Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Snowglobe
Snowglobe | Soyoung Park
5 posts | 5 read | 1 to read
In a world of constant winter, only the citizens of Snowglobe escape the bitter cold--but Snowglobe hides dark and dangerous secrets at its heart. A groundbreaking Korean novel translated into English for the first time that is perfect for fans of Snowpiercer and Squid Game! Enclosed under a vast dome, Snowglobe is the last place on Earth that's warm. Outside Snowglobe is a frozen wasteland, and every day, citizens face the icy world to get to their jobs at the power plant, where they produce the energy Snowglobe needs. Their only solace comes in the form of twenty-four-hour television programming streamed directly from the domed city. The residents of Snowglobe have everything: fame, fortune, and above all, safety from the desolation outside their walls. In exchange, their lives are broadcast to the less fortunate outside, who watch eagerly, hoping for the chance to one day become actors themselves. Chobahm lives for the time she spends watching the shows produced inside Snowglobe. Her favorite? The Goh Haeri Show. Haeri is Snowglobe's biggest star--and, it turns out, the key to getting Chobahm her dream life. Because Haeri is dead, and Chobahm has been chosen to take her place. Only, life inside Snowglobe is nothing like what you see on television. Reality is a lie, and truth seems to be forever out of reach. Translated for the first time into English from the original Korean, Snowglobe is a groundbreaking exploration of personal identity, and the future of the world as we know it. It is the winner of the Changbi X Kakaopage Young Adult Novel Award.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Booksbymybed
Snowglobe | Soyoung Park
post image
Pickpick

Snowglobe by Soyoung Park. YA. Interesting concept mix of post apocalyptic society/hunger games/Truman show. Twists and turns along the way. I did feel it started to fizzle out towards the end, but since it‘s a part of duology, I expect it will pick back up in book 2. It doesn‘t come out until the next spring so who knows what of the first book I will remember . But it was a fun read overall.

review
TracyReadsBooks
Snowglobe | Soyoung Park
post image
Pickpick

Excellent translation of this YA science fiction story first published in South Korea. In a world where those living outside Snowglobe exist in -50F degree weather, those inside live a life of a luxury…in front of the cameras as actors in tv shows. When one unexpectedly dies & Chobahm is offered the opportunity to step into her shoes, a web of secrets & the truth will be revealed. A little scattered but still entertaining enough.

review
AshRaye
Snowglobe | Soyoung Park
post image
Pickpick

This was a little different from what I usually read, but I actually ended up loving it. The twists and turns toward the end there kept me glued to the story. It did end with some unanswered questions, but that builds up anticipation for the next book.

blurb
TracyReadsBooks
Snowglobe | Soyoung Park
post image

Reading outside with coffee and cookies as we approach peak coverage (only 94% for us) in the eclipse. Not a bad way to spend the afternoon.

dabbe 🤩🤩🤩 3mo
30 likes1 comment
blurb
Traci1
Snowglobe | Soyoung Park
post image

I bought this book solely because the cover was so pretty. And I just opened it up, and this end paper... 😍 I didn't look at the blurb, and I haven't read a single word, so I've no idea what this is about, but I'm in love already.

dabbe 🤩🤩🤩 4mo
Roary47 That bookmark! Yes!!! 4mo
StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego Wrong Leverrrrrrrrr.... 4mo
Traci1 @Roary47 @StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego 😄 Kronk and Yzma are my favorite Disney couple. 4mo
53 likes4 comments