Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Dangerous Goodbye
A Dangerous Goodbye: An absolutely gripping historical mystery | Fliss Chester
3 posts | 1 read | 1 reading | 3 to read
I was totally captivated from the very beginning Many times, I was holding my breath I cant praise this book enough. Goodreads Reviewer ?????????? Fen bit her bottom lip. She was onto something all right. Arthur had sent her a message from beyond the grave. There was more to his death than they were telling her. Would she ever find him? England, 1944. On a clear autumn morning in late September, time stops for Fen Churche. Waiting on the scrubbed farmhouse table for her is a letter from her cherished Arthur Melville-Hare, a brave, blue-eyed captain who was shipped off to war. Through her tears, she knows what it means she will never see her fianc again. As she reads his last letter, she realises something the War Office didnt: Fen and Arthur shared a love of crosswords, and hes left her clever clues to his disappearance. Desperate to find out what happened to the love of her life, she sets off for France, travelling to his last posting: a quaint village, surrounded by vineyards. But darkness lies beneath the charming surface of this countryside town, and when the beloved priest and the son of a local wine maker are found dead, its clear that someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried. Can Fen stay alive long enough to find out the truth? A totally gripping story of war, mystery, espionage and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this unputdownable World War Two murder mystery. Readers are addicted to A Dangerous Goodbye! Nail-biting suspense and powerful emotion A marvellous treat for historical mystery fans A compulsively readable thriller that has me waiting with bated breath for the next. Bookish Jottings ?????????? A wonderful historical mystery and a fantastic start to a new series. Goodreads Reviewer ?????????? The plot is intriguing and filled with mystery, spies, lies, romance, murder and more!!! Kept me guessing throughout. Goodreads Reviewer A perfect historical mystery! What a beginning! I could not put this book down and look forward to more from Ms. Chester. Goodreads Reviewer A brilliantly entertaining murder mystery Full of lies, spies, murder, romance, mystery and so much more. Bursting at the seams! Sharon Beyond the Books I read raptly to the end, unaware that a summer storm poured outside. Cant wait til book two! Goodreads Reviewer ?????????? I needed to know who the killer was, I just kept reading. House chores? No time for that! NetGalley Reviewer
LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
kspenmoll
post image
Pickpick

#kindleunlimited #cozy #spynovel #WWII
Fen Church receives a letter from her fiancé that reads as if it is his last.They share love of crosswords so he left clues in his letter as to his disappearance.Fen travels to France where he was last seen and works at the same winery that he worked.There are two murders which leads Fen to believe she could be next.Who in the winery betrayed Arthur?Who collaborated with the Nazi‘s?Who wants her dead?

kspenmoll Picture of crossword was published on D-Day; photo of burnt out vines is from 1944 when German Nazis & collaborators burnt them down. Many were able to hide their best vintages cleverly & give the Nazi‘s common table wine. (edited) 13mo
50 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
kspenmoll
post image

#Coffeeandbooks #mugtour #capemaylighthouse #capemayferry

The summer after my son‘s first grade year, my husband planned a “surprise” trip for us. He knew my love of ferries, so we took plenty of time, going from ferry to ferry down the eastern seaboard. On the way, we stopped & toured this lighthouse. Unforgettable memories.

56 likes1 stack add
blurb
kspenmoll
post image

#coffeeandbooks #mugtour

I spent 2 days a week a few summers ago in
Willimantic CT, about 45 min.from my house. While my son worked in a local museum, I read in this welcoming coffee shop, walked the streets,(including the infamous (“Frog Bridge”)& visited the library & farmer‘s market & generally enjoyed myself. This town has so much to offer- totally changed my inherited stereotypical idea of what the town & its people were like.

BookNAround I lived in the old armory building in Willimantic my first year of grad school at UConn! Such a small,world. 😁 13mo
kspenmoll @BookNAround Trying to picture the building. Want to look it up- I must have walked by it! 13mo
Amiable I worked at Eastern for 7 years —spent a lot of time in Willimantic! Drove over the Frog Bridge every day. 😀 Another fun fact: Wally Lamb used to have an office space in downtown, and I would sometimes run into him at the gas station near campus. (edited) 13mo
59 likes3 comments