Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Darkling Bride
Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
20 posts | 19 read | 39 to read
Three generations of Irish nobles face their family secrets in this spellbinding novel from the award-winning author of the Boleyn King trilogy. The Gallagher family has called Deeprath Castle home for seven hundred years. Nestled in the Wicklow Mountains of Ireland, the estate is now slated to become a public trust, and book lover and scholar Carragh Ryan is hired to take inventory of its historic library. But after meeting Aidan, the current Viscount Gallagher, and his enigmatic family, Carragh knows that her task will be more challenging than she'd thought. Two decades before, Aidan's parents died violently at Deeprath. The case, which was never closed, has recently been taken up by a new detective determined to find the truth. The couple's unusual deaths harken back a century, when twenty-three-year-old Lady Jenny Gallagher also died at Deeprath under mysterious circumstances, leaving behind an infant son and her husband, a renowned writer who never published again. These incidents only fueled fantastical theories about the Darkling Bride, a local legend of a sultry and dangerous woman from long ago whose wrath continues to haunt the castle. The past catches up to the present, and odd clues in the house soon have Carragh wondering if there are unseen forces stalking the Gallagher family. As secrets emerge from the shadows and Carragh gets closer to answers--and to Aidan--could she be the Darkling Bride's next victim?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Redwritinghood
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

Good gothic mystery. It had a little bit of everything, but it all worked together well. It had fairy stories, a murder mystery, an old library, and some romance. Good narration on the audiobook. 4⭐️ #hoopla

49 likes2 stack adds
review
Laughterhp
Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

Wow, this book was so good! It drew me in with it‘s dark, mysterious setting. Set in Ireland, the Deeprath castle has been in the Gallagher family for over 800 years. There are 3 different timelines, the 1800s, 1990s and present day. The mystery gets solved, there is romance, books and an old library.

Probably one of my favorite reads of the year!

You should add this to your TBR right away!!

Tamra I added with your last post. 😁 4w
Laughterhp @Tamra Great! Hope you love it! 4w
56 likes6 stack adds2 comments
blurb
Laughterhp
Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

Getting some snuggles in 🐶💚

I‘m really enjoying this book. It‘s multiple timelines surrounding the Deeprath Castle. The Gallagher family has owned it for over 700 years. It‘s dark and mysterious. The perfect November read 🍂

Bookzombie This sounds really good! 4w
Tamra This sounds like an absorbing read. 4w
45 likes3 stack adds2 comments
review
Lkbbooks
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

Great gothic mystery. Just spooky enough to be fun and with characters far from perfect.

blurb
kyraleseberg
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

I rarely do audiobooks but this is the only format my local library system has for this book so I'm going to give it a try!

blurb
umbrellagirl
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

”Though Carragh was itching to prowl through the library itself, she had been hired to work, not to satisfy her curiosity and book lust.”

#booklust #sothatswhatitscalled

55 likes2 stack adds
review
mlelara
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

This was a really good gothic mystery that even managed to poke fun at the genre just a bit—in the best way. I liked it quite a bit. It wasn‘t too scary or eerie, the romance was great, and the mystery was solved!

review
Linsy
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed dipping my toe into this one at first, picking it up here and there to visit Ireland, but was fully immersed in the story by the time I hit the halfway point. Full of history, mystery and lore, this book set all of my bells ringing. I really enjoyed unraveling its twists and turns. I only wish I‘d had a secret alcove in an ancient castle in the Irish mountains in which to devour it.

#netgalleytbrattack #netgalley #bookreview #arc

87 likes1 stack add
blurb
Literary_Siren
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

Book mail!! 🖤 I absolutely loved her Boleyn King and Tudor Legacy series; I hope this is just as enjoyable!

13 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Crazeedi
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

Carragh travels to an Irish castle to organize the ancient library before Aidan hand the castle over to the Irish trust. There are mysteries in the gallagher's past, and the castles ancestors lily and jennifer try to help carragh find the answers to the secret of the darkling
Finished!!! This was a pretty good read. 3 1/2 stars

Traci1 Ooh that's pretty. 2y
RaimeyGallant I wish there was a summary on here. 2y
Crazeedi @RaimeyGallant a brief summary! 2y
16 likes1 stack add4 comments
review
cswaingiggles
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

I loved this book. I listened to it as an audiobook and it took a bit to get in to it, but once I did I was completely hooked until the end. A great mystery, but also an amazing story on several levels.

8 likes1 stack add
review
JSW
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
Mehso-so

Easy Gothic read. Predictable and fluffy and perfect for a rainy Sunday. Nothing remarkable but also not awful.

blurb
JSW
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

I feel like this one is going to be predictable, and I‘m totally ok with that.

review
TamAnder
Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
Pickpick

An enjoyable read for fans of Daphne Du Maurier and Kate Morton. It was an audio, however I found myself ordering the book when it began jumping between three periods and thought I might want to reread it on a stormy day when there‘s a slight chill in the air. Love a good gothic novel! I want to share it with a couple friends and I can always justify a book purchase.

blurb
TamAnder
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

Next up as an audio. I was in the mood for an atmospheric, Gothic read and now hoping this delivers. The author name drops Victoria Holt and Daphne du Maurier almost immediately- my 14yr old self is now reminiscing about some of my first high school book reports.

review
Lissa00
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

Gothic tale about a Medieval Irish castle and the tragic stories through the generations. Nice, easy read with a good mystery that spanned the ages. #netgalley

vlwelser I really liked this one too. ☺ 2y
100 likes1 comment
review
TorieStorieS
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

I adored this crumbling castle literary mystery!! So well-written!! But engaging your 🧠 too! Great characters and a terrific plot!! #ThisRemindsMeOf @Tiffy_Reads @JoeStalksBeck

review
PatriciaU
Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image
Pickpick

Everything I loved about Gothic Romances as a teen is here - the spunky heroine with a tragedy in her past, the brooding but ridiculously handsome "lord of the manor," the forbidding matriarch - all squished up together in a remote castle or manor with a mystery and maybe a few ghosts. If you love Irish folklore, you‘ll like this. The story is well told, the characters appealing, the outcome satisfying. I had a hard time putting this one down.

ferskner This sounds amazing! And I just realized I have an ARC of it already, lol! 2y
BooksTeasAndBookishThings This sounds great! 2y
LeahBergen Oooo! This sounds good. 2y
See All 7 Comments
Dragon Sounds like my kind of book, stacking! 😀 2y
PatriciaU @BooksTeasAndBookishThings you would love this one! 2y
BooksTeasAndBookishThings I think so, too! I definitely stacked it to my TBR on here 🙌 Thank you ❤️ 2y
minkyb Great review! 2y
84 likes9 stack adds7 comments
blurb
vlwelser
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

Someone stole my seat. 💖📚🐾

BookMaven407 ❤️🐶 2y
Louise So cute! 😍🐾❤️ 2y
14 likes1 stack add2 comments
quote
vlwelser
The Darkling Bride | Laura Andersen
post image

Anyone else feel this way? 💖📚

12 likes1 stack add