Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Islands
Islands | Peggy Frew
7 posts | 4 read | 12 to read
There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone. Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious. When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother's not too worried; Anna's taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance. But this time Anna doesn't come back ... A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis by the breathtakingly talented author of House of Sticks and Hope Farm. 'Peggy Frew is an amazing writer...Elegant, tender and very wise.' Chris Womersley, author of Bereft on Hope Farm 'Peggy Frew's novel, Hope Farm, tells an original tale, drawing into the body of Australian literary fiction, a world between the cracks. Peggy's voice is contemporary, her observations sharp and sensitive. Hope Farm describes the cycle of loss and damage when there are no boundaries to protect us.' Sofie Laguna, author of The Eye of the Sheep, 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner 'Brilliant. Peggy Frew is a superb writer, and this is a remarkably confident debut.' Clare Bowditch on House of Sticks
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
CarolynM
Islands | Peggy Frew
post image

Dropped in to the Penguin Random House book sale in support of the Indigenous Literacy Foundation. I had to buy some books, obviously.

LeeRHarry Where is this Carolyn? 1mo
CarolynM @LeeRHarry In Walker Lane behind Penguin's offices in Collins Square 1mo
Tamra 👏🏾 1mo
See All 10 Comments
LapReader Heaven. 1mo
Cinfhen How awesome 1mo
TrishB Obviously 👍🏻 1mo
LeeRHarry @CarolynM good to know 😊 1mo
LeahBergen Of course! 1mo
Aimeesue You had no choice, really. 1mo
charl08 Just a few :-) v. Restrained. 1mo
67 likes10 comments
review
MrsMalaprop
Islands | Peggy Frew
post image
Pickpick

Expectations fulfilled 😍. This Australian novel has called to me ever since @Rissreads alerted me to it some months ago. I resisted buying it in book shops many times (just because, too-many-books 📚📚📚). In the end, I couldn‘t resist.

So much of this novel resonated with me: complexities of families; the notion that there is no truth, only perspectives; the sadness and grief we carry with us based on our perspectives.

❤️😢👏 #ozfiction

CarolynM Stacked 5mo
JennyM I might have to try this one again. I got halfway, put it down and never felt like picking it up again. Not sure why? (edited) 5mo
MrsMalaprop @JennyM I found the beginning a bit disjointed & I kept mixing up the couples. But about halfway I really got into & loved it. Might be that I related to the plot & characters a bit too much due to some mega family dramas of my own! I really liked it 👍. 5mo
See All 6 Comments
Rissreads I will move it up my reading list! 5mo
Joanne1 I just so loved this book. And I felt the same as you about the first half. Then something clicked and i just couldn‘t get it out of my head. 5mo
MrsMalaprop I know what you mean @Joanne1 . I loved it. ❤️ 5mo
38 likes1 stack add6 comments
blurb
MrsMalaprop
Islands | Peggy Frew
post image

Loving this so much😍. Oh, and the book too 😁. #currentlyreading #ozfiction

Freespirit Looks lovely! 5mo
Gillyreads I have stopped to pick this up in a few bookshop browsing expeditions now. I think I will have to get it. 5mo
BooknerdsLife This looks delicious 😍 5mo
Jeg Yummy. 5mo
55 likes3 stack adds4 comments
blurb
MrsMalaprop
Islands | Peggy Frew
post image

In the tradition of Garner, Wood & Blain? I‘m in! #currentlyreading #ozfiction

Rissreads Fingers crossed it delivers! 💜 5mo
34 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Joanne1
Islands | Peggy Frew
post image
Pickpick

It took me a while to warm to this novel but in the end I loved it. Frew‘s writing is exquisite and the way she plays with structure is very clever. It reminds me of a scrapbook, clues to the life lived but relying on the reader to put the pieces together. It is resolutely non-linear and told from a multitude of POVs, most of which I wanted more of. Not a book for everyone but definitely one for me

Lindy The structure sounds like a style I would like. Stacked! 6mo
LiteraryinLititz Cool! I usually like that style too and I‘d never heard of this debut! 6mo
Joanne1 @LiteraryinLititz Peggy Frew has a couple of other books. The other one I read was a great book but a more traditional structure. 6mo
LiteraryinLititz @Joanne1 Ahh, I guess I got confused while reading the Litsy description. At the end when they call it a confident debut they are referring to her previous book! 🤷🏻‍♀️ 6mo
51 likes4 stack adds4 comments
blurb
Joanne1
Islands | Peggy Frew
post image

It‘s been a lovely, sunny winter‘s day but boy it gets cold when the sun dips low. Now it‘s time for reading in front of the fire. Even better I think I‘m the first person to get this library book, it‘s so perfect.

JennyM Looking forward to hearing your thoughts. After reaching the halfway mark I have put it aside for now. Not quite hitting the mark for me...even though it should. Not sure why. Hope you enjoy 6mo
46 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
AntoinetteBuchanan
Islands | Peggy Frew
Pickpick

So many voices/Points of view! Resolved poetically, probably the only resolution for this novel. Read for an assured author playing with the form of the novel

11 likes1 stack add