Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Miracle Submarine
Miracle Submarine: A Novel | Angie Kim
5 posts | 14 read | 31 to read
A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far well go to protect our familiesand our deepest secrets My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didnt even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . . In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarinea pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic dives with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos small community. Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that nighttrysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse chargesas well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice. Angie Kims Miracle Submarine is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the authors own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life submarine patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Submarine is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
ohurtin
Miracle Creek | Angie Kim
post image
Pickpick

One of those books you randomly hear about once and decide to read... and then it‘s immediately one of the best books you‘ve read in years. And it‘s Angie Kim‘s first. Unreal. She‘s about to change the world. #fiction #courtroom #drama #miraclecreek

Stacypatrice I‘m obsessed with this face 🐶So incredibly adorable!!! 4mo
15 likes1 comment
review
Eringogreen
Miracle Creek | Angie Kim
Pickpick

Beautifully written with deep and real characters and a narrative pull of a mystery #fivestars

review
FairyHighRoad
post image
Pickpick

Litsy has this ARC as “Miracle Submarine” but I think the title will be changed to “Miracle Creek” (publishing date: 4/16/19). This is a court room drama/thriller that deals with immigration, autism, parenthood and family. Kim handles these subjects exceptionally well all while creating tension and keeping the reader guessing. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ #arc #NetGalley

blurb
Liberty
post image

The majority of what I do for work involves upcoming releases. I love being able to share titles with the hopes that each book will find its reader. Here are a bunch I am looking forward to checking out (plus the new Danielle Dutton because YAY.) What are you reading this weekend? 📚❤️📚

132 likes1 stack add9 comments
blurb
abbylibrarian
post image

MOAR EPIC #BOOKMAIL TODAY! Miracle Submarine is out in April and when I read the plot synopsis I had to have it! The Yoo Family run a hyperbaric oxygen tank (the Miracle Submarine) to cure all kinds of ailments, but when it explodes foul play is suspected. 😱😳😱😳 I know what I‘m doing toniiiiight... PS: Look at that gorgeous cover! 👀😍

Reviewsbylola That looks and sounds like a really cool book! 1y
Cinfhen Just got an ARC today!! How was the book?? 1y
abbylibrarian @Cinfhen Loving it! 1y
Cinfhen Oh yay!!!! Sometimes publishers blurbs raise my expectations and then I‘m so disappointed 😔 glad to hear you‘re enjoying the book 😊 (edited) 1y
23 likes4 comments