Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Who Is Rich?
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
10 posts | 10 read | 1 reading | 9 to read
The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You."
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
BookNAround
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image
Panpan

It took me a really long time to read and review this because I‘m not on board for a book about a whiny, deeply unhappy, overly introspective character in a plotless book. Should I tell you how I really feel? 🤣 Full review: http://booknaround.blogspot.com/2018/03/review-who-is-rich-by-matthew-klam.html

LauraBeth 🤣Now I want to hate-read this based on your review 2y
BookNAround @LauraBeth Resist! 😂 There are a handful of people out there who loved it (the writing is well done) but all the good writing in the world couldn‘t save it for me. If you do read it, know you‘ve been warned. 😂😂😂 2y
52 likes2 comments
blurb
BookNAround
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image

When it‘s another snow day with icy roads keeping all businesses from opening so you can‘t even call for appointments or information, there‘s nothing for it but to start a new book. (As for who is rich? Well, certainly not us with all the home repairs we‘ve had to do recently. 😕)

merelybookish Those icy trees are so pretty! 2y
BookishMe Reality is no Winter Wonderland, huh ;o 2y
74 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Lmstraubie
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image

I am a very #richgirl since finding Litsy! I have 24/7 access to book lovers around the world. What more could an #augustgrrrl ask for??
@Cinfhen

BarbaraTheBibliophage Aww. Right back at ya! 😘😘 2y
Melissa_J This is the best #richgirl post yet 🤗 2y
Cinfhen Truth 😘😘😘well done ✅ 🙌🏻💕 2y
See All 8 Comments
erzascarletbookgasm Yes! ✌🏼💗 2y
ValerieAndBooks 😊😘❤️!! 2y
Lmstraubie @Melissa_J Awwww...thanks 😊 2y
MicheleinPhilly I ❤️ this! 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼 2y
TrishB Great post 👍 2y
61 likes8 comments
review
Gittelbooks
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
Bailedbailed

I had enough at 109 pages. A whiny adulterous protagonist surrounded by equally unsympathetic characters. Life's too short to spend it on bad books.

review
KGlibrarian
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image
Mehso-so

I typically love introspective characters who analyze the details of their lives. But Rich Fischer's ongoing narrative felt like one long, self-pitying rant. I appreciated Klam's intelligent writing and think the book is worth the read but it was too much of a downer for my liking.

review
Cinfhen
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image
Mehso-so

Rich is a has been cartoonist, trying to get his life back on track but he's so smug and such a #snarkycharacter that I #canteven find a redeeming quality about him. While the writing is spot on, the story is without a plot and it's really just the rants and woes of a once privileged, middle age white guy. Not for me...I didn't bail, but I may have skipped large chunks of the ARC. It's close to a pan...the polished writing saved it to a so-so.

emilyhaldi Usually I LOVE a snarky character! But is it unlikeable snark and not endearing snark? 🤔 3y
Cinfhen He was smug, self loathing, self centered and trying so hard to seem relevant- it just didn't work for me 🙄😫 @emilyhaldi (edited) 3y
merelybookish I read this and felt the same way. Klam is a good writer. And if I'm being generous I would say he's trying to explore something about the middle age crisis. I liked that it wasn't about easy answers. BUT it was also tiresome to read about a privileged white guy's problems. Like, get over yourself. 3y
See All 7 Comments
Cinfhen I wanted to like it but I realized I wasn't enjoying any part of the book @merelybookish 3y
BookNAround These comments are validating my current reading situation so thank you! I wondered if I was missing something. 2y
Cinfhen I saw you post this book the other day @BookNAround but I didn't want to say HATED IT!!! Just in case you were enjoying it😬definitely feel free to bail...it was AWFUL👎🏼but your photo was beautiful❣️ 2y
BookNAround @Cinfhen LOL! I do only try to admit I didn‘t love a book after someone posts that they finished it and didn‘t enjoy it since tastes can be so different. 2y
95 likes7 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image

Next up! I'm making progress on my ARC's

review
merelybookish
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image
Mehso-so

The writing is so good: vivid, smart, precise. Klam pokes fun at everyone, but is also forgiving. The story is a drag, though: a middle age man feels stuck. He makes bad choices. He is kind of tiresome. He has an affair. Getting older sucks. Blah, blah, blah. I think Klam is an excellent writer but Im not that interested in some dude's midlife crisis. Even when it is well-written. @PenguinPublishing @penguinusa @penguinrandomhouse

review
Alfoster
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image
Pickpick

Meet Rich, a quirky 42-yr-old cartoonist who has 2 kids, a wife, a mistress, and a witty offbeat sense of humor. The novel deals with marriage, adultery, a mid-life crisis, and other depressing subjects--but Klam's writing is amazing and had me laughing out loud!👍

Cinfhen I have this ARC too! Glad to hear it's funny 👍🏻 3y
Alfoster @Cinfhen Yes, he's a good writer! I got bogged down a little as the character is a bit selfish and immature for 42 and I wanted to slap him a couple times! 3y
81 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
Who Is Rich? | Matthew Klam
post image

#BookMail well, electronically!!! Received both of these ARCs today compliments of Random House! They both sound wonderful, which means my #AprilTBR is already shot 🙈Anybody familiar with either title?

Zelma Not familiar with these title but I enjoyed the last Janelle Brown book I read. 3y
Cinfhen I don't think I've read Janelle Brown before but the blurb sounds promising 🙏🏻 @Zelma (edited) 3y
AceOnRoam Not familiar to me, but will check it out! 3y
99 likes4 comments