Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
How to Love a Jamaican
How to Love a Jamaican: Stories | Alexia Arthurs
From a magnetic new voice, a debut story collection set in Jamaica and America for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Imbolo Mbue. There is a way to be cruel that seems Jamaican to me. Tenderness and cruelty, loyalty and betrayal, ambition and regretAlexia Arthurs navigates these tensions to extraordinary effect in her debut collection about Jamaican immigrants and their families back home. Sweeping from close-knit island communities to the streets of New York City and midwestern university towns, these eleven stories form a portrait of a nation, a people, and a way of life. In Light Skinned Girls and Kelly Rowlands, an NYU student befriends a fellow Jamaican whose privileged West Coast upbringing has blinded her to the hard realities of race. In Mash Up Love, a twins chance sighting of his estranged brotherthe prodigal son of the familystirs up unresolved feelings of resentment. In Bad Behavior, a mother and father leave their wild teenage daughter with her grandmother in Jamaica, hoping the old ways will straighten her out. In Mermaid River, a Jamaican teenage boy is reunited with his mother in New York after eight years apart. In The Ghost of Jia Yi, a recently murdered international student haunts a despairing Jamaican athlete recruited to an Iowa college. And in Shirley from a Small Place, a world-famous pop star retreats to her mothers big new house in Jamaica, which still holds the power to restore something vital. The winner of The Paris Reviews Plimpton Prize for Bad Behavior, Alexia Arthurs emerges in this vibrant, lyrical, intimate collection as one of fictions most dynamic and essential young authors.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Hipchick185
post image

Getting back to it. So far so good

review
EKonrad
post image
Pickpick

Great collection of short stories centering around Jamaicans and Jamaican immigrants in the US. My fave story was loosely inspired by Rihanna!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ #Netgalley #woc

46 likes1 stack add
review
Floresj
post image
Pickpick

Great collection of short stories exploring the meaning of identity. Well written, connected but not redundant, and interesting (although I love short stories, so I could be biased.) looking forward to more by this new author!

review
amma-keep-reading
Pickpick

Solid collection of stories.

2 likes1 stack add
quote
charl08
post image

What.. if we built islands around ourselves...

34 likes1 stack add
quote
ontheBL
post image

“I don't know why more love stories aren't written about platonic intimacy.”

11 likes1 stack add
review
ontheBL
post image
Pickpick

I loved reading this short story compilation. It was so beautifully written. I had to finish it in one sitting. Read my full review at || https://onthebl.org/2018/10/05/how-to-love-a-jamaican-by-alexia-arthurs/

quote
ontheBL

“I don't know why more love stories aren't written about platonic intimacy.”

review
Ashley_Nicoletto
post image
Pickpick

Normally, short story collections are not for me. This one was amazingggg though. I found the look into Jamaican culture interesting.

Favorites: We Eat Our Daughters
Shirley From A Small Place

CouronneDhiver Jamaica is one of the coolest places out there ... love it! 🌴 1y
Ashley_Nicoletto @CouronneDhiver I have never been, but it‘s on my list. And this book was perfect and makes me want to visit there even more. 1y
66 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Ashley_Nicoletto
post image

Going to the Halloween Party at Disney World tonight, but since my foots acting up we‘re taking a quick twenty minute reading and icing break.

Really enjoying these short stories.

KB253 @Ashley_Nicoletto are there any recipes? 1y
Ashley_Nicoletto @KB253 I‘m just over half way through and not yet! 1y
74 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
QueenKayeNandi
post image

Only four short stories in and I'm very impressed with this debut. These stories about Jamaicans in America and on the island are vibrantly engaging.

review
Shadowfat
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this collection of short stories, all based around Jamaicans and their experiences with love related things. I also enjoyed the author's writing style and how a lot of the themes were similar but different enough to not feel repetitive.

32 likes1 stack add
blurb
Erin01
post image

listening to the pouring rain though the window while reading in the dark, is bringing back my memories of all the nights my sister & I would use flashlights to keep reading after lights out when we went camping ⛺📖🔦

review
BooksForEmpathy
post image
Pickpick

Alexia Arthurs has written a poignant selection of stories that gave me insight into the diversity and nuances of Jamaican culture. Reading this reminded me a bit of the feeling I had while reading Americanah. Its core circles around the tension (sometimes subtle and sometimes clear) of being Jamaican in America, pursuing dreams of degrees and family and exploring identities, filtered through the lens of growing up somewhere else.

80 likes2 stack adds
review
Litpixie
post image
Pickpick

What a phenomenal book! The stories are beautifully written. A very strong debut. Can't wait to read more from Arthurs.

blurb
BooksForEmpathy
post image

I finished my part of dinner and while I wait for the steak, I‘m enjoying this audiobook. The first story is 🔥 and I know I‘ll finish this collection quickly.

73 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Megabooks
post image

I‘ve been diving into this for the past two days. I love a good short story, and it‘s been awhile since I‘ve read from the Jamaican diaspora. Anyone else pick this up Tuesday?

88 likes3 stack adds
review
mrozzz
post image
Pickpick

I didn't connect with each story, but there‘s so much heart in most of the vignettes. The theme throughout is of Jamaican men/women living in America for education, or family, or recently returned to the island (and a more subtle sub-theme of mermaids). The way the cultures cross, & how the MCs were judged by both other Jamaicans and Americans were especially fascinating.

Definitely interested in a novel from Arthurs.
She has potential. 🙌🏻

mrozzz PS I have a feeling the final story was loosely based on Rihanna 🎤 (Even though I know she‘s not Jamaican). I‘d be interested to hear other theories. 2y
102 likes1 comment
blurb
riversong153
post image

@LibrarianRyan made my day! I received the #RoadTripGiveaway books today and I‘m super excited!! I love YA and these picks look great! Your comments about James Patterson were hilarious lol. Can you believe I made it this far as a mystery/thriller fan without reading him? I‘m going to read this one though. Thanks!! 💚

LibrarianRyan Your welcome. Happy reading. 2y
mrozzz Looking forward to your thoughts on 2y
39 likes2 comments
quote
mrozzz
post image

Really digging this story collection.

“How to have a conversation about the fact that some things, some parts of ourselves, are tied to other, faraway places? These kinds of silences between Cecilia and me felt as though something had been stolen from us. Who was to blame? Her parents? White supremacy? Assimilation? And why did it matter to me that she understood and appreciated our shared heritage?”

Bookishthoughts I like this, there are some deep feelings here sometimes that is a hard thing to pin down and articulate. 2y
mrozzz Definitely! @LazyDays 2y
70 likes2 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Rhondareads
post image

Rave reviews a debut collection of stories set in Jamaica and America & a wonderful novel How to Walk Away.Gorgeous covers great word of mouth.Happy 💃🏼