Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Vineyard
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
14 posts | 3 read | 16 to read
New York Times bestselling author Maria Dueas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spainperfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larreas fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the wife of a London wine merchant, who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her familys legacy. Before long, Larrea finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana, and onward to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, Mara Dueass new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
crhealey
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image
Bailedbailed

#dnf for now. Summer‘s too short to spend plodding through a novel that doesn‘t seem to be going anywhere. I‘ll probably pick it back up in the winter when I am dreaming of warm settings.

blurb
crhealey
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image
blurb
Birdsong28
post image

Thank you @Cathythoughts for the lovely birthday gifts 😘📚📖

squirrelbrain Looks like a fab book! ❤️ 9mo
Cathythoughts Oh I hope you like it ... I thought it might be your thing ♥️🤞🏻time will tell ! Happy Birthday lovely girl . Birdsong April 28th ... ♥️ 9mo
41 likes3 comments
blurb
crhealey
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

I believe this is what we call a successful Saturday. #winetasting #bookhaul

review
Bevita
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image
Pickpick

Another terrific book by this author. Loved the story crossing Mexico-Cuba-Spain. Can‘t wait for her next one!

blurb
MsLeah8417
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

😊😊😊

12 likes2 stack adds
review
JSW
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
Bailedbailed

I‘m on page 142 and I just can‘t go on. We haven‘t made it to the vineyard of the title; the protagonist is still conducting business machinations right and left. He‘s actually a bit of an asshole and I don‘t feel connected to him or the story. Such a departure from Duenas‘ previous books. I‘m disappointed and moving on.

mhillis Agreed! I bailed on this one too 2y
JSW @mhillis have you read her other books? I liked 2y
mhillis @JSW Yes, I really liked that one!! 2y
21 likes3 comments
blurb
MrBook
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

#TBRtemptation post 3! Just released. Set in 1860s, Mexico City, Havana, and Jerez, Spain (a legendary enclave that prospered from its wine trade with England). Mauro sees his fortunes disappear after his life-long work is destroyed in a calamitous event. He gambles the rest of his money away and has an uncertain future. Then he meets Soledad, a combative widow, & works to restore her legendary vineyard & win her heart. #blameLitsy #blameMrBook 😎

JSW Maria Duenas writes beautiful books. 👍🏼 2y
62 likes6 stack adds1 comment
blurb
SilversReviews
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

Courtesy of Mirtha Pena of Simon and Schuster.

“Dueñas‘ sweeping tale of fortunes made and lost abounds with dramatic characters and operatic plot twists […] this sprawling tale will charm fans of historical romance.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Heart wrenching yet uplifting, this beautifully rendered story will linger in readers‘ minds”

– RT Book Reviews, four stars

https://silversolara.blogspot.com/2017/10/spotlight-of-vineyard-by-maria-duenas....

63 likes1 stack add
blurb
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

And just because I don‘t already have 5 books lined up to read, I needed really needed to grab the hot off the press and onto the library shelves, The Vineyard. I have owned her The Time in Between for years but still have to read that too!

32 likes1 stack add
blurb
CharissaWeaksAuthor
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

Omg. I just need 5 extra hours in the day for reading. Excited for this, though!

SaraFair Just 5! 2y
CharissaWeaksAuthor @SaraFair Haha! You're right! I aimed low! 2y
80 likes2 comments
blurb
CharissaWeaksAuthor
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

I really want this to be great. I've been looking for a Walk in the Clouds-esque novel.

Penny_LiteraryHoarders Looking forward to this one!! 2y
LauraBrook Looking forward to your review, since I love that movie! 2y
52 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
irasobrietate
The Vineyard: A Novel | Maria Duenas
post image

This arc showed up today! Definitely gonna be added to my #24in48 tbr!

3 likes1 stack add
blurb
Belpb
La Templanza | Maria Duenas
post image

Estupendo libro. He leído los tres de esta autora y es evidente su progresión y la madurez literaria que ha ido adquiriendo.