Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
When Friendship Followed Me Home
When Friendship Followed Me Home | Paul Griffin
13 posts | 15 read | 11 to read
A boy's chance encounter with a scruffy dog leads to an unforgettable friendship in this deeply moving story about life, loss, and the meaning of family Ben Coffin has never felt like he fits in. A former foster kid, he keeps his head down at school to avoid bullies and spends his afternoons reading sci-fi books at the library. But that all changes when he finds a scruffy abandoned dog named Flip and befriends the librarian's daughter, Halley. For the first time, Ben starts to feel like he belongs in his own life. Then, everything changes, and suddenly, Ben is more alone than ever. But with a little help from Halley's magician father, Ben discovers his place in the world and learns to see his own magic through others' eyes. Equal parts heartbreaking and heartwarming, this book is a must-read for dog lovers and fans of emotionally resonant middle grade novels like One for the Murphys and Okay for Now. "Full of pace and laughter, bruises and heart. Paul Griffin is the sort of writer you're torn between telling the whole world about and keeping all to yourself."--Markus Zusak, author of Printz Honor WinnerThe Book Thief "'Friendship' is an absolutely beautiful, heart-expanding book. I cried, but more than that I felt this giant balloon of love for everyone. This story convinced me all over again that love and imagination are life's biggest magic. It'll make you want to grab hold of everyone important to you and lick them on the nose."--Rebecca Stead, author of Newbery Award winnerWhen You Reach Me "Some books change the way you see the world. Some change the way you breathe. This book will leave you breathless. This is Paul Griffin's best book yet--and that's really saying something." --Patricia McCormick, author of National Book Award FinalistSold
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Rachiiebookdragon
Pickpick

A sweet and lovely book 😊 nice palette cleanser 🐶 3.75/5 Read for the #ReadHarderChallenge2021 and #Bookoplathon and #writteninthestarsreadathon

review
Missusb
post image
Pickpick

Students reading these for a readers cup competition, which means I also need to be familiar so I can quiz them. Not much but a bit. They are both poignant and bitter-sweet. #middlefiction #awardwinners #literary #yaliterature #readerscup

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

A sad but sweet story about two kids who desperately need each other for support--one who had cancer and one who loses their adoptive mom. Plus a dog! #CampReadALot

blurb
Peddler410
post image

Made it onto Anderson's Bookshop Mock Newbery list. Book-lovers, library, librarian. Yea, I'll read that!

Yournewfriendsams Oh this sounds lovely 😊 6y
14 likes1 stack add1 comment
quote
Campbrarian
post image

"You're not human," I said.
She nodded and leaned in and whispered, "I'm a librarian."

quote
Campbrarian
post image

Peter, the guy who runs Books of Wonder said "And I often thought you should know each other. When it comes to book lovers, destiny is reality."

review
Campbrarian
post image
Pickpick

Not for an elementary school library!
Get your tissue box ready because the main character Ben can't get much of a break in this book. Luckily he catches a few in the way of a dog and couple friends. I do love the way the role the librarian plays in this book.

review
Library-Belle
Pickpick

Such a really good book for middle grade students! One amazing dog, a kid with a huge heart even through his really rough life, and a few friendships that will last forever.

review
Woolpierogi
post image
Pickpick

It wasn't long into this book before I said to myself, "this is going to make me cry." While I didn't cry, the quote "the ending is sad but happy" is the perfect way to describe it. A good choice for middle schoolers who want to read TFiOS but aren't quite ready. Similar themes for younger readers.

2 likes1 stack add
review
bermudaonion
post image
Pickpick

Somewhat sad but ultimately uplifting book for middle grade readers. The audio is read by the author and he does an okay job but I don't think he was the best choice.

quote
moonb2
post image

"Some books change the way you see the world, and then there's the one that changes the way you breathe." http://www.readingstyle.net/blog/hope-always-hope

1 like2 stack adds
review
Colleen
post image
Pickpick

Comes out this fall- one of the most heartfelt, warm, funny middle grade novels I've read in a long time. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo or Gary Schmidt.

5 likes1 stack add