Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Temple Secrets
Temple Secrets | Susan Gabriel
1 post | 5 read | 1 to read
Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed writer, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews). Every family has secrets, but the elite Temple family of Savannah has more than most. To maintain their influence, they've also been documenting the indiscretions of other prestigious southern families, dating as far back as the Civil War. When someone begins leaking these tantalizing tidbits to the newspaper, the entire city of Savannah, Georgia is rocking with secrets. The current keeper of the secrets and matriarch of the Temple clan is Iris, a woman of unpredictable gastrointestinal illnesses and an extra streak of meanness that even the ghosts in the Temple mansion avoid. When Iris unexpectedly dies, the consequences are far flung and significant, not only to her family-who get in line to inherit the historic family mansion-but to Savannah itself. At the heart of the story is Old Sally, an expert in Gullah folk magic, who some suspect cast a voodoo curse on Iris. At 100 years of age, Old Sally keeps a wise eye over the whole boisterous business of secrets and the settling of Iris's estate. In the Temple family, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a secret.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
julieclair
Temple Secrets | Susan Gabriel
post image
Pickpick

A multi-layered, and ultimately hopeful, story about the many ways generations of secret-keeping can affect families. Set in Savannah, Georgia, with a particular appreciation of the Gullah culture, the South itself feels like one of the characters. Told from multiple points of view, and with a diverse cast of characters, the topic of race relations is handled in a way that feels authentic. Quirky characters and a few resident ghosts add humor ⬇️

julieclair to the story, and the numerous secrets that are revealed make for a very satisfying read! #Pantone2022 #LavaFalls @Clwojick #RoadTripUSA2022 #Georgia @megnews 4mo
Clwojick Great job! 3mo
13 likes2 comments