Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Bread Alone
Bread Alone: A Novel | Judith R. Hendricks
3 posts | 3 read | 4 to read
The life of 31-year-old trophy wife Wynter Morrison suddenly changes course when her husband announces one evening that their marriage is over. Emotionally devastated and desperate for a change of scenery, Wyn moves to Seattle where she spends aimless hours at a local bakery, sipping coffee and inhaling the sweet aromas of freshly-made bread. These visits bring back memories of her long-ago apprenticeship at a French boulangerie, and when offered a position at the bakery, Wyn quickly accepts -- hoping that the rituals of baking will help her move on. Working long hours among the bakery's cluster of eclectic women -- Linda, the irascible bread baker; earth mother Ellen and her partner Diane; and Tyler, the blue-haired barista -- Wyn awakens to the truths that she missed while living the good life in Hancock Park. Soon Wyn discovers that making bread possesses an unexpected and wondrous healing power, helping her to rediscover that nothing stays the same... bread rises, pain fades, the heart heals, and the future beckons.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
ralexist
Bread Alone: A Novel | Judith R. Hendricks
post image
Pickpick

#Booked2019 prompt of #FoodorBeverageontheCover - this was a lovely little find. Wyn's perfect life falls apart and in rediscovering who she is, she takes up her first job in years at a bakery. Full of friendship, loss, and warmth, this book reminds me of those who combine the simple romance of cuisine with the complex romance of life. Fans of Joanne Harris' Chocolat and Richard C. Morais' The Hundred-Foot Journey may enjoy this.

4thhouseontheleft Great pick for this prompt! It looks like a cute read. 😃 7mo
Cinfhen Exactly what @4thhouseontheleft said 💕💕 7mo
33 likes2 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
Bread Alone: A Novel | Judith R. Hendricks
post image

#MarchIntoOz #AloneWithYou Photo challenge catch-up. While looking for books with 'alone' in their title in my Goodreads stacks, the Bread Alone series-the tagged book, plus "The Baker's Apprentice" & "Baker's Blues" by Judith Ryan Hendricks & "By Bread Alone" by Sarah-Kate Lynch popped up. I'd be pretty happy to be left alone with a loaf of warm, freshly-baked bread ?? (not that some good butter, cup of tea & a book wouldn't be welcome too).?

GatheringBooks and cheese for me! :) 2y
Caroline2 Yum! 😋 2y
LauraBeth I‘d die happy if warm bread was my last meal 2y
See All 8 Comments
Cinfhen I love your collages and I gotta agree with @LauraBeth as I look ahead to a week of matza 😝🤢🤮 2y
CharissaWeaksAuthor Oh my goodness, that looks delicious. 2y
DebinHawaii @GatheringBooks Oh yes! A good cheese would be welcome too! 🍞🧀💛 2y
DebinHawaii @LauraBeth @Cinfhen That is why I don't bake bread--I would eat it all the time! (And the fact that yeast is on the short list of good things that intimidate me) 😆 2y
DebinHawaii @Caroline2 @CharissaWeaksAuthor I didn't make the bread --you gotta love Google! 😍🥖🍞 2y
108 likes1 stack add8 comments
blurb
AWahle
Bread Alone: A Novel | Judith R. Hendricks
post image

I could post for days with this prompt, but unfortunately (fortunately) most of my books are boxed up. These are out because they are on my 2017 TBR. Bread Alone takes place in Seattle so is one of my Read Harder books. This is my favorite category! #readJanuary #foodiefiction #ReadHarder2017 #within100miles

DebinHawaii Great stack! Bread Alone & Rosewater & Soda Bread are two favorites of mine! 🍴📚👍 3y
CherylDeFranceschi Nice stack! 3y
57 likes2 comments