Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Singer Distance
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
11 posts | 6 read | 7 to read
For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier's propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: what happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we're not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are--that's not luck. That's a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, Crystal Singer, her boyfriend Rick, and three other MIT grad students take a cross-country road trip from Boston to Arizona to paint a message in the desert. Mars has been silent for thirty years, since the last time Earth solved one of the mathematical proofs the Martian civilization carved onto its surface. The latest proof, which seems to assert contradictory truths about distance, has resisted human understanding for decades. Crystal thinks she's solved it, and Rick is intent on putting her answer to the test--if he can keep her from cracking under the pressure on the way. But Crystal's disappearance after the experiment will set him on a different path than he expected, forever changing the distance between them. Filled with mystery and wonder, Ethan Chatagnier's Singer Distance is a novel about ambition, loneliness, friendship, exploration, and love--about how far we're willing to go to communicate with a distant civilization, and the great lengths we'll travel to connect with each other here on Earth.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Christine
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image
Pickpick

Thoroughly enjoyed this story and its takes on scientific discovery, academia, relationships, hope, and more. Would have loved to have gotten to know a few of the characters even better, yet I also appreciate that feeling of wanting more.

(My slowness in getting to it does not properly reflect my gratitude to @Tin_House for sending the ARC!)

blurb
swishandflick
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

Ex A) Why I love book clubs that introduce me to books I might not have been exposed to otherwise! Even if you're not a member (or you aren't necessarily thinking of joining a new club atm), please FOLLOW and show some love to @AardvarkBookClub so they don't abandon Litsy ❤️ I promise that their customer service is unparalleled and they pick SO MANY awesome books 📚

Any questions, please let me know. More than happy to sing their praises!💗

Soubhiville I follow and downloaded the ap, planning to actually sign up in January 😁 1mo
Megabooks Yes!! Love you @AardvarkBookClub !! 🫶🏻 1mo
66 likes3 comments
review
Breanne1
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image
Pickpick

I‘m so pleased with my #aardvark subscription and how they keep introducing me to books I wouldn‘t have otherwise stumbled on. This book was so much more than I anticipated; who knew mathematics could be so layered. While sci-fi based it‘s the complex relationships that drive this story. A strong pick for me!

swishandflick Totally agree on all points! 2mo
AardvarkBookClub We‘re so so happy you loved it!!! 😁💜 2mo
14 likes2 comments
review
swishandflick
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image
Pickpick

This book was very different from what I went in expecting it to be, considering it centers around Earth and Mars having found a way to communicate with each other through mathematical equations that continually increase in difficulty over time. But HOLY SMOKES was it so much more, and I loved every second. An absolutely perfect pick for my cozy, rainy, bookish Saturday with Moxie and my Christmas tree for company.

Great choice #Aardvark! ❤️

Bookzombie Your tree looks lovely!! 💕🐈‍⬛ 2mo
Megabooks Great review! 2mo
swishandflick @Bookzombie Thank you!! 🎄 2mo
See All 6 Comments
swishandflick @Megabooks Thanks! I loved it, a nice reminder of why I initially started trying these book services, to introduce me to things I probably *wouldn't* have read otherwise! 2mo
Breanne1 Can‘t wait to read this book after your review. 2mo
AardvarkBookClub Wahoo! We‘re so glad this one was a hit for you! ❤️ We were hoping others would love this one like we did! 2mo
79 likes1 stack add6 comments
blurb
nitalibrarian
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

I'm going to try to get one more book read in November. #aardvark

Megabooks I really liked this!! 2mo
24 likes1 comment
review
Megabooks
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image
Pickpick

#Aardvark put this on my radar, and I‘m so pleased they did! It‘s alternative history SciFi with a lot of heart.

It‘s 1960 and Earth has had primitive communication with Mars since last century, but no one has been able to answer the Martians‘ question since Einstein in 1932. Enter five MIT grad students headed to Arizona to carve their answer into the desert - a trip that will change all of them and have far reaching consequences in their lives.

