Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Along the Saltwise Sea
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
8 posts | 7 read | 1 to read
For readers of Kelly Barnhill and Cat Valente's Fairyland books, adventure and danger lurk Along the Saltwise Sea in this new book by Seanan McGuire's latest open pseudonym, A. Deborah Baker. Be sure to explore the myriad wonders that can be found Along the Saltwise Sea. After climbing Over the Woodward Wall and making their way across the forest, Avery and Zib found themselves acquiring some extraordinary friends in their journey through the Up-and-Under. After staying the night, uninvited, at a pirate queens cottage in the woods, the companions find themselves accountable to its owner, and reluctantly agree to work off their debt as her ship sets sail, bound for lands unknown. But the queen and her crew are not the only ones on board, and the monsters at sea arent all underwater. The friends will need to navigate the stormy seas of obligation and honor on their continuing journey along the improbable road Writing as A. Deborah Baker, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Seanan McGuire takes our heroes Avery and Zib (and their friends Niamh and the Crow Girl) on a high seas adventure, with pirates and queens and all the dangers of the deep as they continue their journey through the Up-and-Under on their quest for the road that will lead them home.... Welcome to a world of talking trees and sarcastic owls, of dangerous mermaids and captivating queens in this exceptional tale for readers who are young at heart in this companion book to McGuire's critically-acclaimed Middlegame and the sequel to Over the Woodward Wall. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
peanutnine
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
post image
Pickpick

Continuing to follow Avery and Zib through the Up-and-Under. This wasn't quite as good as the first book, but still enjoyable. They learn more about the kings and the drowned girl's backstory, and get to adventure with pirates.
#SeriesLove2024 @Andrew65 @TheSpineView

TheSpineView Fantastic!🤩 3w
35 likes1 comment
review
Robotswithpersonality
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
post image
Mehso-so

I'd say this is suffering from middle book syndrome, except I just found out there are four books in this series, fourth scheduled to come out this year, and for all I know, that isn't the last!
I do still enjoy the adventure, the fanciful world building, the clear-eyed nudging both young and adult readers towards compassion and emotional intelligence via the character-building experiences of the protagonists, rather than simple moralizing. 1/2

Robotswithpersonality I'm afraid unlike Seanan McGuire's Wayward Children series (author name shown is a pseudonym) this doesn't read as a universe with self contained stories, but a continuation of a main narrative, which can make the installments frustrating even when they're not particularly cliffhanger endings.
I think it will be easier to continue in the series now that I know the format each will take. 2/2
1y
4 likes1 comment
quote
Robotswithpersonality
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
post image

"We can't decide who is and isn't people, even when we think we should be able to," said Jibson. "I've met a lot of people where it would have been easier to pretend that they weren't, but all the pretending there is wouldn't have changed what they were. As long as someone's still people, you have to treat them with kindness." ?

quote
Robotswithpersonality
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
post image

As A. Deborah Baker, Mira Grant or Seanan McGuire, I love her writing.

3 likes1 stack add
review
shanaqui
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
Pickpick

I think I ate this up all in one go... just NOM. It actually frustrates me a little now I'm not reading it, because 7% of its page count is recap of the first book, which I literally just read... and it feels like the book didn't manage to get anywhere satisfying. Which is not quite true, there was a subplot that got resolved in a fitting way, but... I want more. :(

blurb
shanaqui
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker

Had to grab this after enjoying Over the Woodward Wall so unexpectedly much! Looking forward to it, though gah, today was not a day for reading. At all...

blurb
Clwojick
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
post image

Current progress for #MiddlegradeMarch! 💚

megnews Great progress! I love 2y
69 likes2 comments
review
ElleMNOpe
Along the Saltwise Sea | A. Deborah Baker
post image
Pickpick

Magical & whimsical sequel to Over the Woodward Wall. Rich & realistic characters in a tangible, upside-down, magical world. A middle grade read with straightforward writing & some predictability, but still very enjoyable for adults. Fantastic character writing with great diversity & believable, accessible character arcs. Very lovable characters. Fast moving plot with a good 1st book recap. Enchanting & wonderful & reminiscent of the Oz series.