Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Bend in the Stars
A Bend in the Stars | Rachel Barenbaum
5 posts | 5 read | 30 to read
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe. In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein's elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much? Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fianc. Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance. Grounded in real history -- and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914 -- A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science's greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Cinfhen
A Bend in the Stars | Rachel Barenbaum
post image

#AyUpAugust #UnderneathTheStars We are all so connected ~ The other day this tagged book was featured as a local debut author at the Philly bookstore I visited with @MicheleinPhilly 🎉 I pointed out the book to Michele, because the author, Rachel Barenbaum spent this past year living in Israel in the same city, I live in. I had no idea Rachel Barenbaum is a Philly native. Unfortunately I wasn‘t able to hear her speak in either Philly or Israel.

Crazeedi Serendipity! 4mo
squirrelbrain Woah! All a bit spooky....! 4mo
90 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
TheLibrarian
A Bend in the Stars | Rachel Barenbaum
post image

Won a finished copy through Goodreads! #bookmail

ElishaLovesBooks This looks good! Stacked! 6mo
TheSpineView 👏👏👏 6mo
96 likes5 stack adds2 comments
blurb
BookishTrish
A Bend in the Stars | Rachel Barenbaum
post image

Today‘s #bookhaul is set in #Russia in 1914 so I was powerless against its charms. Who else is reading this one?

Crazeedi Dang I HAVE to stay OFF litsy!!! This is like the 10th book today Ive written down to check into reading!!! Why why why are there so many books I'm interested in reading!!!😍😬😉 6mo
Melissa_J I was looking at this book at Indigo today, but didn‘t pick it up. Will be curious for your final thoughts on it. 6mo
68 likes6 stack adds2 comments
blurb
AmyG
A Bend in the Stars | Rachel Barenbaum
post image

I just won this from Goodreads. Looks good!

Silvertongue Days when you win books are always the best!! Hope you enjoy :) 10mo
AmyG @Silvertongue They are! Thank you. 10mo
ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled Wow - that looks good!! 10mo
See All 6 Comments
Jas16 🙌🏽 10mo
kstadt929 This one looks so good! I tried to win too 😋 Hope you enjoy!!! 10mo
AmyG @kstadt929 Thank you! 10mo
104 likes4 stack adds6 comments
blurb
Rhondareads
A Bend in the Stars | Rachel Barenbaum
post image

Perfrct books to keep me company during this rainy weekend.No sun in sunny California this weekend😂😢🌧