Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Drink Deep
Drink Deep: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel | Chloe Neill
8 posts | 31 read | 3 to read
"A strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." (Library Journal) Clouds are brewing over Cadogan House, and Merit the vampire can't tell if this is the darkness before the dawn, or the calm before the storm. With the city itself in turmoil over paranormals and the state threatening to pass a paranormal registration act, times have never been more precarious for the vampires. If only they could lay low for a bit...Then magic rears its ugly head when Lake Michigan turns black. The mayor insists it's nothing to worry about, but Merit knows a panic is coming. She'll have to turn to friends old and new to find out who's behind this, and stop them before it's too late for both the vampires and humans.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
WeeWeegieBookworm
post image

November Stats
#NovemberStats #Stats

review
Bianca
post image
Pickpick

What just happened.

I think I'm done with this series for now.

Still liked it though? 🧛‍♀️

Riveted_Reader_Melissa Keep reading, trust me... it will get better! 2y
Bianca @Riveted_Reader_Melissa Ok I will continue with the audio of book six which I started this morning but wasn't crazy about. The action just picked up which helps me get through the expository parts. 2y
Riveted_Reader_Melissa @Bianca I remember this book being quite a hard one to read, without saying anything specific and giving spoilers, but it does get better... and the series slowly gets back to its normal rhythm. (edited) 2y
Bianca @Riveted_Reader_Melissa Thank you for telling me to continue with the series! Now I'm reading book seven, and it's quite entertaining. 2y
Riveted_Reader_Melissa @Bianca You‘re welcome! I think you‘ll enjoy the rest, after this early speed bump. 2y
54 likes5 comments
review
linzvi
post image
Pickpick

Been tearing through this series since we've been stuck at home due to Harvey this last week. Now I just have to wait for the shipping situation to improve or return to normal so I can get the rest from Amazon!

blurb
Redjewel_7734
post image

#igreadathon #figthistlebooks Hydration is important for reading! So let's settle down with a nice #drink of water #deweys24hourreadathon #springcleaningreadathon #readathon

blurb
BarbaraTheBibliophage
post image

My #comfortreads are always fantasy, preferably urban fantasy. A little romance, some intrigue and suspense, maybe even some time travel. Witches, vampires, fae, were creatures. I feel better just thinking about it. #FunFridayPhoto

LeahBergen I like a Susanna Kearsley for a comfort read, too. 👍🏼 3y
95 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
blossy
post image
Mehso-so

⭐⭐⭐

it was just not up to par as the first four. I realize not every book in a series will be a hit. I knew right away who was the bad guy. I screamed at Merit a few times. The first 80% was boring more world building and Delores Umbridge moments. The last 20% rocked! I really like Jonah.

I'm waiting for the next book to become available. This was also the last one narrated by Cynthia Holloway who is amazing! I may need to take a break.

quote
Chelledawn

There was a time,” he finally said, “when I would have acknowledged your reticence and given you time and space to reach your own decision.”

Then he lowered his lips to my ear.
“This is not that time, Merit.”
And then his mouth was on mine, and he took my breath away again. He kissed me like a man possessed, like a man with nothing more on his mind but the taste and feel of me.
Like a man returned to life.