Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Poppy Wife
The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War | Caroline Scott
4 posts | 2 read | 9 to read
In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. 1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edies husband Francis is still missing. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie knows he is alive. Harry, Franciss brother, was there the day Francis went missing in Ypres. And like Edie, hes hopeful Francis is living somewhere in France, lost and confused. Hired by grieving families in need of closure, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph soldiers graves. As he travels through France gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence his own brother is still alive. When Edie receives a mysterious photograph that she believes was taken by Francis, she is more certain than ever he isnt dead. Edie embarks on her own journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone, or could he still be alive? And if he is, why hasnt he come home? As Harry and Edies paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are soon faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover. An incredibly moving account of an often-forgotten moment in historythose years after the war that were filled with the unknownThe Poppy Wife tells the story of the thousands of soldiers who were lost amid the chaos and ruins in battle-scarred France; and the even greater number of men and women hoping to find them again.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
tonyablessing
Pickpick

Amazing book! It was a little hard for me to get into the story, but once I was past the first few chapters, I was drawn in and didn't want to put the book down. This debut novel is a winner! The setting is 1921 after the Great War. Survivors of the war are trying to mend and move forward.

review
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
post image
Pickpick

Really good debut!! Still prefer the UK title of The Photographer of the Lost because it really gets to the heart of this novel. Not the silly title with the "wife", "girl", "daughter" in it.

blurb
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
post image

I just love when there is this much attention and beauty given to books. ❣️🏵️

blurb
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
post image

Just in from the library!

23 likes1 stack add