Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#NowAvailable
blurb
UnderworldAmusements
The Red Sect | Enzo Martucci
post image

NEWS OF UNUSUAL BOOKS❗️

Translated with passion and precision by the Union of Egoists, 𝑻𝒉𝒆 𝑹𝒆𝒅 𝑺𝒆𝒄𝒕 by Enzo Martucci is now available for the very FIRST TIME in English!

𝑻𝒉𝒆 𝑹𝒆𝒅 𝑺𝒆𝒄𝒕 is SA1257 of the Union of Egoists' 𝑺𝒕𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝑨𝒍𝒐𝒏𝒆 mixed-media journal series.
———🔥———
https://underworldamusements.com/products/the-red-sect-enzo-martucci
———🔥———
#NowAvailable #EnglishTranslation #NewBooks #Egoism #Anarchism

review
Cinfhen
The Drift | C. J. Tudor
post image
Pickpick

My first book by CJ Tudor and certainly an author I‘ll read again. A #DystopianThriller with a clever #twist and plenty of #secrets - initially it was difficult to keep track of the LONG cast of characters (not sure it was even necessary) but once everything started falling into place it all made sense. If you enjoy locked room thrillers this one will keep you guessing. Loved the multicast narration. #NetGalley #NowAvailable

Librarybelle I have one or two books by this author that I picked up through #BOTM but have not read any yet. From the cover I would not guess this is dystopian! 14mo
Cinfhen I wasn‘t sure what this was about before I read it @Librarybelle but I think it‘s better knowing less / I saw a few people call this book horror but that‘s not how I would describe this book. 14mo
See All 9 Comments
RebelReader There is a TV series called Big Sky that is based on some of his books. (Hulu). I like it, but I haven‘t read any of his books. 14mo
Cinfhen Ohhhh, I heard about Blue Sky @RebelReader I‘ll need to check it out and surprise…..CJ Tudor is a female author! I never knew before I googled the author. 14mo
RebelReader @Cinfhen Surprise! Another female author! ❤️❤️❤️ 14mo
BarbaraBB Is this the one @TrishB has been reading as well? It sounds great! Kudos for listening to it on audio, I always think that‘s so hard with so many different names and characters! 14mo
Cinfhen Yes @TrishB just read it too @BarbaraBB I think it might have been easier in print but I like to listen so my hands and body are free to do other things. Sometimes I find reading iTOO STATIONARY 🤪 I think you‘d like this book, B❣️ I was originally hoping to use for #NoricNoir but the setting is never mentioned 14mo
TrishB Yes I really enjoyed too 👍🏻 14mo
84 likes9 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
post image

#NetGalley #ARC #NowAvailable I started and stopped this book twice. Hoping the third time is the charm 😉

TrishB You‘re better than me! 2y
Megabooks 🤞🏻 I probably would‘ve given up! 2y
Cinfhen Im glad I stuck with it @Megabooks @TrishB as im more amused than annoyed - it took a bit to adjust to the author‘s tone & style @robinb you were right!! 2y
robinb @Cinfhen Yay!!! I was really feeling the pressure! 😂😅 And yes, I started out annoyed but the amusement won me over. 2y
64 likes4 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
Elizabeth Finch: A novel | Julian Barnes
post image

#UpNext #NetGalley #Audio #NowAvailable
Lots of mixed reviews- let‘s see….

DivineDiana I watched an on line author event yesterday where Julian Barnes was interviewed about this book. His discussion was philosophical and intellectual. Not certain about the book. Looking forward to your thoughts. 🤔 2y
Cinfhen It‘s a struggle so far @divinediana a little too intellectual for my summertime brain 2y
62 likes2 comments
review
Cinfhen
The Omega Factor | Steve Berry
post image
Pickpick

#NetGalley #AudioARC #NowAvailable

A standalone novel from Steve Berry. Perfect for fans of Daniel Silva or Dan Brown. Conspiracies galore, corruption, religious devotion and nonstop action make for a fast paced adventure. Audio narration was excellent.

66 likes1 stack add
review
Cinfhen
post image
Pickpick

Another memoir of triumph and resilience, this time set in #Burundi 🇧🇮 Stany Nyandwi suffered unimaginable poverty and tragedy as the war between the Tutsi & Hutu ravaged his country. But what makes this story really stand out is the ability Stany possess- the gift of “speaking” to chimpanzees. This ability to offer conflict resolution between primates helped Nyandwi use his skills to aid humans too. Amazing narration #ARC #NowAvailable

BarbaraBB Wow. I already have completed Burundi but I might add this one 2y
Librarybelle ❤️❤️❤️ This sounds so impactful! 2y
Cinfhen It‘s a beautiful story about man‘s will to see the best in all of God‘s creatures/ both human & animal @BarbaraBB @Librarybelle it does get a bit “preachy” at times but it felt genuine. 2y
Cinfhen Also works for #Kenya #Uganda and #SouthAfrica 2y
67 likes5 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
Unlikely Animals | Annie Hartnett
post image

#ChangeOfPlans #UpNext #NetGalley #ARC #NowAvailable
I LOVED Rabbit Cake by @anniehartnett and I‘m super excited to read her newest book!!
Even though I received an advanced digital copy, I‘ve bought the audio for a full immersive experience 🎧♥️😁

Clwojick Oh! I loved Rabbit Cake too! Excited to hear your review. ❤️ 2y
Cinfhen It was REALLY out there @Clwojick if you like whacky and screwball stories this one won‘t disappoint!! It was a bit TOO much for me by the end 2y
62 likes2 comments
review
Cinfhen
French Braid | Anne Tyler
post image
Mehso-so

#ARC #NetGalley #NowAvailable Families are complicated and the Garrett family especially so. This story follows Robin & Mercy as they raise their three children in 1950‘s Baltimore up until 2020 as their children are now grandparents living through the Coronavirus. This book was a little flat for me. Quiet and completive. I‘m sure fans of Anne Tyler will enjoy this book but I was hoping for more.

BarbaraBB I had high expectations. Sorry to head you were underwhelmed. You‘re flying home today right? Have a safe trip 😘 2y
Cinfhen Yes, my flight is this evening @BarbaraBB it was a great little getaway 💜 2y
KarenUK Travel safe 💕😘 2y
See All 8 Comments
Megabooks I had completely different thoughts! I found this fairly lighthearted. (Maybe that say more about what I‘ve been reading lately??) Anne has her thing for sure - the a large family at various points in time in the late 20th c to now. This was a pick for me because it was easy to read and kept my attention. I think you would‘ve enjoyed it on audio more. (edited) 2y
Cinfhen Im glad you enjoyed it @Megabooks / it REALLY was just meh for me 2y
rubyslippersreads @Megabooks I couldn‘t get past the animal cruelty. 2y
Cinfhen What does it say about me or the book when I can‘t remember a single thing about it other than the Philly train station @Megabooks @rubyslippersreads 😳 2y
rubyslippersreads @Cinfhen @Megabooks Maybe you blocked the distressing cat scene. I certainly wish I could. 😾 2y
98 likes8 comments
blurb
BoleyBooks
Echo | Thomas Olde Heuvelt
post image
blurb
BoleyBooks
Black Cake | Charmaine Wilkerson
post image