Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Colleen

Colleen

Joined February 2016

reading now icon
The Romanovs: 1613-1918 by Simon Sebag Montefiore
reading now icon
Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye
blurb
Colleen
post image

Wonderful novel in letters and journal entries of a small town in England during WWII. Perfect for fans of books like Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society or epistolary novels like 84 Charing Cross Road. Also clearly an excellent vacation read, which is how I read it!

review
Colleen
The Impossible Fortress | Jason Rekulak
Pickpick

Wonderful look at being a kid in the 1980s, perfect for fans of Ready Player One and those looking for more 80s nostalgia after Stranger Things

2 likes1 stack add
review
Colleen
post image
Pickpick

Gorgeous! This Romeo and Juliet in one day is my new Eleanor and Park.

review
Colleen
A Court of Mist and Fury | Sarah J. Maas
Pickpick

I'm not sure I understand all the fuss over the content in this book. Yes, there's sex and yes it's graphic, but that's not okay for 14+ YA and extreme violence is okay? (Plus it's all from a female POV so YAY) I think the majority of Maas' fanbase is older anyway (ahem, sometimes a lot older like me) so I cannot wait to read the third book!

3 likes2 stack adds
review
Colleen
post image
Pickpick

My favorite book of the year. Brilliant character study of a man literally stuck in place while the world swirls around him, but manages to live a full, interesting and often surprising life within the confines of a grand Moscow hotel. Pitch perfect.

review
Colleen
Pickpick

Great book club pick and perfect for fans of Guernsey Literary Society or Man Called Ove

review
Colleen
The Smell of Other People's Houses | Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
post image
Pickpick

Gorgeous interconnected stories of four teens growing up in Alaska in 1970. This is one that will stick with me-

9 likes4 stack adds
review
Colleen
post image
Pickpick

Comes out this fall- one of the most heartfelt, warm, funny middle grade novels I've read in a long time. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo or Gary Schmidt.

4 likes1 stack add
review
Colleen
A Man Called Ove: A Novel | Fredrik Backman
Pickpick

Couldn't stop sobbing at the end, but in the best possible way. Like AJ Fikry times ten!

aeeklund This is my book club's new pick! 3y
3 likes1 comment