TheAromaofBooks I love this cover!!! 2mo
britt_brooke Striking photo! 2mo
Megabooks @TheAromaofBooks it‘s gorgeous! 2mo
See All 11 Comments
Megabooks @britt_brooke thank you! 2mo
swishandflick I'm so excited to read this one! 2mo
Cinfhen Your review makes me very interested but still leaning towards #BorrowNotBuy 💖also ill say it again, fabulous photo 😍 2mo
Megabooks @swishandflick enjoy! It was really good! 2mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen makes sense and thank you! I love this Christmas hanging. 🤩🎄 2mo
BarbaraBB Beautiful photo!! 2mo
Megabooks @BarbaraBB that means a lot coming from you because yours are always so stunning. Thank you! 😘 2mo
AardvarkBookClub ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ 2mo
92 likes3 stack adds11 comments
blurb
Megabooks
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

Got some @AardvarkBookClub #bookmail this morning at 6:30 AM!! I was out with Molly, and it was our usual postal worker. She feverishly barks at him from inside, but of course she loved him in person! 🤣🤷🏻‍♀️ I‘ve already started Singer Distance, which is my bookspin, too. #aardvark

Cinfhen This was your November box?? That took a long time to get to you!!! 2mo
Cinfhen Box is super cool 😎 2mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen @BarbaraBB likes the box too so I sent her birthday present in the first one! 😁 and yes, since they‘re a start up, they‘re having some supply chain issues, but I have other books to read, so it wasn‘t a big deal. But I‘m probably not going to put my December choice on my bookspin list in case it‘s a bit late too. Overall I‘m really enjoying aardvark though! 2mo
See All 6 Comments
Cinfhen That‘s fair!! And if I remember correctly they gave everyone an extra book the first month because of shipping delays - so it seems like they are customer friendly 2mo
BarbaraBB The box is really cool indeed 😍 @Cinfhen 2mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen they did and they are super customer friendly! And I‘m happy to see them on litsy too. 2mo
88 likes6 comments
blurb
Breanne1
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

Eek! @AardvarkBookClub box arrived today!! Can‘t wait to read these. Loving this book club and excited to see what month three has in store for us.

blurb
Megabooks
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

Yes!! And please welcome @AardvarkBookClub to Litsy! I‘m already enjoying their content and so happy to have this startup book club around. 💜🤩 #Aardvark #bookmail

swishandflick Right?! I was so glad to see @AardvarkBookClub join!! 👏🏽 2mo
AardvarkBookClub @swishandflick Thrilled to be here!! So excited for the Nov books to start arriving! 💜 2mo
74 likes2 comments
blurb
Megabooks
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

Had to pick my #Aardvark first thing! I wasn‘t tempted by any of the other November choices, but I did pick up The Night Ship from last month. What‘s everyone else thinking?

swishandflick I'm definitely getting Singer Distance too! And maybe The Other Side of Night 3mo
Megabooks Sorry @Cinfhen forgot to tag you! 😘😘 3mo
Megabooks @swishandflick it really struck me as different in a good way than other books I‘ve read recently. 3mo
See All 7 Comments
Cinfhen I wasn‘t really sold on any of the titles so I‘m still holding off…I‘ll wait& see what December‘s books are 😉 3mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen 👍🏻👍🏻 3mo
swishandflick GAHHH @Cinfhen we can't do a book club without you!! 😆 3mo
Cinfhen @swishandflick thanks Ashley!! I‘d join just to hang with you & Meg 💕💕💕 Hope you both enjoy your picks 😁 3mo
56 likes7 comments
blurb
swishandflick
Singer Distance | Ethan Chatagnier
post image

#Aardvark released one of their November clues, and my guess is Singer Distance. What do you think - any guesses?? 🔭

(PS: I'm intrigued by this book in general so I'd be down for this as a pick!)

jlhammar Great guess. This is the first I‘ve heard of this book. Sounds good! 3mo
Megabooks I think I‘m getting this!! 3mo
55 likes2 comments