗 3w
44 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
Melissa_J
The Foyles Bookshop Girls | Elaine Roberts
post image
Bailedbailed

All I can say is that I‘m glad this book only cost me $0.99! The writing isn‘t very good, and the characters are one-dimensional. Plus, don‘t let the title fool you! Foyles doesn‘t actually play much of a part in the book. I hung in there longer than I normally would since I love Foyles, but at about the halfway mark I just couldn‘t take it anymore 🤷🏻‍♀️

LeahBergen Well, that sucks. 😖 6mo
Cathythoughts For heavens sake 🙄... 6mo
BarbaraBB The cover could have warned you 😉 (although there are great books with horrible covers) 6mo
See All 8 Comments
janeycanuck I think I‘m gonna start a Never Read shelf on Goodreads to start putting stuff I never want to accidentally pick up and make this my first addition. 6mo
Melissa_J @BarbaraBB what‘s funny about your comment is that I usually stay away from books with covers like this! I shouldn‘t have gone against my usual instincts 🤷🏻‍♀️ 6mo
Melissa_J @janeycanuck I usually know just by a book‘s description if I‘ll like a book or not, and in hindsight the warning signs were there but I just ignored them. 6mo
Melissa_J @LeahBergen @Cathythoughts I‘m a little disappointed, but not surprised. I think my feelings explain why the book was so cheap 😂 6mo
BarbaraBB @Melissa_J but it also happens that I choose a book for its cover and that it‘s disappointing! 5mo
46 likes8 comments
blurb
Melissa_J
The Foyles Bookshop Girls | Elaine Roberts
post image

I couldn‘t pass up reading this historical novel set, at least in part, in my favourite bookstore!

Foyles at Charing Cross Road (the original location, that is, as I haven‘t been to the new one yet) has always been one of my first stops when visiting London — although it‘s been far too long since I was last there 😢

Crazeedi This looks good! 6mo
63 likes6 stack adds1 comment
blurb
rwmg
The Foyles Bookshop Girls | Elaine Roberts
post image

Somebody left me in a bookshop for two hours yesterday. What did he THINK was going to happen?