Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Girl King
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
19 posts | 14 read | 39 to read
"An absolutely fantastic tale of legends, magic and destiny." --Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this richly imagined, Asian-inspired fantasy for fans of Rene Ahdieh and Sabaa Tahir. Sisters Lu and Min have always known their places as the princesses of the Empire of the First Flame: the eldest, assertive Lu, will be named her father's heir and become the dynasty's first female ruler, while timid Min will lead a quiet life in Lu's shadow. Then their father names their male cousin Set the heir instead, throwing both girls' lives into chaos. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu is forced to flee, leaving Min to face the volatile court alone. Lu crosses paths with Nokhai, the lone, unlikely survivor of the decimated Ashina, nomadic wolf shapeshifters. Nok never learned to shift--and he has no trust for the Empire that killed his family--but working with the princess might be the key to unlocking his true power. As Lu and Nok form a tenuous alliance, Min's own hidden power awakens--a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow her to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could very well turn out to be each other. Told in three distinct points-of-view, this first book in a sweeping fantasy series weaves a story of ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
monogamist_reader
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Bailedbailed

I really don't like to give up a book but after 4 days I was still stuck at page 89. I had to bail.
My third DNF of this year.
I couldn't really get into the story or characters. The world building was a mess.
#ireadya #bookworm #readingchallenge2019 #bookaddict #bookish #thegirlking

review
BookishRedhead
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Pickpick

Classic Sister vs sister.
I liked that it was Korean so it was a bit different. Plus I liked that she added some Korean words in (아빠 and 엄마 Dad and mum)
Lots of nice action

blurb
Johanna414
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Look what got delivered while I was on my lunch break! 😍😍😍
#newbooks #schoollibraries #litsyloveslibraries #librariansoflitsy

review
Kamisha
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Pickpick

Picked this up on a whim at the library and I ended up actually really enjoying it! I‘ve seen mixed reviews on goodreads, mostly due to it being a bit slow at times or cliche, but I would give it a 3.5/5 stars. My only issue was that I cared more for a couple of the side characters than the actual Girl King.

18 likes1 stack add
blurb
gibblr
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Book mail is the best mail, especially when it‘s the beautiful UK editions of these three books 😍😍😍 #bookmailisthebestmail #ukcoversaresomuchprettier

BookHoarder32 Agreed! UK covers are generally better 9mo
kamoorephoto Omg, that cover! 8mo
63 likes2 comments
review
DuckOfDoom
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Mehso-so

I really liked the first half of the book. The second was very disappointing. Not to mention that the bit of the plot mentioned in the prologue was not really taken up in the plot, the end was the typical YA uninspired stuff. I had high hopes, but nope 😐

blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Ah! I'm so excited! She's doing a virtual visit

blurb
FantasyChick
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

#BookMail
This cover is absolutely gorgeous! You can't tell from the picture but it is so shiny! I wasn't planning on it coming in yet but I think I might need to start this one right away 😊

LibrarianRyan I like that cover better than my cover. 10mo
FantasyChick @LibrarianRyan I'm really happy with this cover. It's so sleek and shiny. Not that there's anything wrong with the US one, but I think this one is just so much prettier 10mo
IndyHannaJones I like this cover SO MUCH BETTER. 9mo
49 likes3 stack adds4 comments
review
SassenachTheBookWizard
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Pickpick

Holy crap! This book took elements from like EVERY ya fantasy series that I love and then made them work and focused on the sisters and their relationships instead of the romances (can I get a damn amen?!). The pacing was great + I loved all of the influences of real world colonisation infused (the opium wars, for one). My only criticism is that the magic system & paranormal aspects need to be more fleshed out b/c it really lacked structure

Chelleo Great review! 10mo
101 likes8 stack adds1 comment
blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Picking this beauty up! Author is doing a virtual visit in the TBR and Beyond book group this month

Mandigolightly I was just eyeing that one! 10mo
88 likes7 stack adds1 comment
blurb
LibrarianRyan
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Another already in my galley collection that is not read, but my friend says it‘s amazing. I just with the background of the book was a little more colorful.

#CoverLove #YAedition
January, 8, 2019

39 likes2 stack adds
review
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Pickpick

An asian-inspired fantasy about the daughters of the emperor, one who is fighting for her right to the throne & the other who is supporting their cousin's claim. Add a dash of magic, shapeshifters, & lost lands & you've got The Girl King. The first half of this was a bit slow (maybe blame it on the reading slump I was in, maybe not), but I did enjoy it ultimately. I'm always a fan of non-European fantasy & girls who rule.

3.5 stars / ⭐⭐⭐

34 likes1 stack add
blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Spice tea + reading = the perfect Christmas Eve Eve morning

DarcysMom Looks cozy! 12mo
55 likes1 comment
blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Bubble bath reading is my favorite

blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

Breaking out the Christmas mug 🎅

review
TorieStorieS
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image
Pickpick

Finished this one in bed and couldn‘t get out of the cozy covers to take this #Grinch picture for #SeasonsReadings so my apologies for the delay! That aside, this YA Fantasy took me by surprise- I enjoyed the works building and am definitely looking forward to a sequel and continued development for these interesting characters!!

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks I love your grinch 💚💚💚 12mo
TorieStorieS @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Thanks!!! I got him at a craft fair a few years ago and was so excited that I had to hang him up inside so I can see him all the time! 😊 12mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @TorieStorieS I need one too!!! 12mo
TorieStorieS I‘ll let you know if I see them for sale again, @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks !!! 12mo
33 likes5 comments
blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

I woke up early this morning which means extra reading time 😊

35 likes2 stack adds
blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

If you want to add a bunch of new books to your TBR, here's a round up of great YA books coming out this winter I did over on Book Riot:

bookriot.com/2018/11/15/winter-2018-ya-books/

blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Girl King | Mimi Yu
post image

This is a very incomplete tbr considering it only includes one ebook, and no library books but it's still a start.

rohit-sawant Great picture! 13mo
rachelsbrittain @rohit-sawant thank you! 13mo
47 likes1 stack add2 comments