Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Book of Spirits and Thieves
A Book of Spirits and Thieves | Morgan Rhodes
...A modern day Outlanderfilled with adventure and dangera breathless tale that only Morgan Rhodes could tell.HypableNew York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes takes readers into exhilarating new high-fantasy territory with A BOOK OF SPIRITS AND THIEVES,an epic contemporary saga perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Diana Gabaldons Outlander.The lives of Toronto teens Crystal and Becca Hatcher revolve around helping their mother out at the family's used bookstore, The Speckled Muse. It's a relatively uneventful after-school job, until an package arrives addressed to her mother, Julia. Thinking it's nothing more than run-of-the-mill inventory, Becca opens it and removes the book inside, unwittingly triggering an ancient magic and intertwining their fates with the powers that flow from the mysterious leather-bound book. Two parallel worlds collide and Becca is left in a catatonic state after her spirit is snatched from modern-day Toronto back to the ancient world of Mytica. Crys is guilt-ridden, having witnessed the entire event, and vows to do whatever is necessary to save her but from what? Nothing has prepared them for whats in store.Written in alternating perspectives that shift between modern-day Toronto and the ancient kingdoms of Mytica, Rhodes delivers a rich and suspensful series opener that will leave readers breathless.From the Hardcover edition.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
wideeyedreader
post image
Mehso-so

⭐️⭐️⭐️ I was sadly disappointed by this one—I didn‘t care about the characters and the story was a little lackluster. Not to mention the instalove *shudder*

13 likes1 stack add
review
Daria.Adrianna21
Pickpick

Another fantastic addition to the Falling Kingdoms world by Morgan Rhodes. this woman can do no wrong! The way she meshes Mythica with the present day modern world is phenomenal. I can't believe this series was not as popular as Falling Kingdoms and called for a cancellation!
#fallingkingdoms #spiritsandthieves #morganrhodes #youngadult #ya #goodreads

blurb
CrowCAH
post image
Cinfhen Not familiar with either series 🙄 12mo
vivastory Haven't heard of this before, sounds interesting 👍 12mo
CrowCAH @Cinfhen that‘s okay, I hadn‘t either till I picked up this book and read it. 12mo
CrowCAH @vivastory this is the only book in the series I‘ve read, but greatly enjoyed it and will continue on at some point. 12mo
54 likes4 comments
blurb
BookaholicNatty
post image

I‘m trying to get caught up on my first month of participating In Photo challenges! Let me say THIS IS FUN!!! This is Day 8 from the #GetMovin challenge! Today‘s prompt was #TheJokerAndTheThief

Cinfhen Way to go, Nat!!! How was your exam???? 2y
86 likes1 comment
blurb
CrowCAH
post image
69 likes1 stack add
blurb
bookslesstravelled
post image

BookOutlet order! #bookmail 😍

398.2 Love Spirits and thieves 3y
bookslesstravelled @398.2 Yay! I like her Falling Kingdoms series, but haven't heard anyone mention this one, so I was hoping it was good 😄 Glad you liked it! 3y
44 likes2 comments
quote
heatherwilliams

"My name is Becca Hatcher. I don't know what's happened to me, where I am, or how I got here, but I know one thing. You're going to help me get back home."

blurb
CrowCAH
post image

#SmellsLikeTeenSpirit https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hTWKbfoikeg #JuneTunz

Got the "spirit" part down and I wouldn't doubt riding a horse and sweating in the hot sun would make for some "smells"!

@Cinfhen

Cinfhen Love your literal interpretation ❤️ 3y
CrowCAH @Cinfhen thanks! But it was more by in-the-collection coincidence that I had a book to fit the theme! And interpreted it appropriately! 😉 3y
53 likes2 comments
blurb
CrowCAH
post image

#iwantadventureinthegreatwidesomewhere #bbbmarch17

Looks like I'd be in quite the adventure in this novel! Love the cover art, it's what drew me to the book!

398.2 Have you read her Falling Kingdoms series? 3y
CrowCAH @398.2 no I haven't. Do you enjoy them? 3y
398.2 I did like them. I think she's good at building worlds. 😀 3y
CrowCAH @398.2 good to know; can't wait to read it! 3y
31 likes4 comments
blurb
398.2
post image

Christmas was awesome! I got some great bookish items. I gave my mom a list of books and she picked A Book of Spirits AND she surprised me with the next book in the series! She gets me. Lol

BekahB Awesome! I've been meaning to read the new Black Panther comics. 3y
398.2 @BekahB Me too! I wanted to get to them before the movie comes out. 3y
31 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
Literarydust
post image
Pickpick

Good start to this Falling Kingdoms spin off. I thought it would be weird that some of it takes place in modern day and some in Mytica, but it didn't bother me. There were 3 main POV's Crys and Farrell who at first I found both annoying, and Maddox who was definitely my favorite but probably because his takes place in Mytica. The other two grew on me though. There were some twists that surprised me, and I can't wait for book two.

64 likes2 stack adds
review
CatLadyBibliophile
post image
Mehso-so

A fast read with some interesting twists, but over all nothing stands out to me as particularly remarkable.

34 likes1 stack add
review
b00kn00k
post image
Pickpick

It was good. Definitely not nearly as good as Falling Kingdoms but this still kept me on my toes. Can't wait to read the second one! Full review on goodreads @b00kn00k

MrBook Nice pic! Which city is this? 4y
8 likes1 comment
blurb
leslieslibrary
post image

I was excited to discover that Morgan Rhodes is a Canadian author and that she has come out with a YA fantasy novel that takes place in Canada! More specifically modern day Toronto. Being from the Toronto area myself, I always get excited when I discover books that take place in Canada! 🇨🇦🍁