Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Charming as a Verb
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. Henri Halti Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University. There is only one person who seems immune to Henris charms: his intense classmate and neighbor Corinne Troy. When she uncovers Henris less-than-honest dog-walking scheme, she blackmails him into helping her change her image at school. Henri agrees, seeing a potential upside for himself. Soon what started as a mutual hustle turns into something more surprising than either of them ever bargained for. . . . This is a sharply funny and insightful novel about the countless hustles we have to keep from doing the hardest thing: being ourselves.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Rachiiebookdragon
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
Pickpick
blurb
Eggs
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

Henri “Halti” Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors .... and wraps it all up with a layer of mischief. But when he crosses a line...Great plot and rich characters #mischievous #maycharacters @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Sounds good!! 2y
Eggs It‘s so good!! @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks 2y
52 likes2 comments
review
PatriciaS
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

MF-RA-BC-LC. Set in NY City, charismatic 17-year-old boy, sharply funny and insightful novel, countless hustles we have to keep doing the hardest thing, being ourselves. Award winning author of "The Field Guide to the North American Teenager," Range: 13-17. A whip smart and layered romantic comedy for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han.
https://diverse books.org>qa-with-benphillipe
https://www.slj.com Charming As a Verb|School Library Journal.

PatriciaS https://www.mentoringmind.com helping students develop critical thinking 🤔 skills, and master the standard. Inspire your students and support lesson planning with award winning educator. 2y
PatriciaS https://www.teachstarter.com - verb teaching resources 2y
PatriciaS UDL #9.2 Facilitate personal coping skills and strategies by teaching correct useage of verbs, self-esteem, self-talk, discussion sessions, and activities. # 9.3 development of self-assessment and reflection. 2y
See All 6 Comments
PatriciaS ESOL #3 Encouragement of self-talk, positive thinking 🤔 through literary circles, discussion sessions, questions and answers, think aloud exercises, and read aloud lessons. #8 Use direct instruction, modeling, planning, explaining thinking about the reading. #10 teaching critical thinking, pair and share activities along with the reading in cooperative reading. 2y
DrSpalding Another middle school read! Knowing that you are earning a kindergarten through 12th grade reading endorsement, it is important to know good books for all grade levels. 2y
13 likes1 stack add6 comments
review
kimmypete1
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

Charming and cute, though the ending was just a tad too perfect.

16 likes1 stack add
blurb
kimmypete1
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

This book is giving me anxiety write now. Henri made a TERRIBLE choice and it‘s going to ruin everything and I just can‘t take it.

review
BeaG
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

Such an awesome read! I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. The story was funny. I chuckled several times. Truly a great Young Adult book.

blurb
BeaG
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

1. I‘ve traveled from Ohio to Chicago to see Holly Robinson Peete and she signed my book that she had written with her daughter titled My Brother Charlie. While there I also had my book signed by Alfred Tatum.
2. Thinking about calling off now because I want to start reading the tagged book.
3. I‘m will be on Sunny Isles Beach, Florida in 2 weeks. If there were no restrictions I would plan my trip to Aruba.
#WondrousWednesday @Eggs

Eggs #1 How wonderful! May you enjoy your adventure in Florida ❤️ 2y
BeaG @Eggs Thanks! 2y
23 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
Arvena
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

A quick, witty read thoroughly enjoyable.
Author does a good job of capturing teen dialogue and dynamics, book is full of smart banter and no dumb, stereotypical characters doing the best they can. Teenagers who are just figuring things out.

55 likes1 stack add
blurb
TheKidUpstairs
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

When you can't pick just one! #FaveYAbyaBlackAuthor I loved Ben Philippe's Charming as a Verb, and I adore everything that Angie Thomas writes.

#ShowSomeLove @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks ❤️❤️❤️ 2y
66 likes1 comment
blurb
mdemanatee
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

Oh no. I just remembered I get VERY invested when YA characters are obsessive about getting into a particular school and that is threatened. Especially, when the character is charming as all get out (no that wasn‘t intentional but I‘m too lazy to deal with it).

blurb
TheKidUpstairs
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

1. Yes! I read and enjoyed Woman 99 by @theladygreer

2. Nope, this is my happy book place! According to Goodreads I'm reading Les Miserables which i haven't picked up in 5 years 😂😂😂

3. From recent reading, I'd love to see an adaptation of Charming as a Verb.

Thanks for the tag @Blackink_WhitePaper

Anyone else who wants to play, consider yourself tagged!

