Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
You Know What You Did
You Know What You Did | K T Nguyen
4 posts | 2 read | 2 to read
In this heart-pounding debut thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and Celeste Ng, a first-generation Vietnamese American artist must confront nightmares past and present. . . . Annie "Anh Le" Shaw grew up poor, but seems to have it all now: a dream career, a stunning home, and a devoted husband and daughter. When Annie's mother, a Vietnam War refugee, dies suddenly one night, Annie's carefully curated life begins to unravel. Her obsessive-compulsive disorder, which she thought she'd vanquished years ago, comes roaring back--but this time, the disturbing fixations swirling around in Annie's brain might actually be coming true. A prominent art patron disappears, and the investigation zeroes in on Annie. Spiraling with self-doubt, she distances herself from her family and friends, only to wake up in a hotel room--naked, next to a lifeless body. The police have more questions, but with her mind increasingly fractured, Annie doesn't have answers. All she knows is this: She will do anything to protect her daughter--even if it means losing herself. With dizzying twists, You Know What You Did is both a harrowing thriller and a heartfelt exploration of the refugee experience, the legacies we leave for our children, and the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks
post image

#BookMail #aardvark

New in!! Love this cover! 🖤💚

LiteraryinLawrence This looks terrifying! I can‘t wait to hear what you think! 2w
58 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
AardvarkBookClub
post image
Pickpick

In this heart-pounding debut thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and Celeste Ng, a first-generation Vietnamese American artist must confront nightmares past and present...

#aardvarkbookclub #jointoday

blurb
swishandflick
post image

#Aardvark dropped a May clue on their Instagram and this is my guess. The "you know what", font style/color, the "we know what we're doing" caption (paired with the title), and the ladybug connection all feel on point. That does look like a ladybug in flight on the book cover, right? ?

AardvarkBookClub 🤷‍♀️😉 2mo
Bookzombie Yes, I think it‘s a ladybug. 🐞 🙂 2mo
53 likes2 comments
review
TorieStorieS
post image
Mehso-so

An unreliable narrator and a mounting body count (along with some grisly scenes involving insects), certainly made this debut thriller feel a bit more like horror at times! Artist Annie has had a fraught relationship with both her refugee mother and her own teenage daughter as her OCD once again begins dominating her life. And when bodies of those close to her turn up dead, it seems like the title isn‘t quite so fitting… Warning: violent dog death