Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Boy Who Steals Houses
The Boy Who Steals Houses | C. G. Drews
12 posts | 11 read | 12 to read
Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story. Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him. Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Vee_Bookish
post image
Pickpick

I'm still digesting all my thoughts about this book, it's so well written and touching, and has many elements that readers will relate to - siblings with autism, anxiety, large families, abuse, homelessness. I did find it pretty slow going in the middle and it felt just a little too long, so I did find myself forcing myself through a few chapters which was a shame.

(See my full review on Goodreads)

blurb
gibblr
post image

Book(ish) mail is the best mail!! Today I received two older ARCs from the UK, one candle from the Nevernight series (final book is out today!), three candles from my beloved Three Dark Crowns series (final book also out today!), and the Illumicrate pin of the month also from Three Dark Crowns. It‘s a good day and the next week or so should be filled with more goodies related to those two series 😁

review
Quippe
Pickpick

C. G. Drews‘s YA contemporary novel is a beautifully written story about homelessness, desperation, violence and the need to belong. I completely believed in Sam as a confused boy desperate not to be like his father but unable to find another way to help Avery and the romance between him and Moxie is sweetly depicted, but I did have some concerns about autism sometimes being portrayed as a burden for Sam to bear.

review
e.c.vitoria
post image
Pickpick

This was so cute but also heavy, idk how CG Drews manages such witchcraft.

8/10 💫

review
edennugget
post image
Pickpick

This is a moving tale about brotherhood, friendship, family, belonging, and love. A story about violence, abuse, and survival. Of frustration, helplessness, and yet, strength.

Let me preface this by applauding Drews for her representation - disabilities, sexualities, race. This gave me insight into the daily struggles of those with special needs as well as that of their families. I truly feel the frustration of these characters!

8/10

5 likes2 stack adds
quote
edennugget

‘You can do monstrous things and not be a monster.‘

quote
edennugget

‘You‘re allowed to hurt. It‘s not a contest.‘

review
Christine11
post image
Pickpick

I really liked this latest novel by the author of A Thousand Perfect Notes. It follows two essentially homeless brothers one of whom has a penchant for breaking into houses. It‘s emotional and thoughtful with really memorable characters. My full review is on my blog now!
https://lifewithallthebooks.com/2019/04/14/the-boy-who-steals-houses-by-c-g-drew...
I received this e-book through Netgalley. My review is my own honest opinion.

review
BooksOnPointe
post image
Mehso-so

I have mixed feelings. I like the writing. The plot is okay. The romance didn't pull me in. It wasn't convincing as the sibling relationships. I was looking forward to the autistic rep, but I was very disappointed with how Avery is portrayed. This book reminded me of Black Balloon which has terrible disabled rep.

blurb
bookish.mum
post image

Happy release day to The Boy Who Steals Houses by C.G. Drews 😄🎉 I loved A Thousand Perfect Notes and I can't wait to get myself a copy of The Boy Who Steals Houses 😄

#cgdrews #theboywhostealshouses #bookworm

11 likes1 stack add
review
avalinah
post image
Pickpick

If I could, I would give The Boy Who Steals Houses 15 stars. Of gold. Because it's just that good. It's a quick read, and you will just not go to sleep until you've read it in one sitting! Very recommended.
Full review: http://bit.ly/2TuPm42

8 likes2 stack adds
review
Missusb
post image
Pickpick

Only 14 this month. But that‘s ok. Tracking well with #grchallenge #readingstats #februaryreads loved most of them.