Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
mdemanatee

mdemanatee

Joined May 2016

Quirky sidekick w/ a heart of gold. Good for a research montage. Spinoff potential. She/her. https://linktr.ee/mdemanatee
review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Looking for a Depression-era supernatural noir set in Chicago with a sapphic romance at its heart? How 'bout a quick read to pad your 2022 reading goal or just get you through to the end of the year? You're in luck! https://youtu.be/iundIC22zJA

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

What are you voting for this year? While I will admit some categories pleasantly surprised me (though more on the longlist than the short), the romance also felt overall kind of flat to me. https://youtu.be/m2aZnPvoWQ4

blurb
mdemanatee
Untitled | Untitled
post image

Call me naive, but I am baffled and disappointed HarperCollins has continued to resist showing up to the table for its union. I talked about it a little yesterday. https://youtu.be/1D7dk6w7E2Q

LibrarianRyan I agree. It's been 2 weeks already. it makes me sick. 4d
27 likes2 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Finally reading the new Amari (Yes, primarily on my Kobo copy to protect my beautiful Waterstones special edition. Yes, I may have a problem) and when I tell you this book has me STRESSED. But also these books have given me back a magic I wasn‘t sure I would find again and I adore them.
https://youtu.be/vAfeB-LSyrk

17 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Malice House | Megan Shepherd
post image

The reward for going through all 60 judges on the ballot

RowReads1 Good job! I just skipped them. 4w
14 likes1 comment
review
mdemanatee
Spells for Forgetting | Adrienne Young
post image
Mehso-so

It's my birthday! If you want to throw some birthday engagement at my youtube, I won't tell. I generally try to talk about a specific title every Friday and then do other assorted bookish content like monthly anticipated, wrapups, adaption opinions, occasional hauls, or whatever happens to strike my fancy, and I would love for you to join along if at all interested. https://youtu.be/X6M153y2kig

blurb
mdemanatee
Spells for Forgetting | Adrienne Young
post image

Whelp, completed my pared down challenge but am still behind for the year in my head.

ju.ca.no Really good 👌🏼 1mo
15 likes1 comment
blurb
mdemanatee
post image

When your re-read oddly coincides. Also what a great 24th bday present to myself on the original read.

blurb
mdemanatee
Spare | Prince Harry the Duke of Sussex
post image

Did I preorder the audiobook? Yes.

Kelly_the_Bookish_Sidekick I love that he called the book Spare. 😆 I've only ever been mildly intrigued by the Royal Family, but this is something I'd listen to. 1mo
Mitch It‘s a great title! 1mo
mdemanatee @Mitch if a team member came up with it and not him that member deserves a raise. A+ 1mo
mdemanatee @Kelly_the_Bookish_Sidekick Same! I usually enjoy my royals fictional but I am in for this. 1mo
16 likes4 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
Normal People | Sally Rooney
post image

Can I ask you a question? Are you in need of books to read at midnight while listening to Taylor Swift's new album? https://youtu.be/C4ivgTb8Cog

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

It‘s the perfect day to read in the park.

Emilymdxn Love this book so much! 1mo
mdemanatee @Emilymdxn I am utterly charmed so far for sure! 1mo
20 likes2 comments
review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Haunting but not Haunted.
https://youtu.be/CNxQp0sOT9w

quote
mdemanatee
post image

review
mdemanatee
House of Hunger | Alexis Henderson
post image
Pickpick

Carmilla meets Countess Bathory, House of Hunger is making vampires dangerous and sexy again. And the atmosphere here is just top notch gilded fever dream.
https://youtu.be/_4RL30jqO14

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Listen, I may not know much about poetry, but I know enough to know these are stellar.

quote
mdemanatee
post image

blurb
mdemanatee
The Notebook | Nicholas Sparks
post image

Is the Notebook musical better than the book?
https://youtu.be/SKy0rcuQn_8

blurb
mdemanatee
The Notebook | Nicholas Sparks
post image

Got discount tickets to the musical Sunday so decided I should read the book and it is…not good so far

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

That day of book club binge

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Really loved this one and am grateful I got to see Adriana Herrera speak at Printer‘s Row Lit Fest last weekend and get my book signed.
https://youtu.be/bN_TqA6t_9I

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Time to prep for Printer‘s Row Lit Fest this weekend with two books I already had on my TBR for the month anyway.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Self care is a highly anticipated read a a frozen cocktail.

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Rule number one is that you gotta have fun. OR Rule number one is that you don't fall for a Duke while on a chase through the countryside to rescue a women on her way to Gretna Green before her father gets to her first to murder her. No one said you can't have a little casual flirtation along the way though. Then again, that may be a little wordy.
https://youtu.be/zKz-5NPN9eI

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Lots of thoughts on this one. Try to talk through some on YouTube. https://youtu.be/DwyU5i8rPvU

blurb
mdemanatee
Persuasion | Jane Austen
post image

Sunday mornings.

blurb
mdemanatee
Well Met | Jen DeLuca
post image

Went to Ren Faire today and definitely thought of this book a lot.

blurb
mdemanatee
Persuasione | Jane Austen
post image

Well, I definitely won‘t be finishing my reread to watch tomorrow night, but will hopefully sometime this weekend.

