Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Probably Ruby
Probably Ruby | Lisa Bird-Wilson
4 posts | 4 read | 3 to read
For readers of Tommy Orange's There There and Terese Marie Mailhot's Heart Berries, Probably Ruby is an audacious, brave and beautiful book about an adopted woman's search for her Indigenous identity. Relinquished as an infant, Ruby is placed in a foster home and finally adopted by Alice and Mel, a less-than-desirable couple who can't afford to complain too loudly about Ruby's Indigenous roots. But when her new parents' marriage falls apart, Ruby finds herself vulnerable and in compromising situations that lead her to search, in the unlikeliest of places, for her Indigenous identity. Unabashedly self-destructing on alcohol, drugs and bad relationships, Ruby grapples with the meaning of the legacy left to her. In a series of expanding narratives, Ruby and the people connected to her tell their stories and help flesh out Ruby's history. Seeking understanding of how we come to know who we are, Probably Ruby explores how we find and invent ourselves in ways as peculiar and varied as the experiences of Indigenous adoptees themselves. Ruby's voice, her devastating honesty and tremendous laugh, will not soon be forgotten. Probably Ruby is a perfectly crafted novel, with effortless, nearly imperceptible shifts in time and perspective, exquisitely chosen detail, natural dialogue and emotional control that results in breathtaking levels of tension and points of revelation.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Kazzie
Probably Ruby | Lisa Bird-Wilson
Pickpick

Great story! Told as a series of vignettes with significant people/relationships in her life, Ruby is a lovely complicated character

review
Lindy
Probably Ruby | Lisa Bird-Wilson
post image
Bailedbailed

Neither writing style nor audiobook narration pleased me. Dakota Ray Herbert may be a fine actor (haven‘t seen anything she was in) but she should have been told to avoid singsong chirpy voice inflections, especially in a gritty & raunchy story for adults. Lisa Bird-Wilson buries her characters in similes (betrayal sat behind his eyes like dull warm pudding) & I knew that switching to print wouldn‘t help much. 3 hours was enough. #Indigenous

31 likes1 comment
blurb
Lindy
Probably Ruby | Lisa Bird-Wilson
post image

#audiocrafting (tesuji shibori in progress)

PhyllisH I‘m looking forward to the results.😀 13mo
Lindy @PhyllisH Almost there… I will tag you. 😊 13mo
PhyllisH @Lindy 👍🏻😊 13mo
29 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
shawnmooney
Probably Ruby | Lisa Bird-Wilson
post image
Lindy I enjoyed your commentary on the covers, Shawn. Interesting that at least 2 of the ones you showed are very different from the Canadian editions: that of Fight Night and All‘s Well. 13mo
24 likes1 stack add1 comment