Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Last Astronaut
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
8 posts | 11 read | 16 to read
A tense and thrilling science fiction adventure of space exploration and first contact, perfect for fans of The Martian, Arrival and Interstellar. Sally Jansen was NASA's leading astronaut, until a mission to Mars ended in disaster. Haunted by her failure, Jansen now lives in semi-retirement, convinced her days in space are over. She's wrong. A huge alien object has entered the solar system and is now poised above the Earth. It has made no attempt at communication. With no other living astronauts to turn to, NASA wants Jansen to lead an expedition to the object. For all the dangers of the mission, it's the one shot at redemption she always hoped for. Yet as the object reveals its terrifying secrets, what began as a journey to make First Contact turns into a desperate struggle for survival . . . and one thing becomes horribly clear: the future of humanity lies in Jansen's hands. Praise for David Wellington 'Gripping writing, a brilliantly realised future culture and sympathetic characters . . . An entertaining and compelling read' SFX 'Thrilling, relentless, gripping and utterly improbable: pure delight for fans' Kirkus 'Jam-packed with action and adventure' Booklist 'Terrific and thrilling' SciFi
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
ljmcm
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
Panpan

Ugh. Can I have the hours I spent reading this one back? My complaints, in no particular order:

1. It‘s unoriginal. The first half is a rehash of Rendezvous with Rama, and later concepts reminded me of The Expanse S01.
2. Wellington has put minimal effort into understanding the physics, and no effort into the biology/medicine involved. Several passages make no sense as a result.
3. Where are the Chinese & Europeans? No way NASA keeps this quiet.

review
deirdrebeecher
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image
Pickpick

There is a lot to enjoy in this book, a realistic near future space adventure. Perfect for fans of The Martian, although the tone is more pessimistic.

There are moments which frustrate, because it is a complex and ambitious story, and he doesn't always manage to get it right. I enjoyed it more intellectually than I did emotionally. Nevertheless I was always driven to finish it and I think a lot of sci-fi fans will engage with this story.

RachelAmphlett Oh, brilliant - glad you enjoyed this. I‘ve just remembered I‘ve got it on my kindle to read! 2y
7 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Luulit
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image

https://amzn.to/355N2Z0
#CommissionsEarned
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2020!
“A terrifying tour de force.“ (James Rollins)
“Readers will be riveted.“ (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

Sally Jansen was NASA's leading astronaut, until a mission to Mars ended in disaster. Haunted by her failure, she lives in quiet anonymity, convinced her days in space are over.

She's wrong.

24 likes4 stack adds
blurb
Eggs
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image

If you liked Gravity, you‘ll like this: Mission Commander Sally Jansen is Earth's last astronaut--and last hope--in this gripping near-future thriller where a mission to make first contact becomes a terrifying struggle for survival in the depths of space.
#ifyoulikethis
#gravity
@Klou

Klou OMG, love the sound of this one!! Great choice!! 2y
Eggs Thanks 🙏🏻 @Klou 2y
Klou @Eggs 😊😊 2y
70 likes5 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Expandingbookshelf
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image

I‘m just a girl, reading out loud to a bunch of plants, asking that they don‘t die on her today. I‘m hoping that, deep down, they also want to know how “The Last Astronaut” saves the day.

marleed Ohhhhh. 3y
6 likes1 comment
review
ssravp
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image
Pickpick

Equal parts horrifying and brilliant.

review
throwmeabook
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image
Pickpick

This was a compulsive, high energy, action driven story with a cast of well-rounded characters. A first contact story that had some definite Alien/Prometheus vibes. The book itself reads more like the manuscript for a movie then a book and I wouldn't be surprised if it makes it to the big screen. About halfway through, it gets bogged down by the description of the alien ‘ship‘ but on the whole would still recommend. ⭐️⭐️⭐️ #netgalley #reviewathon

blurb
throwmeabook
The Last Astronaut | David Wellington
post image

Flying back to Montreal on the redeye tonight and hoping to get through a good chunk of this. #unitedclublounge #summerreading #netgalleyarc

32 likes2 stack adds