28 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Our Wives Under the Sea | Julia Armfield
post image

A summer evening with a cool breeze, a good book, and the sounds of a little league game in the background.
https://youtu.be/d_GiOzPyhrs

Chelsea.Poole Great photo! 5mo
mdemanatee @Chelsea.Poole thanks! 5mo
18 likes2 comments
quote
mdemanatee
Our Wives Under the Sea | Julia Armfield
post image

What a dang good opening though.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

When you go to the bookstore for one, *maybe* two books.

Erinreadsthebooks My go-to justification for this exact scenario: “I mean, it‘s not like books go bad.” I say it to myself quite often. 😅 5mo
mdemanatee @Erinreadsthebooks I helped justify with the 10% off I earned for all year for doing the indie bookstore crawl. Lol 5mo
22 likes2 comments
review
mdemanatee
Book Lovers | Emily Henry
post image
Pickpick

I was worried this wouldn‘t live up to the hype but I didn‘t need to be. This knew its audience and it knew where to play into tropes and where to subvert them. And it was witty and sexy too. (Bonus messy bookshelf). https://youtu.be/51Ivd9X76oM

blurb
mdemanatee
The Fastest Way to Fall | Denise Williams
post image

Goodnight cow jumping over the moon.

blurb
mdemanatee
Mr. Malcolm's List | Suzanne Allain
post image

If you're like me and still on your coffee for the morning and need something to watch and/or have been interested in Mr. Malcolm's List, I chat about the book/movie briefly for youtube. In potential bookworm blasphemy, I think you can skip the book altogether before seeing the movie. https://youtu.be/o3wSVf-VjWQ

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Been too long since I read on the riverwalk.

ju.ca.no Looks nice🥰 5mo
15 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
mdemanatee
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

Literary vampire novel? Great for fans of Otessa Moshfegh or Sin Eater by Megan Campisi (if you have any concerns about becoming obsessive with food I would sit this one out). https://youtu.be/vns6Vz_hZUQ

blurb
mdemanatee
Yerba Buena | Nina LaCour
post image

The official start to summer reading.
https://youtu.be/kzZ8qZZtPlI

review
mdemanatee
Bitter | Akwaeke Emezi
post image
Pickpick

With a similar voice to Pet this explores the inverse. If Pet is a story about a world of heroes with hidden monsters, this is a world of monsters with hidden heroes. https://youtu.be/-iqu8cQ5omE

Ms.Story Ohhhhh, this sounds interesting! I‘m becoming interested in the use of art as protest, which this sounds like it might be about?! 6mo
mdemanatee @Ms.Story It definitely plays in to things but in a little bit more symbolic way than some of the other parts of the novel. Definitely lots of layers to dig into for conversation in this one! 6mo
10 likes2 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
The Hacienda | Isabel Caas
post image

Had a great Sunday evening in the park. Want to get outside this beautiful holiday but fear the heat may be too much for my fair behind.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Started this audiobook while making dinner and loving it so far.

11 likes1 stack add
quote
mdemanatee
Sea of Tranquility: A Novel | Emily St. John Mandel
post image

blurb
mdemanatee
Sea of Tranquility: A Novel | Emily St. John Mandel
post image

Trying not to cry in the coffee shop. Normal reader problems.

blurb
mdemanatee
How to Do Nothing | Jenny Odell
post image

I‘ve been in a bit of a funk lately and my reading has suffered but hoping to come out of it after a very successful Chicago indie bookstore crawl for Independent Bookstore Day. You know, in addition to my library stacks and existing owner TBR.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

“He‘s aggressively hot. Despite the red hair—or because of it.” (Punctuation made up based on audio.

Listen Hazelwood, you are already on thin ice for for me because of constant very tiny heroines and very big heroes that are always commented on. Especially in these novellas were space is a premium and that seems to be important. And l get preferences but.... 🤷‍♀️ I was excited for a red headed hero so I am giving some side eye but continuing.

16 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Vagabonds!: A Novel | Eloghosa Osunde
post image

Getting back in the swing of things after a rough March.

blurb
mdemanatee
Vagabonds!: A Novel | Eloghosa Osunde
post image

Some of the best quotes at the beginning of a book I‘ve seen in a minute.

blurb
mdemanatee
The Nineties: A Book | Chuck Klosterman
post image

Friday I took myself to the Art Institute with my audiobook and visited some of my favorite ladies who just want to read in peace, among other things.

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

This was more internal and slower than I think I was expecting. It has Barnhill's excellent voice, but can read a little heavy-handed at times. Still, it is the strongest when paying attention to the emotional lives of the orphans, and I think it's going to offer validation for a lot of kids dealing with the world not being good all the time in different ways. https://youtu.be/rCn28MqEMNg

quote
mdemanatee
post image

“Neighbors cared for one another once upon a time. Back when it was a lovely town.” I have barely started and Kelly Barnhill is always cutting deep.

review
mdemanatee
Gallant | Victoria Schwab
post image
Pickpick

Let‘s walk through the door of Gallant.
https://youtu.be/g-uOWYXgp68

blurb
mdemanatee
The Undertakers | Nicole Glover
post image

I know it matters not at all but I hoped to finish this one yet this month and I don‘t know I can get it all done tonight. If I have to finish it off tomorrow I may cheat and still count it. Also, Hetty and Benjy are making me so happy and nothing better happen to them.