Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
It Could Never Happen Here
It Could Never Happen Here: A perfect read for fans of Motherland and Catastrophe | Eithne Shortall
5 posts | 4 read | 1 to read
Their school is about to be taught a lesson... Beverley Franklin will do whatever it takes to protect her local school's reputation. So when a scandal involving her own daughter threatens to derail the annual school musical's appearance on national television, Beverley goes into overdrive. But in her efforts to protect her daughter and keep the musical on track, she misses what's really going, both in her own house and in the insular Glass Lake community - with dramatic consequences. Glass Lake primary school's reputation is about to be shattered... 'Eithne Shortall mixes humour and tragedy with a deftness reminiscent of Marian Keyes' Irish Times
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Onioons
post image

@Ddzmini sorry Im late to this! #two4tuesday Thinking of the last book you read, did the cover accurately reflect the story? Did the cover influence your decision to read the book? A good (or bad) cover can definitely influence me but maybe not so much in this case. The cover is quite subtle, focusing on the coffee-shop meetings of a parents' group. It was the blurb that swung my decision on this one.

review
peta86
Pickpick

In the town of Cooney the school is the centre of life and the ladies time tends to revolve around Glass lake extra curricular shenanigans.
When Beverly Franklin catches her naked daughter in the act of sending a rude selfie to a boy at school she goes on the warpath against the Whitehead family.
She is determined no stain shall attach to Amelia especially as the town has a feature of the school play on tv.

1 like1 stack add
blurb
lazydaizee
post image

https://discover.hubpages.com/literature/Books-read-in-Spring-22
Please use this link to read my review on this interesting book

#bookreviews
#scandal
#danger

review
lazydaizee
post image
Pickpick

This is a story about the evils that are hidden in our modern day society.
Taking place in a respectable community it centres around the local primary school. There is a background story of a school musical production coming to the notice of the media where talent scouts will be looking for talented children. This alone makes the pushy parents seem awful , but there are other dramas taking place behind the scenes.

#fiction
#childhood