Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Last Woman in the World
The Last Woman in the World | Inga Simpson
2 posts | 2 read | 3 to read
Award-winning writer Inga Simpson terrifies and enthralls with this truly remarkable novel of a woman who must face her worst fears to survive and find beauty in the Australian bush. Fear is her cage. But what's outside is worse... It's night, and the walls of Rachel's home creak in the darkness of the Australian bush. Her fear of other people has led her to a reclusive life as far from them as possible, her only occasional contact with her sister. A hammering on the door. There stand a mother, Hannah, and her sick baby. They are running for their lives from a mysterious death sweeping the Australian countryside - so soon, too soon, after everything. Now Rachel must face her worst fears to help Hannah, search for her sister, and discover just what terror was born of us. . . and how to survive it. For fans of STATION ELEVEN, BIRDBOX and A QUIET PLACE, this remarkable, frightening yet ultimately hopeful novel holds a mirror up to the world we live in today.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
LapReader
post image
Pickpick

Starting on this 1 on the 🚂 to work this morn. I already know it‘s going to be good because I heard the author read a passage at the Newcastle Writer‘s Festival so I suggested it for my 📕 club. I‘m reading it & drinking my thermos of fancy ☕️ courtesy of @sarahbellum & the #LitsyTeaSwap It‘s a better way to start off the day after the silly mistakes I‘ve made over the last 2 mornings. Today I forgot to leave the 🔑 in the 📬 for the cleaner!

sarahbellum Yay! Enjoy! 🥰 3mo
43 likes1 comment
review
belkel63
Pickpick

A very different and quite terrifying theme from this author. Confronting but compelling, it's a fast read that will leave you reflecting on its key points. Highly recommended, but not if the COVID pandemic has already drained you!

Bklover I hadn‘t heard of this. This sounds very intriguing! 6mo
belkel63 Very different from her other novels. But she always has a strong nature element which I adore, and that is still present in this novel. Hope you enjoy it. I am still reflecting on what I am taking away from it. 6mo
2 likes1 stack add2 comments