Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
We Contain Multitudes
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe meets I'll Give You the Sun in an exhilarating and emotional novel about the growing relationship between two teens boys, told through the letters they write to one another. Jonathan Hopkirk and Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky are partnered in English class, writing letters to one another in a weekly pen pal assignment. With each letter, the two begin to develop a friendship that eventually grows into love. But with homophobia, bullying, and devastating family secrets, Jonathan and Kurl struggle to overcome their conflicts and hold onto their relationship...and each other. This rare and special novel celebrates love and life with engaging characters and stunning language, making it perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nina LaCour, and David Levithan.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Sharanya
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

#currentlyreading | in the mood for a soft YA romance & this seemed to fit the bill!

6 likes1 stack add
review
danimgill
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image
Mehso-so

Unfortunately this book fell way short of the hype I had seen for it. I liked Jo and Kurl and was willing to put aside some of the minor issues I had with the story/format... until we got to the last 100ish pages, when all hell breaks loose plot-wise and things take a turn for the way too angsty and intense without proper time given to dealing with it appropriately. A lot of the writing throughout is beautiful, though, so I‘ll give it that.

blurb
Lindy
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

At the Good Reads YA Edition event at the Vancouver Writers Fest, moderator Shannon Oziny said (of the passage Henstra read from the tagged book): I know we‘ll be touching on some difficult topics today but, as a librarian, the most difficult is that scene of kicking around a library book. #VWF2019 🇨🇦

BookishTrish I work with Shannon - she had such a way with words! 3mo
34 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Zelma
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

I stayed home sick today (which is no fun as I‘ve been feeling terrible for days). But at least I have a sweet Elwood and this lovely book to get me through the morning. An epistolary novel featuring a self-described Walt Whitman fanboy? Yes, please.

JacqMac I hope you feel better soon. 4mo
Jas16 Hope you get well soon 💐 4mo
Branwen Feel better soon, friend! 4mo
See All 7 Comments
Susannah I have this book on my Kindle. I need to read it! I love an epistolary novel. Hope the book and the puppy love are doing you good. (edited) 4mo
Zelma @JacqMac @Jas16 @Branwen thank you. Being sick sucks! @Susannah I am loving this book and will probably finish it in almost one sitting. 4mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Feel better soon ❤️❤️ 4mo
Bette Feel better. 🐶❤️ 4mo
41 likes1 stack add7 comments
review
AWildMandaPanda
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image
Pickpick

I absolutely loved this book! The characters are complex and endearing and I did not expect some of the events to take place. In hindsight I could see it but it wasn‘t too obvious and the epistolary style is refreshing and makes it feel unique and genuine! I also really enjoyed all of the literary references! I highly recommend it! #bibliophile #YA #lgbtq #mustread

blurb
bookishkris
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

I couldn‘t just pick six favorites for halfway through the year, but more people need to read the tagged book; it is gentle and fierce and awful and beautiful, and I loved every brilliant page. I feel like sometimes adults writing teens want everyone to be “good” so they ignore sex and sexuality, but here the author doesn‘t do that. Jonathan knows who he is and isn‘t afraid of expressing his needs and wants.

32 likes1 stack add
blurb
AWildMandaPanda
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

Started this one today. Moved to a new place across the country. Needed a break so I went down to the local bookstore down the street. This jumped out at me... reading this curled up in bed is much more appealing than unpacking 😂 #YA #LGBTQ #pridemonth #bibliophile

54 likes2 stack adds
review
Book_yogi
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image
Pickpick

The entire book is read as letters which start as a class assignment between Adam Kurlansky (Kurt) and Jonathon Hopkirk (Jo) but turns into so so much more. At first, it seemed strange to write about parts where they were actually together, but that became inconsequential to the telling of the story, which is bold and uncomfortable and beautiful. The originality of its format only lends to the quality of the book. I am so glad I found this book.

5 likes1 stack add
blurb
jerra
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

Pride month is coming up, so I‘m devoting June to reading only LGBTQIA! My goal is to read at least 15, as I am currently in the middle of both CC‘s newer novels.

I‘m happily surprised to find out that there were a lot of new releases this year, especially in YA!

I just finished this one. It was beautiful, at times very sad and troubling, but ended hopeful. 4/5 stars.

This was my first read. Started early.

#pridemonth

blurb
Kaddele
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra

Oh wow, this audio book is so beautifully read I don‘t ever want to stop listening ...

review
TracyReadsBooks
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image
Pickpick

Assigned as pen pals in English class, Jonathan & Adam start writing letters to each other. At first, they don‘t really know what to think of each other or the assignment but they soon become friends & then fall in love. Along the way they must deal with family secrets, bullying & homophobia. This is a frank, well-written & engaging story of friendship & first love. Jonathan & Adam are great characters. Recommended for 9th grade & up.

21 likes2 stack adds
quote
TracyReadsBooks
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

This. Book. Is. Fantastic.

“...hardcore Whitman fanboy...”

Love that Whitman is featured so prominently. “Song of Myself” is quoted several times in the first few pages so yeah, I downloaded it so I can read it as I go along.

blurb
TracyReadsBooks
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image

Another preorder arrived this week. I love it when you read the inside flap and think to yourself, “Wow, this sounds good. Past me was really smart to preorder this.” Here‘s hoping that past me was right. Even though we are getting close to the end of the year, kids are still reading, still looking for another good book. So, I‘ll preview this one and get it into someone‘s hands ASAP.

16 likes1 stack add
review
MrsGreen
We Contain Multitudes | Sarah Henstra
post image
Pickpick

All the stars to this one!! Thanks @lbschool for this free review copy for our #bookclub! Sarah Henstra CRUSHES this YA novel written entirely in letters back and forth between two boys. What starts as an English assignment turns into something much larger than either boy thought. Family, relationships, death, abuse, music, all of it. I‘m in ❤️ with this book! Coming out May 2019!!! Put it on your radar!

hermyknee This sounds great! 12mo
22 likes2 stack adds1 comment