Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#GreekMythology
review
sept_scribbles
Pickpick

i spent most of the book getting stressed out because senior year is just terrifying like even reading about it stressed me out. percabeth moments had me SOBBING because they're adorable, that has and never will change. and percy sheningans with grover. it was a different type of fun watching percy go through everyday life while juggling quests on the side. especially since uncle rick's emphasizing growing up/leaving home (this just hurt me)

blurb
DebinHawaii
Stone Blind: A Novel | Natalie Haynes
post image

#CoverLove

There is more than one #Snake on the cover of our current read for #SheSaid 🐍

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Great cover 💚🖤 2d
Eggs 💚🐍🖤 1d
43 likes2 comments
review
Anoukeboek
Lies We Sing to the Sea | Sarah Underwood
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image
Pickpick

My heart is shattered. From the beginning it was stated how it all would end, and yet the deaths left me in dripping tears. I loved the romance. I loved the subplots. I loved this story more than I had imagined. Who cares if it didn't follow the history completely. This is the way I want to be sucked into a story and for it to leave me in scars. I never want to read anything else, for this book has forever fullfilled me.
(audiobook)

blurb
Riveted_Reader_Melissa
Stone Blind: A Novel | Natalie Haynes
post image
Karisa I‘m enjoying this quite a bit. Feels like it is going by so fast. It has me wanting to look up more about Medusa and the Gorgons because this retelling is so different than the one I know. I love the spin on Perseus, too funny. I‘m listening on audiobook because I love hearing this author narrate. She puts so much life into her characters! Her book A Thousand Ships is amazing too. 3d
Riveted_Reader_Melissa @Karisa I just picked up her Pandora‘s Jar to get a bit more backstory. It was on kindle unlimited for free reading, and is supposed to be non-fiction. Apparently many of the myths we learned are watered down versions of the originals that were more female centric, reducing them to side characters and wives. So I thought I‘d check it out. It wouldn‘t surprise me though, we know there is a world of difference between other myths through the⤵️ 3d
See All 22 Comments
Riveted_Reader_Melissa ↪️ the ages from say Grims Tales or Hans Christian Anderson to Disney (edited) 3d
vlwelser Perseus is such a tool. But I think that's the point. The one whose story I don't know is actually Andromeda and I'm still curious there. I love the writing in this, the random side character perspectives, the latest being the snakes. 3d
vlwelser I need to look up Pandora's Jar and give it a listen. But my queue is absurd rn. 3d
Riveted_Reader_Melissa …actually Litsy has it listed as Fiction too. 🤷‍♀️ we will see 3d
Riveted_Reader_Melissa I see the second half of the tag list never posted…. Let me try again… 3d
MallenNC @Riveted_Reader_Melissa I also got Pandora‘s Jar from my library to read once we‘re done with this one. 3d
MallenNC I really like the writing of this retelling. I am excited to finish it but I‘ll also be a little sad to be done. I‘m already feeling sad for Medusa. 3d
Riveted_Reader_Melissa Ok then…be that way 😂 3d
Riveted_Reader_Melissa @MallenNC anyway…after a posting snafu…I feel bad for her too, and if you know the myth at all you know it‘s not a happy ending for her…which makes it worse 🫤 3d
MallenNC @Riveted_Reader_Melissa Yes knowing how it ends has given a sense of dread throughout as I‘m reading the book. It shows how much a difference providing POV makes bc I don‘t remember thinking much about Medusa at all when reading the myth in school 3d
Riveted_Reader_Melissa So the work of a good author ✍️ 3d
KathyWheeler I never thought much about Medusa while I was learning about Greek mythology or watching Clash of the Titans. This book made me think about her. 2d
26 likes22 comments
review
TheIntrovertedDodoBird
Icarus | K. Ancrum
post image
Pickpick

Perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, and reminiscent of Circe's trauma-infused storyline, Icarus is a poignant YA reimagining of the ancient myth, weaving together a tale of love, loss and friendship. The style of the prose is sparse yet poetic, unconventional, and incredibly raw, warming and breaking a heart in equal measure. Bursting with cinnamon-roll characters, positive masculinity...

TheIntrovertedDodoBird and beautiful platonic relationships; this novel has stolen my heart. Ancrum braids heavy material with cosy feels flawlessly. The friendships were truly beautiful and so positive; I loved how supportive they all were. The romance was divine; Icarus and Helios were fated, star-crossed lovers, and their relationship was cathartic and built on such a pillar of thrust that it was breathtaking. The representation in this novel was wonderfully... 5d
TheIntrovertedDodoBird executed; featuring queer, intersex and disabled characters, not to mention domestic violence, substance abuse and grief. I almost wept when I finished it. Honestly, it's been a long while since I've wanted to go straight back to the beginning upon turning the final page, and I'm already wishing I could read it for the first time to experience all the nerve-wracking, cathartic thrills and sentiments. The cover is so pretty! 5d
Deblovestoread Lovely review! Stacked 5d
LeeRHarry Great review, I enjoyed another book by this author. 5d
43 likes6 stack adds4 comments
quote
TheIntrovertedDodoBird
Icarus | K. Ancrum
post image

This book is so beautiful 🩷💜.

quote
TheIntrovertedDodoBird
Icarus | K. Ancrum
post image

KadaGul Love 😍 your artwork 🖼️. 6d
30 likes1 comment
quote
TheIntrovertedDodoBird
Icarus | K. Ancrum
post image

This book has stolen my heart 💜🩷.

peanutnine I just got this book from the library! Can't wait to read it 5d
TheIntrovertedDodoBird @peanutnine It's a truly beautiful book 🩷. Pretty much my favourite read of the year! I can't wait to hear your thoughts! 5d
28 likes2 comments
quote
Robotswithpersonality
post image

Zeus, you are ALWAYS in a quarrel with Hera, because you can't keep it in your pants! 🤦🏼‍♂️

dabbe #truth 😂😂😂 6d
6 likes1 comment