Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Mastering the Art of French Murder
Mastering the Art of French Murder | Colleen Cambridge
17 posts | 16 read | 4 to read
Set in the City of Light and starring Julia Childs (fictional) best friend, confidant, and fellow American, this magnifique new historical mystery series from the acclaimed author of Murder at Mallowan Hall combines a fresh perspective on the iconic chefs years in post-WWII Paris with a delicious mystery and a unique culinary twist. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Marie Benedict, Nita Prose, and of course, Julia Child alike! As Paris rediscovers its joie de vivre, Tabitha Knight, recently arrived from Detroit for an extended stay with her French grandfather, is on her own journey of discovery. Paris isnt just the City of Light; its the city of history, romance, stunning architecture . . . and food. Thanks to her neighbor and friend Julia Child, another ex-pat whos fallen head over heels for Paris, Tabitha is learning how to cook for her Grandpre and Oncle Rafe. Between tutoring Americans in French, visiting the market, and eagerly sampling the results of Julias studies at Le Cordon Bleu cooking school, Tabithas sojourn is proving thoroughly delightful. That is, until the cold December day they return to Julias building and learn that a body has been found in the cellar. Tabitha recognizes the victim as a woman shed met only the night before, at a party given by Julias sister, Dort. The murder weapon found nearby is recognizable tooa knife from Julias kitchen. Tabitha is eager to help the investigation, but is shocked when Inspector Merveille reveals that a note, in Tabithas handwriting, was found in the dead womans pocket. Is this murder a case of international intrigue, or something far more personal? From the shadows of the Tour Eiffel at midnight, to the tiny third-floor Child kitchen, to the grungy streets of Montmartre, Tabitha navigates through the city hoping to find the real killer before she or one of her friends ends up in prison . . . or worse. A first-rate traditional mystery with strong characterization that is certain to appeal to a broad readership, especially fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Rhys Bowen, and Cambridges own Phyllida Bright series. First Clue, STARRED REVIEW for Mastering the Art of French Murder
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
DebinHawaii
post image
Pickpick

#ReadAway2024 #SeriesLove2024

My final late review of May, I read this one for my bimonthly virtual foodie bookclub. It was my pick & I chose it because I have a #OnceUponABookClub box for it but I ended up reading it on Kindle Unlimited & haven‘t opened the box yet. 🤦🏻‍♀️ Fun cozy set in France after WWII with Julia Child as the friend of the MC, Tabitha, a recent expat from Detroit living with her grandfather & his partner. I enjoyed it & ⬇️

DebinHawaii …I‘m looking forward to the 2nd book (tagged below) in the American in Paris series that just came out in April. Paired here with Julia‘s (Hot or Cold) Cream of Cucumber Soup. I am late on my blog post but will add in the link to the recipe once I‘m done. 2w
DieAReader 🤤Looks yummy! 2w
TheSpineView Fantastic! 2w
67 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

#StorySettings

The #Theater plays a major setting role in the book I just finished for my virtual foodie book club.

Eggs Well played especially with the b & w retro image 3w
DebinHawaii @Eggs Gotta love Google image search for “French theater after WWII!” 😆 3w
Eggs @DebinHawaii 👏🏻👏🏻 3w
46 likes3 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

Got home last night after 22 hours of traveling with flight delays.😵 Crashed & slept mostly through to morning. Had to get up & run errands & now I‘m in the coffeeshop to read & do some journal catch up, but I‘m fading fast so a nap is definitely in my future.

I will be getting caught up & around to everyone‘s #5JoysFriday posts soon.💛🤗

Bookzombie Wow! That sounds rough. I hope you get lots of rest. 4w
KadaGul @DebinHawaii I don't know 🤷‍♀️ how you managed to run 🏃‍♀️ your errands after such a long and tumultuous flight ✈️ delay.#RESPECT 4w
71 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

I‘ll be on a plane for #Naturalitsy #HyggeHourReadathon so here‘s my early #hyggehour

Due to severe travel/airport anxiety I‘m always ultra early to the airport. Today that meant a couple of hours before boarding as everything went smooth so I grabbed a bowl of tonkatsu ramen. From a sodium perspective maybe not my best choice before flying, but as tummy-warming comfort, it can‘t be beat.

Starting the tagged for my virtual foodie book club.