#wondrouswednesday @Eggs

Eggs I have this stacked apparently 😉 looks good! Thanks for playing ❤️📚👏🏻 2y
Blackink_WhitePaper Thanks for playing 😅💐 2y
43 likes2 comments
review
BookishTrish
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

Henri is charming sure AND under a lot of pressure to get into Columbia. He doesn‘t always make the smartest choices, but his lapses in judgement track with the character. I was charmed by his journey and the romance between Henri and Corinne.

Sleepswithbooks Beautiful flowers! 2y
57 likes1 comment
blurb
BookishTrish
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

It‘s sunny. I‘m on a short break. I have a latte. #allgood

monkeygirlsmama Awesome sauce!

Oh, and I'm nosey... What's on your socks?
2y
BookishTrish @monkeygirlsmama The Wilderness Explorer badge from Up! (I‘m a huge fan.) 2y
monkeygirlsmama @BookishTrish Ahhh okay. lol I love socks so I'm always watching to see what cool designs everyone else is sporting. haha As a matter of fact, today I'm wearing my Grateful Dead dancing Jerry Bears pair. 😋 2y
BookishTrish @monkeygirlsmama Photos please! 2y
72 likes5 comments
review
riversong153
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
Pickpick

I like Ben Philippe‘s writing. I really enjoyed listening to this book. The narrator is really good, same narrator of his other novel. It was a quick and easy listen.

blurb
GreenGrl87
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

Check out our new reading selection for January‘s meeting of It‘s Lit VBC! I got lucky and was able to find this one on Libby today with no wait/holds. We‘re still meeting next Friday, Jan 15th at 5:30PT/8:30ET. #itslit

14 likes1 stack add
review
rsteve388
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
Pickpick

Cute story, made me think about my.senior year of HS and my first college years. I didn't finish this one before the stroke of midnight but I did read like 90% of the book in 2020 so I am.goong to count it at a Dec 31st Read.

Finished this last night and it brought me to a 149!

blurb
rsteve388
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

#BFC2021 I hope you are enjoying your New Years Eve. I am listening to the tagged book trying to finish this before the stroke of midnight.

Here are my BFC Goals for January. I'll adjust every month.

review
TheKidUpstairs
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

This was completely charming (yup, I meant to do that - at least I make myself laugh!). Well drawn characters, thoughtfully crafted plot, and very well written with a satisfying ending. I don't read much contemporary, realistic YA, but I would definitely pick up another of Ben Phillipe's books.

Bonus for the CanLit lovers: Phillipe was actually raised in Montreal, and some action takes place there (I hadn't realized that going in, surprise!)

CarolynM Sounds good. Stacked. 2y
61 likes3 stack adds1 comment
blurb
rsteve388
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

One of my 2021 goals are going to be to learn how to create a better looking images using pic collage. Mine don't come.out well.

Anyway here are my #2021Readsolutions this isn't all of them. I have a lots of other goals to.accompliah as well.

NeedsMoreBooks Love this! 2y
25 likes1 comment
review
StaceyKondla
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

This audiobook has been a completely delightful and, yes, charming diversion from the world the past couple of days. Listening while I conquer household tasks and drive to work and kept my brain from straying into depressing political territory. Ben Philippe writes authentic and funny characters and I have enjoyed his books so much 💕

58 likes3 stack adds
review
Nitpickyabouttrains
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

A teenage boy hustles to make money, so well at school, and try to get into his dream college under pressure from his family. He strikes up a strange friendship.

11 likes2 stack adds
review
Sharanya
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

Ok so this was really cute! Corinne‘s snappy wit was everything, & the banter between her & Henri was all kinds of sweet & adorable. The plot was (mostly) relatable AF, made even more so by the palpable tension you felt through the first-person narrative. I did feel like the pacing got bogged down with some meaty description paragraphs, but overall this is a cute, fun romcom about family, legacy, & expectations vs. reality. ★★★★☆.

Texreader Great review!! 2y
Sharanya @Texreader thanks! 2y
8 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
jmtrivera
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image
Pickpick

Henri & Corinne have a great dynamic. Henri, for all his clever schemes & charisma, is foolish about many things, and Corinne is not putting up w/it. While she is right in challenging him, Henri makes some good points about his challenges vs. those of some of the wealthier students during the course of the book. While the story realistically doesn't try to solve those challenges, I appreciate the acknowledgement. Overall, a delight.

jmtrivera *Thanks to Netgalley and Balzer and Bray for providing this ARC for review!* 2y
22 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
TracyReadsBooks
Charming as a Verb | Ben Philippe
post image

Came home from work with two more ARCs today, both YA. The one on the left is out next week, the one on the right in January.