Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Weight of a Piano
The Weight of a Piano: A novel | Chris Cander
14 posts | 13 read | 14 to read
For fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto, Annie Proulx's Accordion Crimes, Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist A tour-de-force about two women and the piano that inexorably ties their lives together through time and across continents, for better and for worse. In 1962, in the Soviet Union, eight-year-old Katya is bequeathed what will become the love of her life: a Blthner piano, built at the turn of the century in Germany, on which she discovers everything that she herself can do with music and what music, in turn, does for her. Yet after marrying, she emigrates with her young family from Russia to America, at her husband's frantic insistence, and her piano is lost in the shuffle. In 2012, in Bakersfield, California, twenty-six-year-old Clara Lundy loses another boyfriend and again has to find a new apartment, which is complicated by the gift her father had given her for her twelfth birthday, shortly before he and her mother died in a fire that burned their house down: a Blthner upright she has never learned to play. Orphaned, she was raised by her aunt and uncle, who in his car-repair shop trained her to become a first-rate mechanic, much to the surprise of her subsequent customers. But this work, her true mainstay in a scattered life, is put on hold when her hand gets broken while the piano's being moved--and in sudden frustration she chooses to sell it. And what becomes crucial is who the most interested party turns out to be. . .
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Lcsmcat
post image
Pickpick

If I were serious, I would have to deduct points for the inaccuracies. For example, the back of a piano is not finished. But it was interesting enough to hold my attention so I‘ll forgive them. The ending was a bit predictable and facile, but I guess it needed to be an American ending, not a Russian one. 3 ⭐️

47 likes1 stack add
blurb
Lcsmcat
post image

1. Disappearing Earth, The Weight of a Piano, and A Chain of Evidence.
2. King Lear
3. A Pure Heart by Rajia Hassib
#weekendreads @rachelsbrittain

review
ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled
post image
Pickpick

This book ends with music! I doubt I‘m doing it justice, but I have to try!
Beautiful story - a piano belonging to 2 different women through time: 1960s Katya, a Russian pianist in a bad marriage transplanted to the US, and Clara, present day mechanic, following a photographer who is taking photos of her piano in the desert. Katya and Clara are unwittingly connected through love and loss.
Def recommend for a reader who loves music.

Lcsmcat Sounds good! Stacked. 2mo
ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled @Lcsmcat Hope you enjoy it! I loved the incorporation of information about composers. I learned a lot! 2mo
charl08 Nice piano! 2mo
ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled @charl08 Thanks! I love it. It was my mom‘s and she gave it to me when we bought a house. Been playing it my whole life! ❤️ 2mo
56 likes3 stack adds4 comments
review
Kleonard
post image
Pickpick

Wonderful novel about two women from different eras and different countries who are drawn to the same piano.

59 likes3 stack adds
review
HotCocoaReads
Weight of a Piano | Chris Cander
post image
Pickpick

What a beautiful book! It started off with two storylines seemingly in two very different places—a concert pianist in Russia and a 20-something girl mechanic in California. As the stories progress, they come closer and closer and you can see the similar thread in their stories, their shared love (almost dependence) on a particular piano. When the stories converge, it feels right—especially how it ends. A lovely book!

blurb
DennisJacobRosenfeld
post image

Next up is this beauty of a book. This is a stellar cover design. Plot description plus title had me thoroughly convinced that this should be my next read. It also made me miss playing the piano, but that‘s fixable.

review
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
post image
Pickpick

Good stuff! The ending kind of made out fizzle out for me though. Great title to the book though - it's very apt for the two characters and this piano and what it meant to them.

blurb
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
Weight of a Piano | Chris Cander
post image

I started this one last night. Whisper Hollow by Cander was So Good. Hoping this one is too!

review
a.bookish.byrd
post image
Mehso-so

3/5 ⭐️

ManyWordsLater What an intriguing title... 11mo
40 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Hoopiefoot
post image

Lazy morning reading in bed. I‘ve been waiting for this all week.

66 likes1 stack add
blurb
a.bookish.byrd
post image

#LitsyWalkersBingo
1.5 miles listening to ^^^

Kaye Wonderful picture ! 11mo
53 likes1 comment
blurb
a.bookish.byrd
post image

#LitsyWalkersBINGO
1.3 miles around the park ✔️
New audio book playing✔️
3” of fresh snow...no problem because that lovely sunshine makes it more bearable!

Kaye 🌟👍🏼. Great ! 11mo
39 likes1 comment
blurb
ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled
post image

This is the selection this month for Odyssey bookshop‘s First Edition club! Can‘t wait to read this one!
Historical fiction, 1962 Soviet Union and 2012 California. The piano links the two women‘s stories.

review
Lauren.Archer
Pickpick

Thank you for the advanced copy of this book. I absolutely loved this story. This book has alternating timelines starting off in Russia in the 20th Century and Katya who plays the piano and. The second timeline is current times on the west coast with Clara who owns a piano that her father gave to her just days before he died and she has traveled with ever since. The way everything everything came together at the end was quite good.