Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Meddling and Murder
Meddling and Murder | Ovidia Yu
1 post | 1 read
A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore's best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's NO. 1 LADIES' DETECTIVE AGENCY. Aunty Lee is on the case! There is nothing Rosie 'Aunty' Lee, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore's best-loved restaurant, loves more than solving other people's problems. So when Beth Kwuan, an ambitious businesswoman, tells Aunty Lee her maid has disappeared, Aunty Lee is happy to let her own maid, Nina, help. Only as the weeks go by, little clues make Aunty Lee worry. And as she digs into what is really going on behind the closed doors of Beth's grand house, she starts to wonder--did Beth's maid just run away, or did she meet a darker fate? Now the race is on for Aunty Lee to get to the bottom of the mystery...and save Nina before it's too late!
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Verity
post image
Pickpick

So much fun but also a little unsettling. Aunty Lee is trying to solve another case but this also has some more of the darker side of Singapore and of being old - with a look at the treatment of foreign domestic workers and how the unscrupulous can try to badger/confuse/inveigle old people into giving their money away. But it‘s all done so matter of factly and in passing that you do a double take - and it doesn‘t feel at all preachy or crusadey.