Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Girl in the Painting
The Girl in the Painting: A heartbreaking historical novel of family secrets, betrayal and love | Renita D'Silva
1 post | 1 read | 6 to read
Discover the secret of the girl in the painting today. India, 1926: English Margaret arrives with her new husband Suraj at his family home, set amidst beautiful rolling hills, the air filled with the soft scent of spices and hibiscus flowers. Margaret is unwelcome, homesick and lonely, but her maid Archana, a young woman from an impoverished family, reminds her of her long-lost sister, a tiny glimpse of home in a faraway place. As Margaret and Archana spend more time together, an unexpected friendship blooms. But in British India the divide between rich and poor, English and Indian, is wide, and the clash between Margarets modern views and the weight of tradition on Archana will lead to devastating results England, 2000: When Emmas grandmother gives her a mysterious painting, and asks her to take a message of forgiveness to an old friend in India, Emma is relieved to have some time and space to make a decision about her future. But as she fulfils her grandmothers wish, a secret kept for over seventy years is finally revealed the story of a day spent painting by a stream full of water lilies, where a betrayal tore three lives apart forever Perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Lucinda Riley and The Storytellers Secret, Renita DSilvas exquisite novel explores the strength it takes to do what is right, no matter the cost. What readers are saying about Renita DSilva: WOW!! I was absolutely blown away by this book and couldnt put it down. Im going straight to Amazon to buy another book by Renita DSilva I need more! Just incredible this is an absolutely stunning book which I cant praise enough. Roxanne Starr So compelling I literally didnt want to put it down A sheer joy to read and I am putting myself out on a limb by saying this is the best book I have read in this genre this year A truly outstanding book. Best Crime Books and More An absolutely beautiful story I really can't say anything that will adequately describe how much I enjoyed this book so I will just say that I highly recommend it I loved every minute of it. Twin Spin Renita DSilva has done it again Truly sensational story Stunning Remarkable and overwhelming Renitas words are like liquid gold This book even took over my dreams. My mind was completely mesmerised I cannot recommend this book enough. Little Miss No Sleep Heartrending beautiful a dream I did not just love this book, I actually LIVED it One of the most beautiful books I've ever read. Relax and Read Book Reviews A story that will keep resonating in my head and heart for a long time It swept me away I cannot do anything but have praise for this book. Eccentric Lady OMG what a mesmerizing, beautifully written story [It] has totally blown me away This is one truly captivating, breathtaking, emotional read that will pull on your heartstrings Simply stunning I love this book which I cannot recommend enough 5 massive stars. Chelles Book Reviews Gorgeous and lyrical A very immersive read Along with a superbly crafted setting, the characterization was outstanding I was mesmerized by this book Touching and poignant A really beautifully told story that left an impact on me. Novel Gossip
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Lel2403
post image
Pickpick

The Girl In The Painting is a marvellous, well written and compelling book, a story of many facets, local customs, many secrets and so much tragedy and sadness. A tale of consequences and doing the right thing. Stunning.

https://orlando-books.blog/2019/04/12/the-girl-in-the-painting-by-renita-dsilva-...

99 likes6 stack adds