Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl
I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl | Gretchen McNeil
From acclaimed author Gretchen McNeil comes her first realistic contemporary romanceperfect for fans of Kody Keplingers The Duff and Morgan Matsons Since You've Been Gone. Beatrice Maria Estrella Giovannini has life all figured out. She's starting senior year at the top of her class, shes a shoo-in for a scholarship to M.I.T., and shes got a new boyfriend shes crazy about. The only problem: All through high school Bea and her best friends Spencer and Gabe have been the targets of horrific bullying. So Bea uses her math skills to come up with The Formula, a 100% mathematically guaranteed path to social happiness in high school. Now Gabe is on his way to becoming Student Body President, and Spencer is finally getting his art noticed. But when her boyfriend Jesse dumps her for Toile, the quirky new girl at school, Bea realizes it's time to use The Formula for herself. She'll be reinvented as the eccentric and lovable Trixiea quintessential manic pixie dream girlin order to win Jesse back and beat new-girl Toile at her own game. Unfortunately, being a manic pixie dream girl isn't all it's cracked up to be, and Trixie is causing unexpected consequences for her friends. As The Formula begins to break down, can Bea find a way to reclaim her true identity and fix everything she's messed up? Or will the casualties of her manic pixie experiment go far deeper than she could possibly imagine?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
lilylexicon
post image

Day 22: A fun fact about you #juneinbooks18
Much like Beatrice, I‘m a huge math nerd. I‘m on a math team and it sounds dorky but it‘s actually lots of fun!
#math #aesthetic #pink #black #white #manicpixiedreamgirl #teen #ya

8 likes2 stack adds
review
Naz786
post image
Pickpick

It was a light enjoyable read I must say.

review
PictureandBook
post image
Mehso-so

TLDR: girl and her two male best friends hatch plan to escape bullies.

Good:
Poc main character
Strong smart female character

Bad
Fairly derivative

Like every teen movie everywhere...and the characters just did not appeal to me. #ya #yalit #romance #romanticcomedy #humor

10 likes1 stack add
blurb
Purrfectpages
post image

I haven't read this one, but it's the best I could do for #manicmonday #awesomeautumnbooks

Jess7 I like this cover! It definitely draws you in! 2y
47 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
KatieLMae
Pickpick

3/5⭐️

review
Read.Em.And.Eat
post image
Pickpick

This book was absolutely freaking adorable. And hopefully enough to break my reading slump. It was also the first book that I used the Bookout app on! Love the infographic they give you at the end!

Bindrosbookshelf My fave part of the app is when it tells you how many consecutive days you have read - i try to beat my record each time 🙄📚🙈 2y
Joanne1 Sounds perfect to break a slump. 2y
Read.Em.And.Eat @jadedeverafter that is a wonderful feature isn't it?! I wasn't sure I needed another reading app. I was wrong lol 2y
13 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
Read.Em.And.Eat
post image

Tonight boyfriend decided to join me in the reading nook. He was even kind enough to put on headphones while he played Fire Emblem so that I could still read. #wordnerdinlove #sometimeshejustgetsme #trytoignoremywineglass

ReadingEnvy My husband has wireless headphones that he uses for games and tv while I read. 17 years of marriage so it must be working! ;) 2y
16 likes1 comment
blurb
RoniLoren
post image

Book mail!

3 likes1 stack add
review
MrsV
post image
Mehso-so
Laalaleighh Stacking immediately 📚 3y
25 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
FoldedPagesDistillery
post image

Giving away a hand annotated copy of Gretchen's "I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl" on Instagram today! I love annotated books, but I love that Gretchen took the time to go through and write her notes in herself for one lucky person.

72 likes3 stack adds
review
B.Reader
post image
Mehso-so

I loved the idea of this book but was not impressed with the execution. I worked pretty hard to like it but overall thought it was rather predictable with some shallow characters. It was a fun, easy read though. Elliott appreciated that it was a quick read.

8little_paws Elliott is precious!!! 3y
B.Reader @8little_paws Thanks! He is also pretty sassy. 🐶😂🐶 3y
23 likes2 comments
quote
B.Reader
post image

How I feel after a few hours of extroverting. #truestory #introverts #yawn

Desha SO true!😂😂😂 (edited) 3y
24 likes1 comment
blurb
MLVReads
post image

Yet another Craftedvan bookmark!

MatildaBaggins Adorable!!! 3y
17 likes1 comment
blurb
B.Reader
post image

I have a lot more books with #girlinthetitle thank I thought! Left side is a search of my ebooks, and right side is just one of my #tbr I'm hoping to get to this weekend. #readjanuary #somanybooks

RealLifeReading That's a great title 3y
23 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
EpicReads
post image
Pickpick

Super cute story about a girl who reinvents herself as the perfect Manic Pixie Dream Girl to win back her boyfriend! Sounds more sugary than it really is. This book definitely has some serious sh*t in it but is a great in between read!

Notafraidofwords What's a manic pixie girl? 3y
angrylilasian @Notafraidofwords she's the character you see in movies who is quirky and a little on the wild side who helps the sad, moody or workaholic guy learn how to let go and fall in love. 3y
See All 6 Comments
PlantyLibrarian She's also usually the girl that everyone wants/wants to be, but no one can have. 3y
EpicReads @angrylilasian basically every lead girl in a John Green novel 3y
Unicornsteak @EpicReads haha, exactly JG! 3y
184 likes84 stack adds6 comments
blurb
KatyAliceReads
post image

I can't say I'm enjoying the protagonist at this point... I find her condescending in an aggressive way. I'm also not enjoying her habit of announcing arbitrary percentages... I get it she loooooooooves math but this affectation is a weirdly annoying way of showing that.

But I'm only at chapter 11, it might get better.

12 likes1 stack add
blurb
stacylee
post image

#photoadaynov15 #booknerdproblems
Trying to decide whether to go someplace during my Christmas vacation or stay home and read. Life is hard.

quote
MarriedtoMrT
post image

"And just like that, my neurochemical processes were excited by his external stimuli."

Ha! I'm digging the start of this "nerd" contemporary.

blurb
KatyAliceReads
post image

Up next?

blurb
KatyAliceReads
post image

My 3 month TBR... I've been stockpiling since the beginning of the new school year and this is where I'm at... bring on winter break!

Reviewsbylola Youve got some great #BOTM selections in there and I am really looking forward to the new Nicola Yoon. 3y
21 likes1 comment
quote
Jwatt6
post image

"Women are not on this planet exclusively to inspire men and make them happy." PREACH!

2 likes1 stack add
blurb
tessaurus
post image

Kicking off this Litsy journey with a good ol' #galleybrag! So excited to get my hands on this--the cover and title instantly drew me in with their quirkiness. Just seems like such a fun read right off the bat. Plus, how cute is it that she's holding a Tweety bird ice cream bar on the cover, complete with the crazy bubblegum eyes?? Ahh major throwback moment 💗 #SeptemberReads

Merethebookgal That is an amazing title! 3y
tessaurus @Merethebookgal Isn't it?? It's so tongue-in-cheek, I love it! 😆 3y
7 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
tessaurus

Kicking off this Litsy journey with a good ol' #galleybrag! So excited to get my hands on this--the cover and title instantly drew me in with their quirkiness. Just seems like such a fun read right off the bat. Plus, how cute is it that she's holding a Tweety bird ice cream bar on the cover, complete with the crazy bubblegum eyes?? Ahh major throwback moment 💗

review
Kiley
Pickpick

The perfect read-in-one-sitting-on-a-late-summer-afternoon treat. Bonus points for a lady mathematician, something this computer science/applied math major appreciated and would love to see more of.