Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
New Kid
New Kid | Jerry Craft
23 posts | 30 read | 21 to read
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worldsand not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
megnews
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

Such a great #graphicnovel for #middlegrade.

Book 307 12/10/19

blurb
charl08
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

At the book fair.

36 likes1 stack add
review
MrsGreen
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

Finally read New Kid, which has been sitting on my end table since summer! This is an excellent #graphicnovel for middle schoolers! It‘s tough being the new kid, let alone being one of few POC at a fancy rich school.

review
MelissaSue81
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

This was SO good! Craft said a lot of it is based on his own experiences and I think it all really rings true. It is also funny and heartwarming at the same time.

blurb
MelissaSue81
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

My daughter got her book signed by Jerry Craft today and we got to see him do a great book talk too. Love when my kids get the opportunity to meet great authors.

quote
MandaMT
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

review
MandaMT
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

This one totally lives up to the hype! Jordan has just started at a prep school in a different part of town. He‘s also one of only a few black students. The story spans the school year. It does a great job showcasing micro aggressions in a way that‘s easy for kids to understand.

16 likes5 stack adds
review
UnabridgedPod
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

I love Jerry Craft's graphic novel New Kid. Protagonist Jordan enrolls--somewhat against his will--in a new, exclusive school and quickly learns that he is one of the only students of color and one of the few students who enroll because of financial assistance. Jordan works to find his place in the school, uncovering the ways that he is (and isn't!) truly different. (continued in comments)

UnabridgedPod Through the school year, he navigates the prejudice and assumptions of teachers as much as those of peers. Craft does a beautiful job developing Jordan's point of view but also of revealing his parents' struggles with the decision to send him to this school. Excellent, middle-grade read (my twelve year old read and enjoyed this one before I did!). 4mo
21 likes1 comment
review
cwarnier
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Mehso-so

#bbrc #MG #readerschoice
#24in48
#Libby
I finished up this graphic novel about a kid who struggled with school but ended up loving it.
I am clocking in at 11 hours and 6 minutes. Not sure if I will read more tonight or not. We will see!

LibrarianRyan 😁👍🏻❤️. I‘m at 11.5 hours myself. I‘ll be taking a break when Josh wakes and gets ready for work. I‘m aiming for 13-15 before bed. But we shall see. 5mo
16 likes1 comment
blurb
Chelleo
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

Was checking this book out but opted not to purchase today. Made sure to snag a pic so I could add it to my TBR list.

Tamra My 11 year old son really enjoyed it! We‘ll be getting the sequel in September. 5mo
emtobiasz @Tamra ooh, didn‘t know there was a sequel coming! Thanks! 5mo
87 likes3 stack adds2 comments
review
AmberWB
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

I loved this one. Jordan is a new student at a fancy private school, and it also turns out that he is one of very few students of color at Riverdale Academy. This book did an excellent job of showing how the new school impacted Jordan, but also how it affected his old friendships, his commute to school and his relationship with his parents. I highly recommend New Kid.

review
CraftyBookNerd1
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

A story about a new kid at a new school making new friends and learning about his place in the world. I loved that Jordan was very much into comics and talked about popular GN series ☺️
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

3 likes1 stack add
blurb
ness
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

New books processed and ready for checkout in my library! Black Enough got checked out immediately. 😍

16 likes1 stack add
review
SarahBradley
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

Fresh and fabulous middle-grade graphic fiction addressing multiple struggles and perspectives.

3 likes1 stack add
blurb
Lmstraubie
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

I've been waiting to get my hands on this one!!!

Peddler410 It‘s lovely! And wonderful. 9mo
48 likes1 comment
blurb
4thhouseontheleft
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

Hot cocoa and Scholastic shopping. My kind of afternoon! Tagged the book that Maya wants to buy. 📚 ☕️
#rainyday

Bklover I always loved Scholastic shopping! I was always more interested than my kids were! 9mo
megzlynn I miss those!!!! 9mo
RvnclawWhovian Scholastic book fairs were always a favorite 9mo
See All 10 Comments
RealLifeReading Love your mug! 9mo
robinb Me too @Bklover ! 🤣👍 9mo
4thhouseontheleft @Bklover Me too! But the B1G1 Book fair is coming up,so this is more like window shopping right now. 😂 @megzlynn @RvnclawWhovian Scholastic is always fun! @RealLifeReading Thanks! 9mo
CouronneDhiver Yes!!! I loved book orders as a kid 9mo
Texreader The best!! 9mo
Tamra Soooo fun! 9mo
tpixie Oh! I loved scholastic books! Happy Reading Maya!!!! 🥳📚🥳 9mo
127 likes10 comments
blurb
quietjenn
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

Forgot to post this at lunch today. Great start!

61 likes1 stack add
blurb
abbylibrarian
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

Read in February! #readingstats #readin2019 Favorites: New Kid by Jerry Craft and The Perfect Predator.

review
emtobiasz
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

Great new #graphicnovel on the older end of #middlegrade. Jordan is the new kid, a scholarship student and one of only a few people of color in his fancy new private school. This look at his school year covers all sorts of situations about race, class, privilege, microaggressions, and fitting in. The art isn‘t my favorite style, but is consistent and well done. An important read for students and adults across the board. #kidlit

51 likes4 stack adds
review
TracyReadsBooks
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image
Pickpick

This is a marvelous addition to our school library & a book I will encourage all our middle school students to read. Enrolled in an elite private school where he is one of the few kids of color, Jordan Banks is torn between two worlds & how/where he fits in. An important book about the conscious & unconscious ways we show bias, tell someone they are other or different or just don‘t fit in & how connections & friendships can be forged. Recommended.

umbrellagirl That‘s my friend‘s husband! Glad you liked the book. 10mo
29 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
Peddler410
New Kid | Jerry Craft
post image

I‘m surprised to be the first posting about this one! I forgot the book I was reading at work, so I decided to jump into this graphic novel. So far, so good.

#2019graphicnovel

15 likes1 stack add