Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Woman in the Photograph
The Woman in the Photograph | Stephanie Butland
2 posts | 3 read | 2 to read
An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century. Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light. Praise for The Woman in the Photograph: 'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist' Katie Fforde 'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling, original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships' Sarah Franklin 'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up' Shelley Harris 'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality' Carys Bray
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
ReadUntilYourEyesAreRed
The Woman in the Photograph | Stephanie Butland
post image
Pickpick

This book was really genuinely moving, I read it in one day. The protagonist is a young girl who makes a feminist friend and calls off her engagement to focus on her career which is a refreshing standpoint and I thought she was a really likeable character. The narrative skips back and forth to her as an older woman from the start of her career which makes for an interesting narrative. An ‘Every woman should read this‘ sort of book.

squirrelbrain I loved this one too! 💕 3mo
ReadUntilYourEyesAreRed @squirrelbrain yes!! Best Readers First book I‘ve had 💓 3mo
37 likes2 comments
review
squirrelbrain
The Woman in the Photograph | Stephanie Butland
post image
Pickpick

This is the story of Veronica (Vee) and her journey through a newly feminist world, after she meets Leonie on the Dagenham picket line in 1968. But why did Vee's last photograph of Leonie bring an end to Vee's career?

I really liked the 'mixed-media' format of the novel, with extracts from Vee's photography exhibition and Leonie's 'Letters from a Feminist', as well as the list of historical events at the end of each chapter.

#readersfirst

60 likes1 stack add