Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Promise Boys
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
10 posts | 9 read | 1 reading | 2 to read
The Hate U Give meets One of Us Is Lying in Nick Brooks's Promise Boys, a trailblazing, blockbuster YA mystery about three teen boys of color who must investigate their principals murder to clear their own namesfor fans of Jason Reynolds, Angie Thomas, and Karen McManus. "A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery with bruised hearts at its core." Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End "Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp. Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page." Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying The Urban Promise Prep School vows to turn boys into men. As students, J.B., Ramn, and Trey are forced to follow the prestigious "program's" strict rules. Extreme discipline, theyve been told, is what it takes to be college bound, to avoid the fates of many men in their neighborhoods. This, the Principal Moore Method, supposedly saves lives. But when Moore ends up murdered and the cops come sniffing around, the trio emerges as the case's prime suspects. With all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. But is the true culprit hiding among them?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Erinreadsthebooks
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

I really liked this whodunit told from the perspectives of three students accused of murdering the principal of their prep school. I‘ll be reading all the Nick Brooks books from here out 👏

quote
Erinreadsthebooks
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image

Yessssss!!! ✊✊✊

review
coffees
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

Wow! This was really good!! I read the PV via bookishfirst and was hooked. A whodunit at an all boys school where our main suspects are POC (black and latine). The characters were all great, the need to know WHO and why!!, And the setting very alarming. Very contemporary/real world problems. tw for racism, savior complexes, and harassment

review
kimmypete1
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

I liked the story but I have mixed feelings about the full cast audio.

review
NikkiKey94
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

I know they always say don‘t judge a book by it‘s cover but this is one that I picked up just because that cover is 😍! I am so glad I read this book because I finished it in one day. The determination of the boys to prove their innocence was just amazing. This was definitely a 5 ⭐️ read for me!

review
Melismatic
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Mehso-so

As an idea, I think this is important (if not a little heavy handed tbqh) but as a mystery, even as a YA one, this felt obvious from the jump. Each teenage character was fleshed out well but the rest fell flat for me.

Bklover Beautiful! 3mo
Melismatic @Bklover thank you! Right by my apt ! 💖 3mo
12 likes2 comments
review
TheBookKeepers
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

Read this for my Instagram book club this month and loved it!! A murder mystery where a principal has been shot and three students are the key suspects. Set in an all boys school in DC, this was a fun whodunnit YA book. Not only do we get POVs from all the suspects but there‘s lots of other chapters from the perspective of other students, teachers, community members, and more. Engaging format and an addictive read. Couldn‘t put it down

56 likes1 stack add
review
OutsmartYourShelf
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

J.B., Trey, & Ramón are 3 of the pupils at Urban Promise Prep School. The school has strict rules & an even stricter Principal. Principal Moore swears by the results that his disciplinary methods produce, but he seems to be unravelling, jumping on the tiniest infractions of the rules & even threatening good students with expulsion. J.B., Trey, & Ramón all have run-ins with Principal Moore, & all 3 are given detention (continued)

OutsmartYourShelf but in the time whilst they are momentarily separated on the school grounds, Principal Moore is killed. The police suspect one of the boys is the killer or maybe they all worked together. To prove their innocence, the boys must work together to solve Moore's murder, but can they even trust each other?

4mo
OutsmartYourShelf The 3 main characters were well-fleshed out & it was easy to distinguish between them as you are reading. This is surprisingly difficult for an author to achieve, 3 characters who have their own unique voice, & I thought it was well done here. There are also some very powerful statements throughout the book about the challenges of being BIPOC in America. The narrative is told from each of the 3 MCs' pov but there are other viewpoints. 4mo
OutsmartYourShelf All the chapters are short & concise & this helps keep the narrative flowing. The issue I found was that the investigation part of the story was rather inconsequential. It was also resolved very quickly, & there were certain points that were not fully explained. Overall I enjoyed it, but I don't know, I just expected a bit more. 3.5🌟

My thanks to #NetGalley & publishers, Macmillan Children's Books, for the opportunity to read an ARC.
4mo
Andrew65 An excellent review, well done 👏👏👏 4mo
34 likes5 comments
review
Read_By_Red
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
post image
Pickpick

This novel is an absolute force. One of my favorite things about this novel, other than the actual story itself, is the style used by Brooks. Combining texts, emails and articles with the multiple points of view was a great way to tell the story. I liked how Promise Boys started off in the middle, grabbing me immediately, and then jumped to the beginning, building up to the murder and showing how the characters got to where they did as suspects.

review
lkatz59
Promise Boys | Nick Brooks
Pickpick

The characters felt realistic and the author had you wanting to learn more about them. I also like a good murder mystery and this was pretty good. This was a quick and easy read. I did enjoy learning about each of the main characters, but I felt there were too many different points of view about each of the boys. There maybe could have been a little more about the murder and finding out who was responsible.