Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
My Fair Junkie
My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean | Amy Dresner
2 posts | 3 read | 2 to read
In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side. Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon." Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties. In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Victoriahoperose
post image
Pickpick

This was a really interesting book about addiction. It was both funny and sad/ scary and I really felt like it was raw and honest at the same time. I really think the author took the time to show the despair and difficulties of living a life with addiction. The writing was great and quick to get through even though the subject matter was tough. #booked2019
#bookaboutaddiction

Cinfhen I find these type of memoirs really powerful. 1mo
BarbaraTheBibliophage It takes a lot of courage for an author to put themselves out there to the world. Interesting pick! 1mo
27 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
hermyknee
post image
Bailedbailed

Meh; this is okay. I skipped the second half of the middle and I could take it or leave it toward the end. I ended up bailing. I think I'd enjoy Amy Dresner's stand up, but this book felt self-indulgent and too long and a lot of the same over and over. I don't mean to discount anyone's struggle, particularly hers, with addiction - it just didn't make the best book.

For a good recovery memoir, read Guts by Kristen Johnston (it was AMAZING).