Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Delphi
Delphi | Clare Pollard
9 posts | 9 read | 7 to read
For readers of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, and Olivia Laing, an exquisite debut novel about a classics academic researching prophecy in the ancient world, just as the pandemic descends and all visions of her own familys future begin to blur. Covid-19 has arrived in London, and the entire world quickly succumbs to the surreal, chaotic mundanity of screens, isolation, and the disasters small and large that have plagued recent history. As our unnamed narratora classics academic immersed in her studies of ancient propheciesnavigates the tightening grip of lockdown, a marriage in crisis, and a ten-year-old son who seems increasingly unreachable, she becomes obsessed with predicting the future. Shifting her focus from chiromancy (prophecy by palm reading) to zoomancy (prophecy by animal behavior) to oenomancy (prophecy by wine), she fails to notice the future creeping into the heart of her very own home, and when she finally does, the threat has already breached the gates. Brainy and ominous, funny and sharp, Delphi is a snapshot and a time capsuleit both demythologizes our current moment and places our reality in the context of myth. Clare Pollard has delivered one of our first great novels of this terrible moment, a mesmerizing story of our pasts, our presents, and our futures, and how we keep on living in a world that is ever-more uncertain and absurd.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
Sydneypaige
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image

Mythology as a way of meaning making for the years of 2020/2021. It‘s still tough to read about reflections about lockdown and the early days of the covid 19 pandemic, still ups my heart rate to hear the pain and confusion and suffering we all went through in different shapes and shades.

5 likes1 stack add
review
BookwormM
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image
Pickpick

#ARC #Netgalley #Delphi

This is one of those books where I am not entirely how I feel about it. There are parts I loved, parts that didn‘t do it for me and an ending that was too melodramatic overall this balances out as a 3 star read.

Full review here https://thereadersroom.org/2022/11/23/delphi-by-clare-pollard/

review
rmaclean4
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image
Pickpick

Highly recommend!! This short novel captures the fear, anxiety, helplessness, and boredom of Covid. Beautiful structure and I learned a lot about Greek myths. 4.5 🌟 would not be suprised to see this on the Womens Prize list.

15 likes2 stack adds
review
emmaturi
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image
Pickpick

Another good albeit totally different, set in 2020 with the world facing the threat of Covid. It reminds you of the lockdown and how difficult it was going into unknown territory. Its written in short chapters, funny and enjoyable read.

30 likes1 stack add
review
BookishShelly
Delphi | Clare Pollard
Mehso-so

It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't recommend it. I was lured in by the Jenny Offill comparison, and I see where they get that, but Offill is way better at that style IMO.

review
Bookalong
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image
Pickpick

4.5☆ A perceptive account of the messiness of being human. Wonderful debut! Labeled as fiction, it very much reads as auto fiction. I flew through this and found it hard to put down Pollard's words. If reading about the pandemic has been touch and go for you, it has for me too, trust me pick this up for the writing quality alone! It's sharp, witty and I copied down so many fabulous lines! If you enjoy Jenny Offill's style you might enjoy this too!

review
everlocalwest
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image
Pickpick

Y'all, this book. It's everything we felt in the early days of the pandemic synthesized and laid bare on the page. A family faces lockdown, uncertainty, and loss. The structure of the novel is great fun (Pollard is a poet), with each chapter centered around a type of prophetic seeing.

review
AlexGeorge
Delphi | Clare Pollard
post image
Pickpick

The pandemic novel I didn‘t know I was waiting for. Clare Pollard‘s book is extremely smart and also very funny, but touches a deep vein on uncertain despair that most will recognize from the early days of COVID. Thought-provoking and rather brilliant. Added bonus (for me): it‘s terribly English and made me quite homesick. Highly recommended. Coming this August.

14 likes3 stack adds
review
akaGingerK
Delphi | Clare Pollard
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image
Mehso-so

I truly enjoyed the vast majority of this book. While my Covid years contained zero days of actual lockdown (bookselling was declared essential in my state, so we continued working on online orders at an unclear risk to one another), this captured a lot of the strangeness & mundanity of the past 2 years. And then it just- ended. Like, I‘m turning the next page to read the next chapter, only to encounter acknowledgements, abruptly ended. #ARC

akaGingerK The framing of chapters as different styles of prophecy was interesting, and there‘s some interesting play with the text, including nods to how Sappho‘s extant pieces of poetry get presented. 8mo
1 comment