Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Lost Dreamer
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
8 posts | 7 read | 15 to read
A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyedperfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir. Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. But when the beloved king dies, his son has no respect for this time-honored tradition. King Alcan wants an opportunity to bring the Dreamers to a permanent endan opportunity Indir will give him if he discovers the two secrets she is struggling to keep. As violent change shakes Indirs world to its core, she is forced to make an impossible choice: fight for her home or fight to survive. Saya is a seer, but not a Dreamershe has never been formally trained. Her mother exploits her daughters gift, passing it off as her own as they travel from village to village, never staying in one place too long. Almost as if theyre running from something. Almost as if theyre being hunted. When Saya loses the necklace shes worn since birth, she discovers that seeing isnt her only giftand begins to suspect that everything she knows about her life has been a carefully-constructed lie. As she comes to distrust the only family shes ever known, Saya will do what shes never done before, go where shes never been, and risk it all in the search of answers. With a detailed, supernaturally-charged setting and topical themes of patriarchal power and female strength, The Lost Dreamer brings an ancient world to life, mirroring the challenges of our modern one.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Read_By_Red
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
post image
Pickpick

I liked the story that The Lost Dreamer told, but at times the narrative seemed to drag. There are a lot of characters, almost too many to keep track of without a “cheat sheet.” I adored Saya; her strength, determination and willingness to face things head on are admirable qualities. Huerta‘s descriptive language is very effective and creates a wonderful world for the reader to enjoy. I can‘t wait to see what‘s in store next!

review
RavenclawPrincess913
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
Panpan

This book is about two characters The first being Indir who is a dreamer of truth descended from a long line of seers. In it after King Alcan dies she has to choose to fight for her home or fight to survive. The Lost Dreamer is also about the character Saya who is a seer and a "traveller" meaning she doesn't stay in one place for long. Saya's mother likes to pretend that her daughters gift is her own.

Continued in comments

RavenclawPrincess913 When she looses her necklace she's worn since birth she discovers that she had more unknown gifts.

This books synopsis is interesting and I love the color palette on the cover it's gorgeous. But, this book has a slow start. I only decided to keep going and give the book a chance because I bought the audiobook. I love how the characters in this story value strength and power which is very important in life.
6mo
RavenclawPrincess913 I liked it enough to finish listening to it but I didn't really enjoy it much. The story just couldn't catch my attention enough personally. I might possibly relisten to it in the future while cleaning though.

Do I reccomend this book? Possibly depends on the person.
6mo
23 likes2 comments
review
LaytonBooks
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
Pickpick

The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta is a lovely, diverse YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica. The story revolves around two girls: Indir and Saya. Indir is a Dreamer who can foretell the future from her dreams, but her dreams can be confusing. Saya is a seer, which I guess is someone who can do the same things as a Dreamer, but has never been formally trained...

blurb
wanderinglynn
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
post image

#bookmail

Usually on BookishFirst I win ARCs, but this time I got a final hardback copy. Looking forward to diving into this one.

Bookzombie Love the cover! 8mo
jeannasser That cover 😍😍😍😍😍 8mo
peanutnine I can't wait to read this one! 8mo
77 likes2 stack adds3 comments
review
Jolynne
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
post image
Pickpick

Loved this YA story! It is rich in history, culture, atmosphere, and beauty. The two main characters are unforgettable. I especially appreciated the matriarchal aspects. My only negative, I read this on audio and one of the narrators was not so great.

7 likes1 stack add
review
sakeriver
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
Pickpick

I love the Mesoamerican-inspired setting, of course, but what I particularly love is how the story contrasts with other YA fantasy I‘ve read. There‘s a similarity in that the plot is propelled by conflict and upheaval in the story‘s world, but the characters and particularly family relations are so tender and supportive. I also enjoyed the way the book centers women and depicts many forms and expressions of women‘s power.

blurb
sakeriver
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
post image

Next

review
SoManyBooksNotEnoughTime
The Lost Dreamer | Lizz Huerta
post image
Pickpick

A unique YA fantasy that highlights MesoAmerican culture and mythology. I absolutely loved how the focus was on almost all women characters of all different shapes and sizes. There was an underlying message of body positivity for all women. The story alternates between two narrators, Indir and Saya. I personally was more interested in Saya's storyline but loved how the two storylines ended up tying together in the end.

62 likes5 stack adds