Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Skipped Parts
Skipped Parts: A heartbreaking, wild, and raunchy comedy | Tim Sandlin
3 posts | 4 read | 2 to read
"Skipped Parts is somewhere between The Catcher in the Rye and Even Cowgirls Get the Blues."-Los Angeles Times Book Review The novel that inspired the movie starring Mischa Barton and Drew Barrymore Banished to the hinterlands of Wyoming, rebellious Lydia Callahan and her thirteen-year-old son Sam have no choice but to cope. But while Lydia drinks and talks to the moose head on the wall, Sam finds a friend in local girl Maurey Pierce. Sam and Maurey set out to discover for themselves what happens in the "skipped parts" of the novels they read between the first kiss and the next morning. With Lydia's support the two teens set out on their sexual exploration, and deal with its consequences. One of the wildest, raunchiest, most heartfelt coming-of-age novels of the past thirty years, Skipped Parts puts Tim Sandlin in the upper echelon of contemporary comic novelists. This contemporary novel is raunchy, funny, and full of heart, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Jack Kerouac, Tom Robbins, Larry McMurtry, Joseph Heller, John Irving, Kurt Vonnegut, Carl Hiaasen. Other books in Tim Sandlin's GroVant Trilogy: Skipped Parts, Book 1 Sorrow Floats, Book 2 Social Blunders, Book 3 Lydia, Book 4 What readers are saying about Skipped Parts: "deals with coming of age in a humorous and often poignant way" "Plot twists that would make J.K. Rowling jealous, humor, beautifully drawn characters, a great sense for the detail of the West" "sometimes heartwarming, often heartbreaking" "poignant, FUNNY, SHOCKING, and even heartbreaking" "the deep humor comes from the extraordinary characters" "funny, sad, and full of heart" What reviewers are saying about Skipped Parts: "DAZZLING...moving...Sam's carapace is humor...He thinks like Holden Caulfield and has Joseph Heller's take on despair. His Walter Mitty like fantasies are tiny comic gems... In the end you'll find yourself rooting for Sam." -New York Times Book Review "A lighthearted, amusing, and tender story of preteen wisdom, adult immaturity, and the fine line between...An offbeat, engaging novel." -Publisher's Weekly "This witty, often touching portrayal of a dirt-street-wise youth's coming-of-age sparkles with intelligence." -Booklist "Thoughtful, surprising, and delightful entertainment." -St. Louis Post-Dispatch What everyone is saying about Tim Sandlin: "Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore "His prose, his characters, all amazing." "A story of grand faux pas and dazzling dysfunction...a wildly satirical look at the absurdities of modern life." -The New York Times Book Review
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
eanderson
post image

So after going back and forth for the past day for #BOTM I decided to skip this month. Nothing really grabbed at me and screamed that I had to have it. I‘m bummed but it helps with not adding yet another book to my gigantic tbr before the baby comes this month! 🤗

MicheleinPhilly Can you smell the pizza???? 😉 2mo
eanderson @MicheleinPhilly I can! I‘m ready be able to have that and French fries again! 🍕 🍟 🤣 2mo
MicheleinPhilly No French fries either???? Ugh! 2mo
eanderson @MicheleinPhilly Yep! It sucks! 2mo
37 likes4 comments
blurb
OrangeMooseReads
post image

This is a first for me. Nothing jumped at me.

MelanieMefford Ya, me either really. :( when did they stop including nonfiction? There was always at least one! 2y
AmyG Me, too. I have too many other books to read. 2y
YouReadMyEyes I‘m glad I‘m not the only one having trouble deciding. I may skip as well. I‘m sad we can‘t preview anymore. I like to read a page or two and see if it clicks. 2y
BookwormAHN I may also skip this month. 2y
44 likes4 comments
blurb
B.Reader
post image

Had to cheat a bit on today's #readjanuary as I live in a rural area a looong way from anywhere...so I picked books that had parts set near my "city" instead of #setinmycity. Most of the novels set nearby are also fictional locations. Oh well, fun to try to find them! #ruralbooks