Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Chaotic Good
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this illustrated novel, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Steveson! Cameron's cosplay creations are finally starting to earn her attention--attention she hopes to use to get into the CalArts costume design department for college. But after she wins a major competition, she inadvertently sets off a firestorm of angry comments from male fans online. When Cameron's family moves the summer before her senior year, she hopes to complete her costume portfolio in peace and quiet away from the abuse. Unfortunately, the only comic shop in town--her main destination for character reference--is staffed by a dudebro owner who challenges every woman who comes into the shop. At her twin brother's suggestion, Cameron borrows a set of his clothes and uses her costuming expertise to waltz into the shop as Boy Cameron, where she's shocked at how easily she's accepted into the nerd inner sanctum. Soon, Cameron finds herself drafted into a D&D campaign alongside the jerky shop-owner Brody, friendly (almost flirtatiously so) clerk Wyatt, handsome Lincoln, and her brother Cooper, dragged along for good measure. But as her "secret identity" gets more and more entrenched, Cameron's portfolio falls by the wayside--and her feelings for Lincoln threaten to make a complicated situation even more precarious in this geek girl anthem from You're Welcome, Universe author Whitney Gardner, complete with fully illustrated comic pages inked by Gardner herself.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Jasxnicole
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image
Pickpick

I stumbled across this one on a bookstore run and it caught my attention from the paper doll inspired cover.

This was a beautifully written love letter to nerd culture. I loved getting a look into Cameron‘s thought process as she was creating her costumes - the description of those moments made it feel like I was watching her putting together each piece. The inclusion of the comics was also a nice touch.

#popsugar2019

blurb
Jasxnicole
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

These were such a nice surprise! 😍

blurb
Jasxnicole
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

I love when everything is planned out to even the smallest of details 😍

blurb
Jasxnicole
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

Another great dedication close to my heart 😍🤓

SW-T 😊 5mo
5 likes1 comment
blurb
nitalibrarian
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

Hmmm. Well, I'm definitely not chaotic evil. Can't say I haven't done all the others at some point in my reading life.

TheLibrarian I‘m between lawful good and neutral good. 8mo
Lauredhel I use a book dart if I'm not e-reading... But I'll crank a spine if a book doesn't have decent flop. 8mo
13 likes2 comments
review
mcctrish
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image
Pickpick

A quick and fun read. I loved the sewing and costume details.

29 likes1 stack add
blurb
mcctrish
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

YA from the library chosen for the paper doll inspired cover! It‘s reminding me of Geekerella with the cosplay, comic books and geekery but no evil stepmonster

34 likes3 stack adds
blurb
mcctrish
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

When all your holds come in 🎉

blurb
marineko
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

Books With Pictures is the kind of store I wish exists here. And that I wish I can work at ❤️

1 like2 stack adds
blurb
marineko
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

Brody is exactly the kind of dudebro that I can't stand, and that I seem to meet on a regular basis. (Also, 5E is alright, I dunno what's he's whining about!)

review
helgagrace
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image
Pickpick

One of the better books I‘ve read that feature online trolls as antagonists. Lots of geeky references! Romance! But also very anxiety-inducing.

REHill This caught my attention! Thank you! 2y
71 likes9 stack adds1 comment
review
ShidotheCat
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image
Pickpick

This book was relatable, funny, nerdy as all hell and had an ending that made me want more! #chaoticgood #whitneygardner

3 likes2 stack adds
review
AshleyKorinE
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image
Pickpick

This made my nerd heart so very happy! It‘s about Cameron Birch, a girl cosplayer dealing with online jerks and sometimes real life jerks. So she decides to dress like a boy for awhile and then makes friends. It‘s cute, fun, and a fast read. The friendships and the cute relationships just made me so invested in their stories. Also the D&D jargon was just great on top of the comic talk I wish they could have been my friend as a teenager!

18 likes1 stack add
blurb
ShidotheCat
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

This is an interesting one! I‘m actually really liking it so far! :D
#chaoticgood #whitneygardner

2 likes1 stack add
review
KimmyM
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image
Pickpick

This was a very cute, fun read. I love stories about geekiness and fandom. The main character Cameron has to contend with the 'fake geek girl' hate she receives unjustly, and some of that was tough to read. There were a couple of threads that I wished had been explored further, but overall, recommended.
#ya #receivedfrompublisher

15 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Chelsey
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

Thanks @Liberty for the heads up in the new books mega list. I read the sample from the first chapter and was hooked. A cosplay expert (she and her friends won the best group cosplay at ECCC last year) moves from Portland to the boonies and has to deal with all the outdated sexist crap she thought wasn't a thing anymore. There are already some issues ie ECCC is actually in late winter not the fall. Fall is Pax. And is Eugene really the boonies?

Chelsey .... But nevertheless I'm excited to read this one! 2y
8 likes1 comment
blurb
KimmyM
Chaotic Good | Whitney Gardner
post image

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for this finished copy of CHAOTIC GOOD by Whitney Gardner!! I'm really excited to read this.
#publishercopy

21 likes1 stack add