DebinHawaii Headed Hawaii to Chicago, 4-hour layover & then Chicago to Maine for a work trip before heading back Friday. ✈️ 1mo
BarbaraJean That looks amazing! Hope your long haul across the country goes well! 1mo
kspenmoll Looks delicious! Good luck on your long journey! Although no where near as long as your flight, I leave for a wedding in CA in Sonoma County this coming Thursday.✈️ (edited) 1mo
See All 11 Comments
JenReadsAlot Safe travels! 1mo
AmyG Safe travels! 1mo
wanderinglynn Safe travels! 1mo
dabbe #safetravels 💙🩵💙 1mo
Hooked_on_books I hope it wasn‘t too bouncy on your way out! It‘s been pouring at my house for the last several hours and I know this storm is still lurking around the state. 1mo
TheBookHippie Safe travels !!! 1mo
marleed Safe travels. I‘m an early airport arriver, as well. 1mo
mcctrish Book and ramen look so good 1mo
60 likes11 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

#SpringSkies #BkClubRead

I‘m hosting the April/May round of the blogger virtual foodie book club I belong to & the tagged book is what I selected for our #BookClubRead 🔪💙 (Mostly because I have a #OnceUponABookClub box for it! I‘m excited to start reading & open up the #OUABC gifts!) 😉🤗

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Perfect 🤩 2mo
Eggs Excellent 👌🏼 2mo
40 likes2 comments
review
Cheshirecat913
post image
Pickpick

This was my first cozy murder mystery. Branching out. 🎉
This was a love letter to Paris, Julia Child, and French cuisine, with murder thrown in. It was a fun, light read.

review
MallenNC
post image
Pickpick

I found this on Kindle Unlimited and decided to give it a try. It‘s a cozy mystery co-starring Julia Child when she lived in Paris and wasn‘t famous yet. I thought it was a fun, quick read.

blurb
lynneamch
post image

What does this Rock & Rye have to do with solving a French murder mystery? Hint: True Detroiters will call it "pop". Fun read with the added bonus of a bit of Julia Child. #MittenLitten

26 likes1 stack add
review
SlytherinBookLady
post image
Pickpick

This book took me a bit to get into because of the writing style, but it was so good!! If you love Julia child, cooking and murder mysteries then I believe you‘d really enjoy this book. I will say I wasn‘t expecting what happened at the end, but it was still such a fantastic read

review
Bookish_Gal
post image
Pickpick

Interesting murder mystery. Now include a side character of Julia Child (especially the darn mayo) to the mains detective personality. Surprisingly take, on where the mystery went. Read like an Agatha Christie novel; no clue how things fit till the end. Mostly kept my attention. Felt a little over the place some places, ebb and flow in keeping my attention. I liked these interactions best, thou few.
Fun gifts abound. #ouabc

blurb
Roary47
post image

June was a good reading month. I got two 5 stars as the tagged and Anxious People. I would say I also really enjoyed The Kingdom of Copper as more than just a 4✨ Overall, I enjoyed all my reads and didn‘t DNF anything. 😊🥰💛

review
Roary47
post image
Pickpick

5✨ I could not put this down! I‘ve been looking forward to reading this and I‘m so glad I was able to read it. Tabitha is living with her Grandpa and Grand Uncle in Paris. Learning from her friend how to cook French cuisine to feed them. When a party that they attended ends in a murder Tabs does a little investigating of her own. I could have sworn it was a different character that did it. It has historical elements, but is a work of fiction.

Ruthiella Hello Gandalf! 😻😻😻 12mo
Sparklemn Your cat is adorable! 12mo
21 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Roary47
post image

Baby bump shelf/table 😅. This book is sooo good!

review
suvata
post image
Pickpick

#StoryGraph: cozy-mystery france historical-fiction
262 pgs • 5 Stars
#OUABC Special Edition

As Paris rediscovers its joie de vivre, a woman is on her own journey of discovery. Thanks to her neighbor and friend Julia Child, she is learning how to cook! Her sojourn is proving thoroughly delightful. That is, until they learn that a body has been found in the cellar. The murder weapon found nearby is recognizable too -a knife from Julia's kitchen.

review
NikkiKey94
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this book. I loved that Julia Child was a character. The mystery kept me turning pages and I finished it in one day. This was also a special edition from OUABC and it is beautiful!

suvata I just started reading this. I, too, got the #OUABC edition, and it is absolutely beautiful. 12mo
NikkiKey94 @suvata I‘m really glad I took the cover off because it was so beautiful! (edited) 12mo
17 likes2 comments
blurb
Bookish_Gal
post image

Interesting concept. Julia Child fan fiction is what it comes across as. A neighbor of hers goes out for dinner and come home finding someone dead. With Julia‘s knife as the murder weapon. And a note from the main character in the dead person pocket. Quite a mystery. We‘ll have to see where this goes. #ouabc

Roary47 This was on my TBR already so when I opened it up I was beyond excited! I hope it‘s as good as the hype I made for it in my mind. The book is to gorgeous not to belong in my shelf. 😍🥰💛 13mo
4 likes1 comment
review
Preciouz29
Pickpick

This was an interesting premise and read for me, and overall I found it a fast and enjoyable read. Individually, I loved all the components of this from the food and the city descriptions to the characters. The mystery was good, but it felt a bit too rushed at the end; she just suddenly realised clues? It just seemed too easy at the end. But, it was fun and I'm looking forward to book 2.