Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Wonderland
Wonderland | Jennifer Hillier
1 post | 5 read | 3 to read
Top of the line thriller writingYou better call in sick, because youre not going anywhere until you finish reading it. Oh, and you might want to lock the door, too. Just to be safe. #1 bestselling author Jeffery Deaver Fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner will devour this edgy thriller about the gruesome secrets hidden beneath a small-town amusement park. From the author of Creep, Freak, and The Butcher, Jennifer Hilliers fine knack for creating hideous killers (Booklist) is vividly on display. Welcome to Wonderland. By day, its a magical place boasting a certain retro charm. Excited children, hands sticky with cotton candy, run frenetically from the Giant Octopus ride to the Spinning Sombrero, while the tinkling carnival music of the giant Wonder Wheelthe oldest Ferris wheel in the Pacific Northwestfills the air. But before daybreak, an eerie feeling descends. Maybe its the Clown Museum, home to creepy wax replicas of movie stars and a massive collection of antique porcelain dolls. Or maybe its the terrifyingly real House of Horrors. Ormaybe its the dead, decaying body left in the midway for all the Wonder Workers to see. Vanessa Castros first day as deputy police chief of Seaside, Washington, is off to a bang. The unidentifiable homeless man rotting inside the tiny towns main tourist attraction is strange enough, but now a teenage employeewhose defiant picture at the top of the Wonder Wheel went viral that same morningis missing. As the clues in those seemingly disparate crimes lead her down a mysterious shared path of missing persons that goes back decades, she suspects the seedy rumors surrounding the amusement parks dark history might just be true. She moved to Seaside to escape her own scandalous past, but has she brought her family to the center of an insidious killers twisted game? Acclaimed author Jennifer Hilliers bone-chilling thriller is masterful and fast-paced, hurtling toward a shocking, bloody conclusion.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Ava_Black
Wonderland | Jennifer Hillier
post image
Pickpick

Jennifer Hillier never disappoints and this book is no exception. She took a different approach to this novel by including character types who aren't normally what she writes, but it worked. Sufficiently creepy and weird, this is a good read for a dark and chilly autumn night.

42 likes1 stack add