Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Sunset Route
The Sunset Route: Freight Trains, Forgiveness, and Freedom on the Rails in the American West | Carrot Quinn
6 posts | 2 read | 5 to read
The unforgettable story of one woman who leaves behind her hardscrabble childhood in Alaska to travel the country via freight train--a beautiful memoir about forgiveness, self-discovery, and the redemptive power of nature, perfect for fans of Wild or Educated. After a neglected childhood spent on welfare and in and out of homelessness in Alaska, raised by a mother who believed she was the reincarnation of the Virgin Mary, Carrot Quinn moved out on her own. She found a sense of belonging with a bunch of straight-edge anarchists who taught her how to traverse the country by freight trains, sleep in fields under the stars, and feed herself by foraging in dumpsters. Her new life was one of thrilling adventure and freedom, but still, she is haunted by the ghosts of her lonely and traumatic childhood. The Sunset Route is a powerful and brazenly honest adventure memoir set in the unseen corners of the United States--in the Alaskan cold, on trains rattling through forests and deserts, as well as in low-income apartments and crowded punk houses--following a remarkable protagonist who has witnessed more tragedy than she thought she could ever hold and who must learn to heal her own heart. Ultimately, it is a meditation on the natural world as a spiritual anchor, and on the ways that forgiveness can set us free.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Blueberry
post image
49 likes1 stack add
review
Blueberry
post image
Pickpick

Well written. 4 stars. I want to read her other book but it's harder to find.
Trigger warnings for childhood abuse.

quote
Blueberry
post image

I crouch in the dark railcar, gripping a plastic tarp around me.

#FirstLineFridays @ShyBookOwl

blurb
Blueberry
post image

Tomorrow I will be sitting outside with book for me and #treats for the kiddos.

@Eggs @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks
#haunted

Eggs Nicely done ☑️ 13mo
63 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Soubhiville
post image
Mehso-so

I thought I was going to really like the one. I know folks who live just like the author, in anarchist communal houses, living on the fringes of society, surviving on dumpster dived food and backyard vegetables grown in 5 gallon buckets.

That part of Carrot‘s life is in here, but there‘s a much darker side to her story. Raised by a mentally ill abusive single mother, often starving as a kid, dark thoughts follow her. In one word: bleak.

Soubhiville I‘m not sure this is a book I‘d recommend unless you‘re prepared for that heaviness. That was the tone of most of the book for me, overshadowing the freedom she sometimes felt while riding trains or exploring a new place. 1y
AmyG I am not sure Venkman was thrilled with this book either. 😹 1y
ShelleyBooksie Kitty!!!!!! Absolutely stunning ♡♡♡♥︎♡♡♡♡ 1y
Soubhiville @AmyG he said it wasn‘t his favorite. 🤣 1y
70 likes4 comments
blurb
Soubhiville
post image

This beauty was in my mailbox this afternoon: July‘s #FantasticStrangelings book. I may just have to read this next!
(I‘m currently reading the Strangelings book from several months ago: Sorrowland by Rivers Solomon.)