Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Athena's Champion
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
7 posts | 3 read | 17 to read
The first in a thrilling new historical fantasy series; Odysseus must embrace his secret heritage and outwit the vengeful Gods who would control or destroy him...Prince Odysseus of Ithaca is about to have his world torn apart. Hes travelled to the oracle at Pytho to be anointed as heir to his island kingdom; but instead the Pythia reveals a terrible secret, one that tears down every pillar of his life, and marks him out for death. Outcast by his family, hunted by the vengeful gods, Odysseus is offered sanctuary by Athena, goddess of wisdom, and thrust into the secret war between the Olympians for domination and survival. Only his wits, and his skill as a warrior, can keep him ahead of their power games and alive. When one of Athenas schemes goes drastically wrong, and the young Helen of Sparta is kidnapped, Odysseus must journey past the gates of Hades to save her. Falling in love with a Trojan princess, a bewitching woman who poses a deadly threat to both his homeland and Athena, wont make his task any easier... Drawing from classic Greek mythology, Athena's Champion, first in the epic Olympus series, is perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and David Gemmell
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
ravenlee
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo

Congrats to @Librarybelle on her huge milestone! I would love to give the tagged book a go, as I love the story of Odysseus and his interactions with Athena and this looks like an interesting retelling. Thanks for the chance to enter the #200kgiveaway

Librarybelle Thank you! Nice choice! 2mo
21 likes1 comment
review
Lel2403
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
post image
Pickpick

This is a thrilling fresh tale, told from Odysseus‘ perspective, which David Hair & Cath Mayo have written using modern language interspersed with Ancient Greek, bringing to life the classic Greek myths in an easy to read style to give explosive, exciting action alongside the sometimes complex politics of the Gods. I loved the humour in it too. I think this is going to be the next must read

94 likes10 stack adds
review
bibliogyan
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
post image
Pickpick

A beautiful book based on Greek mythology. If you like your myths and grand characters then this book will not disappoint.

Lel2403 I enjoyed the humour in it too 13mo
bibliogyan @Lel2403 yes that too ☺️ 13mo
7 likes2 comments
review
BookRambler
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
post image
Pickpick

This is a book worth reading. This is Odysseus's story or rather the tale of when one of his adventures when horribly wrong. Although there are many scenes where women are treated horribly by the Gods and humans,and you will find it disturbing. Besides the scenes,I found the book unputdownable . The authors did a marvelous job.

quote
Lel2403
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
post image

“I‘m wondering, if Zeus really can hurl thunderbolts, whether I need to be watching the skies......”

Miserable with a cold, which is not good when your on immunotherapy drugs....no sign of a high temperature so fingers crossed it stays that way. Now sat on the sofa, coffee and Athena‘s Champion for company...that‘s me for the day...

Cinfhen Feel better 1y
RachelO Oh no! Take care and hope the lurg passes quickly. 1y
Lel2403 @RachelO @Cinfhen thank you both x 1y
See All 10 Comments
DivineDiana Rest and a good book should help! ❤️ 1y
Lel2403 @DivineDiana and copious coffees ....got to keep my fluids up lol ☕️ 1y
Jas16 I hope you feel better soon 1y
Lel2403 @Jas16 thank you 1y
Redwritinghood I hope you feel better soon. 1y
scowler1 I've tried a few immunotherapy drugs myself, not many of them agreed with me. Be well. 1y
Lel2403 @scowler1 thank you and yes they are hard work at times.. 1y
80 likes1 stack add10 comments
quote
Lel2403
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
post image

‘Keep your damned shield up, you flaccid little phallos!‘ Bria screeches, like a flock of harpies. ‘What do you think that spear is, a cucumber? Stab with it, don‘t prod! Stab!‘

MayJasper Well that's rude 😂❗ 1y
Lel2403 @MayJasper just a bit blunt....it is Greek myth after all...lol 1y
BethM 🤣 1y
UCLAoso 😂😂 1y
73 likes2 stack adds4 comments
blurb
Lel2403
Athena's Champion | David Hair, Cath Mayo
post image

Currently reading and ARC....the story of Odysseus, pretty good so far. I think it‘s in the vein of Silence of the Girls as in a retelling of Greek myth...

62 likes3 stack adds