Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Jess Castle and the Eyeballs of Death
Jess Castle and the Eyeballs of Death | M B Vincent
3 posts | 3 read | 1 to read
'This is the most cheerful book about murder I've ever read. If the writings of Agatha Christie and Peter Kay ever had a baby, I like to think it would read something like this' The Bookbag Welcome to Castle Kidbury - a pretty town in a green West Country valley. It's home to all sorts of people, with all the stresses and joys of modern life, but with a town square and a proper butcher's. It also has, for our purposes, a rash of gory murders ... ***Fast-paced and funny, this is a must-read for all fans of a classic murder mystery - think The Vicar of Dibley meets Midsomer Murders *** Jess Castle is running away. Again. This time she's running back home, like she swore she never would. Castle Kidbury, like all small towns, hums with gossip but now it's plagued with murder of the most gruesome kind. Jess instinctively believes that the hippyish cult camped out on the edge of town are not responsible for the spate of crucifixions that blights the pretty landscape. Her father, a respected judge, despairs of Jess as she infiltrates the cult and manages, not for the first time, to get herself arrested. Rupert Lawson, a schooldays crush who's now a barrister, bails her out. Jess ropes in a reluctant Rupert as she gatecrashes the murder investigation of DS Eden. A by-the-book copper, Eden has to admit that intuitive, eccentric Jess has the nose of a detective. As the gory murders pile up, theres nothing to connect the victims. And yet, the clues are there if you look hard enough. Perfect for fans of MC Beaton, this is cosy crime at its most entertaining and enthralling.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
CarolynM
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this light and fluffy cozy mystery but I didn't love it. It's obviously being set up as the beginning of a series. I'm not sure if I'll read the next one.

BooknerdsLife Like the title 😂 10mo
TNbookworm Great title! 10mo
72 likes2 comments
blurb
CarolynM
post image

I've been so good about not buying books, but I fell off the wagon today.

BookNAround The tagged book sounds really entertaining. 10mo
CarolynM @BookNAround It does, doesn't it? It was a recommendation from a bookshop staffer, so hopefully she really liked it and wasn't just trying to get rid of it😂 10mo
GrilledCheeseSamurai 🤷‍♂️ The battle is real. 10mo
See All 14 Comments
JennyM Oh, but what a fall you took...they look amazing 😉 10mo
CarolynM @JennyM Hope so, it's a very mixed bag. The Bridge is on the Stella Shortlist and The Seventies had an interesting write up in The Age on the weekend. 10mo
Freespirit They look great😄 10mo
Lizpixie Oooh I need to check out The Seventies! 10mo
CarolynM @Lizpixie Should be interesting for those of us who remember them🙂 10mo
Lizpixie 👵🏻👵🏻✌️ 10mo
LeeRHarry I really want to read The Bridge! 😊Fab stack! 10mo
CarolynM @LeeRHarry It sounds good, so fingers crossed. Because I absolutely loved Too Much Lip and that made the shortlist I'm hoping the other books on it will be good too. 10mo
MStew 😍😍😍 10mo
Amiable When my husband grumbles about the amount of books I bring home, I always tell him there are way worse hobbies I could have. Reading keeps me off the streets. 😆 (edited) 10mo
Rissreads Noooooooooo! More books to add to my list! 🤣 10mo
79 likes14 comments
blurb
Kaddele
post image

Exactly what I always say! Very suspicious, those ramblers ...
I‘m really glad I‘ve finally got time to finish this - just the right thing for a freezing, grey, wet day off. Would be perfect with a mug of hot chocolate but I‘m too lazy to move. 🤷‍♀️

2 likes1 stack add