Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Cove
The Cove: An evocative locked-room thriller set on a paradise island | Alice Clark-Platts
2 posts | 2 read | 3 to read
'Brilliant escapism... Perfect for fans of The White Lotus, it had me gripped' Harriet Tyce IT'S THE PERFECT ESCAPE... UNTIL THERE IS NO ESCAPE Welcome to Turtle Cove. A luxury resort surrounded by pristine sea and the dense beauty of the jungle, it is the perfect escape from the stresses of life and work. For couples Lou and Adam, Eliza and Noah, a few days spent relaxing on the beach, while their kids are happily distracted, is exactly what they need. But appearances can be deceiving. There's a strange tension brewing at the resort, with relations between the hotel and the locals threatening to spill over into violence. This is nothing though compared to the strained atmosphere between the two families. They haven't been friends for long and they are starting to realise they don't really know each other at all. Except for one of them. One of them knows another very well... And they have a score to settle. This is a first-class, escapist thriller for fans of The Sanatorium, The Hunting Party and The Castaways. PRE-ORDER THE MOST ELECTRIFYING THRILLER OF 2022 NOW
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
ClairesReads
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve read a lot of domestic-ish thrillers recently and this is easily one of the best. The balance of domestic drama to actual crime is spot on, the atmosphere is tense and claustrophobic, setting effectively rendered, and the characters are suitably complex and differently problematic. The perfect weekend read.

Cinfhen Great review ♥️#stacked 4mo
ClairesReads @Cinfhen thanks! Hope you like it too 4mo
43 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
Nicki_K
post image
Mehso-so

After loving The Flower Girls by this author I couldn't wait to read this book. An isolated thriller set at a secluded island sounded so promising, sadly it was underwhelming for me. I didn't have that heart pounding thriller reading feeling nor did I wonder how it was going to resolve. I didn't like any of the characters and the plot itself just didn't hold my interest. Maybe my expectations were too high going in, it just wasn't for me. ⭐⭐